We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT WEDDING VENUE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nottingham Road
Certificate of Excellence
SOUTH AFRICA
Level Contributor
266 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“GREAT WEDDING VENUE”
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Attended a wedding at this venue which was outstanding. They have separate chapel and very large building for the reception, which was ideal. The food and service provided was outstanding. One of the best weddings we have ever attended.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BARRYBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 February 2017
Thanks for the lovely feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    40
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
31
102
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

We recently stayed at Fordoun the night after our wedding in The Midlands, and it was everything we hoped for and more. Friendly, accommodating staff to welcome us, a spacious, comfortable and clean room and a wonderful breakfast to go with it. Highly recommended and such a beautiful location and setting

Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kimon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glchelin, Marketing at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 February 2017
Thanks for the wonderful feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2017

We had an incredible stay at Fordoun Spa Hotel & loved every minute! Wished we could have stayed a week!
Room 19 was spectacular! The decor & size of the suite was very generous & tasteful. We had our own patio to sip sundowners & admire a spectacular sunset over the Drakensberg. I especially loved the spacious bathroom & dressing room a surprising extra! The dinner & breakfast were excellent, falling perfectly between fine dining & wholesome country cooking! The Spa was wonderful & we enjoyed our massages & the floatation pool.
The staff are all very helpful & friendly. We absolutely loved our stay & can't wait to go back!

Stayed February 2017
Helpful?
Thank suewW3406US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glchelin, Marketing at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 February 2017
Thanks for your feedback, we really appreciate it and glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taba, Egypt
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Spent a weekend here and we had an incredible time being poked and prodded by the excellent and friendly staff. The rooms are stunning and the food sublime. The chef is a genious and luckily hasn't heard of counting calories!!

Room Tip: milk tart ice cream is a must...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveyb37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glchelin, Marketing at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 February 2017
Thanks for the comments Steve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grahamstown, South Africa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Fordoun hotel is set in the most magical place. The rooms are renovated farm buildings which date back to the 1800's. They have been exquisitely renovated and offer very comfortable accommodation. The breakfast was awful ( incl. long life milk in our tea ) but the dinner superb.......I highly recommend the pork and the lamb

Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank BarbiCow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glchelin, Marketing at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 February 2017
Thanks for your comments and we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nottingham Road
2.4 km away
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Nottingham Road
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
34.8 km away
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
35.5 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
#3 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 km away
Granny Mouse Country House
6.2 km away
Waterford Manor
Waterford Manor
#3 of 17 in Nottingham Road
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
4.5 km away
The Nottingham Road Hotel
The Nottingham Road Hotel
#1 of 17 in Nottingham Road
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant

Property: Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Address: Nottingham Road | R103, Nottingham Road 3280, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Nottingham Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nottingham Road
Price range (per night): R1 701 - R3 892
Hotel Class:5 star — Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing