We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveller rating
181
55
10
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
55
10
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flotation pool farm village mountain view outdoor shower self catering attention to detail food and wine crane foundation superior room underfloor heating dressing room a real treat treatment rooms steam room fine dining south africa natal midlands
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 253 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2018

the perfect place to be spoilt ,from the time you arrive to the time you leave ,you are treated like royalty
Incredible service amazing food very tasty and well presented
treatment rooms and treatments are something to behold, the rooms are big with all the things one would want large beds showers friendly service

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Shane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B, Owner at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Hi Shane

Thanks so much for your support, feedback, and of course for staying with us, its greatly appreciated.

Regards

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018

I must say I was so impressed with the staff. Everyone was so friendly, helpful and professional. Robyn and Purity are great ambassadors for your establishment. Alex in the restaurant couldn't have done more for us. The Spa was great and my daughter and I enjoyed a few treatments. The therapists were great . We loved Andile and Nompilo. The lighten up legs treatment was amazing. We did however feel a little ripped off with the "Couples Liquid Yoga bath" all this was, was a bath with water jets and a few oils, and they left you for 20 minutes This cost R490 . Our room was very nice but really very dark. Even during the day we had to have the lights on. We also found it quite stuffy at night as there was only 1 small window in the bedroom/lounge area. The bathroom and toiletries were great as well as the slippers and gowns. Dinner was good and the service excellent. Breakfast was also good, but the staff were not supervised and stood around the buffet table talking loudly. The Midlands Meander is worth a visit. Overall a lovely stay and beautiful property.

Room Tip: We had a standard room and it was extremely dark. Ask them for a room with windows and light.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PetraSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B, Owner at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Thanks for the comments Petra and we will take your points into consideration and also investigate the restaurant staff feedback. We are glad that you had an overall pleasant stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018

We had a huge room with a huge dressing room and enjoyed every minute of it. The staff as accommodating and engaging. The scenery couldn't have been better. The spa treatment was wonderful. Everything was so beautiful and quaint.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank USCJo .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B, Owner at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Thanks so much for the lovely review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

Without doubt one of the finest restaurant meals we have had in a long time. Calamari and salad starters were superb as were the fillet and duck mains to follow. Quality, presentation, hot food served on hot plates was second to none. Excellent service.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Andrew2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B, Owner at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Dear Andrew

Thanks for your wonderful feedback. Will definitely share with the Restaurant.

Warm Regards

Richard Bates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

My sister and I stayed for 4 nights in room no 11 and it was really comfortable. The bed was a king size with crisp white linen and large bathroom and shower with towel racks and underfloor heating. The breakfasts were great and enjoyed the dairy products from the local farms.We took a package and had a lunch and dinner included. The dinner was very good and enjoyed the fine dining. We had a very good waitress- Bongi who was very attentive. As a five star hotel the only 2 criticisms I have was that the staff were not welcoming on arrival. Also we were not happy with the pedicures as part of our spa package and was informed by the Therapist that the Spa Manager ( Robin) would come and talk to us but we never saw Robin. There was no compensation for the dissatisfaction or any follow-up. We were presented with a premium for extras from the Spa- so enquire before substituting treatments!
The setting is Idyllic for relaxation and would recommend it to anybody who needs de-stressing.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Cinzia012013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B, General Manager at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Dear Cinzia

Thanks so much for your feedback as always it is greatly appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed yourselves.

My apologies for letting you down regarding your pedi, we certainly dropped the ball here as there was a lack of communication on our side. We will get hold of you directly to find out more and make amends.

Have a great 2018.

Kind regards

Richard Bates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews