We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa(Nottingham Road)
US$128
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$394
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Redlands Hotel and Lodge(Pietermaritzburg)
US$130
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Imperial Hotel(Pietermaritzburg)
US$108
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Thorn Tree Lodge(Pietermaritzburg)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sierra Resort(Mooi River)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
StayEasy Pietermaritzburg(Pietermaritzburg)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
242 results
Traveller rating
172
54
9
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
54
9
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflotation poolmountain viewfarm villagecrane foundationoutdoor poolattention to detailself cateringunderfloor heatingdressing rooma real treattreatment roomsfine diningsouth africafiletmagical placenatal midlandsrelaxing weekend
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 242 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Fordoun hotel is set in the most magical place. The rooms are renovated farm buildings which date back to the 1800's. They have been exquisitely renovated and offer very comfortable accommodation. The breakfast was awful ( incl. long life milk in our tea ) but the dinner superb.......I highly recommend the pork and the lamb

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank BarbiCow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glchelin, Marketing at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Thanks for your comments and we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017

We booked at the hotel on the 16th December 2016. My feedback is as follows:

• The food was divine. We enjoyed every meal.
• The staff was friendly and helpful.
• We stayed at room 2 however I felt that the other rooms we stayed at before were better in terms of size.
• The spa was a bit of a disappointment. We could not get bookings as a couple and eventually managed to get a one hour appointment for each of us. Both my husband and I felt that the therapist was rushing. The cleanliness of the bathroom requires improvement. The spa was very busy and showers should have been cleaned more frequently to accommodate the larger crowd. The outdoor pool did not look suitable for swimming. The spa has a juice lounge but you cannot relax there as the staff uses the adjacent kitchen to chat and make personal telephone calls.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DesAlw123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glchelin, Marketing at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Thanks for your feedback and we have relayed your comments to the spa manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2017

Lovely Location and nice and clean. Restaurant very good and food excellent.
Service ok not up to 5star rating.
Spar a bit in need of TLC - grubby and not very professional. Definitely needs new staff
This hotel is not child friendly

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crestdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 March 2017

Thanks for your comments and your feedback has been sent to the spa manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

I just said to my wife what should we rate them and she said "absolute five star I couldn't fault them on anything to tell you the truth" and that is the truth excellent stay highly recommended wonderful friendly staff and excellent rooms sense of history great outdoors and first-rate spa

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 March 2017

Thanks so much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2016

This year we decided to have our family Christmas lunch at the newly built Fordoun Farm Village conference centre.
Management and staff were very friendly and helpful. The buffet provided was very good with a variety of food available for all tastes.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank SandyD268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews