We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nottingham Road
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

We recently stayed at Fordoun the night after our wedding in The Midlands, and it was everything we hoped for and more. Friendly, accommodating staff to welcome us, a spacious, comfortable and clean room and a wonderful breakfast to go with it. Highly recommended and such a beautiful location and setting

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kimon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glchelin, Marketing at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Thanks for the wonderful feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
There are newer reviews for Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2017

We had an incredible stay at Fordoun Spa Hotel & loved every minute! Wished we could have stayed a week!
Room 19 was spectacular! The decor & size of the suite was very generous & tasteful. We had our own patio to sip sundowners & admire a spectacular sunset over the Drakensberg. I especially loved the spacious bathroom & dressing room a surprising extra! The dinner & breakfast were excellent, falling perfectly between fine dining & wholesome country cooking! The Spa was wonderful & we enjoyed our massages & the floatation pool.
The staff are all very helpful & friendly. We absolutely loved our stay & can't wait to go back!

Stayed: February 2017
Thank suewW3406US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glchelin, Marketing at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Thanks for your feedback, we really appreciate it and glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Spent a weekend here and we had an incredible time being poked and prodded by the excellent and friendly staff. The rooms are stunning and the food sublime. The chef is a genious and luckily hasn't heard of counting calories!!

Room Tip: milk tart ice cream is a must...
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveyb37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glchelin, Marketing at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Thanks for the comments Steve!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Fordoun hotel is set in the most magical place. The rooms are renovated farm buildings which date back to the 1800's. They have been exquisitely renovated and offer very comfortable accommodation. The breakfast was awful ( incl. long life milk in our tea ) but the dinner superb.......I highly recommend the pork and the lamb

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank BarbiCow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glchelin, Marketing at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Thanks for your comments and we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017

We booked at the hotel on the 16th December 2016. My feedback is as follows:

• The food was divine. We enjoyed every meal.
• The staff was friendly and helpful.
• We stayed at room 2 however I felt that the other rooms we stayed at before were better in terms of size.
• The spa was a bit of a disappointment. We could not get bookings as a couple and eventually managed to get a one hour appointment for each of us. Both my husband and I felt that the therapist was rushing. The cleanliness of the bathroom requires improvement. The spa was very busy and showers should have been cleaned more frequently to accommodate the larger crowd. The outdoor pool did not look suitable for swimming. The spa has a juice lounge but you cannot relax there as the staff uses the adjacent kitchen to chat and make personal telephone calls.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DesAlw123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glchelin, Marketing at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Thanks for your feedback and we have relayed your comments to the spa manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nottingham Road
2.4 km away
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Nottingham Road
96 reviews
34.8 km away
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
24.6 km away
Everglades Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 km away
Granny Mouse Country House
4.5 km away
The Nottingham Road Hotel
The Nottingham Road Hotel
#2 of 18 in Nottingham Road
370 reviews
5.3 km away
Rawdons Hotel & Estate
Rawdons Hotel & Estate
#5 of 18 in Nottingham Road
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant

Address: Nottingham Road | R103, Nottingham Road 3280, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Nottingham Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nottingham Road
Price Range: R1 932 - R3 078 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing