We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hit the spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nottingham Road
Certificate of Excellence
Taba, Egypt
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“hit the spot”
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Spent a weekend here and we had an incredible time being poked and prodded by the excellent and friendly staff. The rooms are stunning and the food sublime. The chef is a genious and luckily hasn't heard of counting calories!!

Room Tip: milk tart ice cream is a must...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveyb37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glchelin, Marketing at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 February 2017
Thanks for the comments Steve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    40
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
31
102
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grahamstown, South Africa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Fordoun hotel is set in the most magical place. The rooms are renovated farm buildings which date back to the 1800's. They have been exquisitely renovated and offer very comfortable accommodation. The breakfast was awful ( incl. long life milk in our tea ) but the dinner superb.......I highly recommend the pork and the lamb

Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank BarbiCow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glchelin, Marketing at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 February 2017
Thanks for your comments and we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secunda, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2017

We booked at the hotel on the 16th December 2016. My feedback is as follows:

• The food was divine. We enjoyed every meal.
• The staff was friendly and helpful.
• We stayed at room 2 however I felt that the other rooms we stayed at before were better in terms of size.
• The spa was a bit of a disappointment. We could not get bookings as a couple and eventually managed to get a one hour appointment for each of us. Both my husband and I felt that the therapist was rushing. The cleanliness of the bathroom requires improvement. The spa was very busy and showers should have been cleaned more frequently to accommodate the larger crowd. The outdoor pool did not look suitable for swimming. The spa has a juice lounge but you cannot relax there as the staff uses the adjacent kitchen to chat and make personal telephone calls.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesAlw123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glchelin, Marketing at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 February 2017
Thanks for your feedback and we have relayed your comments to the spa manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballito, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2017

Lovely Location and nice and clean. Restaurant very good and food excellent.
Service ok not up to 5star rating.
Spar a bit in need of TLC - grubby and not very professional. Definitely needs new staff
This hotel is not child friendly

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crestdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 March 2017
Thanks for your comments and your feedback has been sent to the spa manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

I just said to my wife what should we rate them and she said "absolute five star I couldn't fault them on anything to tell you the truth" and that is the truth excellent stay highly recommended wonderful friendly staff and excellent rooms sense of history great outdoors and first-rate spa

Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 March 2017
Thanks so much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nottingham Road
2.4 km away
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Nottingham Road
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
34.8 km away
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
35.5 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
#3 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 km away
Granny Mouse Country House
6.2 km away
Waterford Manor
Waterford Manor
#3 of 17 in Nottingham Road
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
4.5 km away
The Nottingham Road Hotel
The Nottingham Road Hotel
#1 of 17 in Nottingham Road
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant

Property: Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Address: Nottingham Road | R103, Nottingham Road 3280, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Nottingham Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nottingham Road
Price range (per night): R1 701 - R3 892
Hotel Class:5 star — Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing