We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa(Nottingham Road)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$407
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton(Pietermaritzburg)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Redlands Hotel and Lodge(Pietermaritzburg)
US$132
US$109
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Imperial Hotel(Pietermaritzburg)
US$122
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Thorn Tree Lodge(Pietermaritzburg)
US$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg(Pietermaritzburg)
US$53
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
StayEasy Pietermaritzburg(Pietermaritzburg)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveller rating
170
52
9
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
52
9
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflotation poolmountain viewfarm villagecrane foundationoutdoor poolattention to detailself cateringunderfloor heatingdressing rooma real treattreatment roomsfine diningsouth africafiletmagical placenatal midlandsrelaxing weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 238 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

We recently stayed at Fordoun the night after our wedding in The Midlands, and it was everything we hoped for and more. Friendly, accommodating staff to welcome us, a spacious, comfortable and clean room and a wonderful breakfast to go with it. Highly recommended and such a beautiful location and setting

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kimon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glchelin, Marketing at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Thanks for the wonderful feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017

We had an incredible stay at Fordoun Spa Hotel & loved every minute! Wished we could have stayed a week!
Room 19 was spectacular! The decor & size of the suite was very generous & tasteful. We had our own patio to sip sundowners & admire a spectacular sunset over the Drakensberg. I especially loved the spacious bathroom & dressing room a surprising extra! The dinner & breakfast were excellent, falling perfectly between fine dining & wholesome country cooking! The Spa was wonderful & we enjoyed our massages & the floatation pool.
The staff are all very helpful & friendly. We absolutely loved our stay & can't wait to go back!

Stayed: February 2017
Thank suewW3406US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glchelin, Marketing at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Thanks for your feedback, we really appreciate it and glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Spent a weekend here and we had an incredible time being poked and prodded by the excellent and friendly staff. The rooms are stunning and the food sublime. The chef is a genious and luckily hasn't heard of counting calories!!

Room Tip: milk tart ice cream is a must...
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveyb37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glchelin, Marketing at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Thanks for the comments Steve!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Fordoun hotel is set in the most magical place. The rooms are renovated farm buildings which date back to the 1800's. They have been exquisitely renovated and offer very comfortable accommodation. The breakfast was awful ( incl. long life milk in our tea ) but the dinner superb.......I highly recommend the pork and the lamb

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank BarbiCow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glchelin, Marketing at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Thanks for your comments and we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017

We booked at the hotel on the 16th December 2016. My feedback is as follows:

• The food was divine. We enjoyed every meal.
• The staff was friendly and helpful.
• We stayed at room 2 however I felt that the other rooms we stayed at before were better in terms of size.
• The spa was a bit of a disappointment. We could not get bookings as a couple and eventually managed to get a one hour appointment for each of us. Both my husband and I felt that the therapist was rushing. The cleanliness of the bathroom requires improvement. The spa was very busy and showers should have been cleaned more frequently to accommodate the larger crowd. The outdoor pool did not look suitable for swimming. The spa has a juice lounge but you cannot relax there as the staff uses the adjacent kitchen to chat and make personal telephone calls.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DesAlw123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glchelin, Marketing at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Thanks for your feedback and we have relayed your comments to the spa manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews