We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CHRISTMAS LUNCH AT FORDOUN FARM VILLAGE - NOTTINGHAM ROAD”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nottingham Road
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2016

This year we decided to have our family Christmas lunch at the newly built Fordoun Farm Village conference centre.
Management and staff were very friendly and helpful. The buffet provided was very good with a variety of food available for all tastes.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank SandyD268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2016

My husband and i just got back from a 4 day anniversary get away at Fordoun. This is our 7th time at the hotel and to be honest it really still is the gem of the Midlands. We stayed in Room 8 this time, which was a massive room - beautifully decorated and so luxurious. The food at Fordoun, has yet to disappoint us foodies. Exquisite cuisine, beautifully presented and not exorbitantly priced. The grounds on Fordoun is so massive and so beautiful. We went for a 5km trail run on the property - we run through fields - through a little forest...it was beautiful. All you could see in the distance were rolling hills of lush green grass and fields of wild flowers. One of my favourite things to do when walking around the property was to enjoy the sense of peace - all I could hear were the sounds of cows - and birds. I must make special mention of the housekeeping manager, Sylvia. Because we stayed in Room 8, this was close to the housekeeping building so we ended up engaging in a lot of chats with Sylvia. She was so informative, with anything we needed to know and gave us alot of history about Fordoun, which we really enjoyed. On our last day there, while chatting with her we mentioned that it was our anniversary that day. That afternoon, after our massage, we took a walk to enjoy the beautiful sunset. When we got back we were so touched by what Sylvia had done for us - she had done a romantic turn down in our room - with gorgeous rose petals. I think that its the attention to detail and the personal service like this that makes Fordoun such a truly special place. Another thing to mention is the flotation tank, this is the first time my husband and i used the flotation tank at Fordoun, and i must admit - i was a bit apprehensive about floating around in a pool for 30 mins -i was sure i would be bored - however, it turned out to be one of the most relaxing and calming experiences i have ever had. All in all, a wonderful experience - we already cannot wait to be back.

Room Tip: I really enjoyed Room 5, Rose room, because it gets alot of sun during the day. some of the other r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikkiSewpersad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2016

If you like the personal touch, friendly people, relaxing, good food, unbelievable settings with huge farm style gardens and you enjoy Nottingham road weather then you have to go and spend a weekend at Fordoun Spa. I promise you that within few hours you will be so relaxed it will feel like you have been on holiday for a week already. The owner will personally check up on you during dinner. We will be going back there whenever we are able to book. This place is very popular so book long in advance!
Bring a good book, turn off the cell phone and try the Fillet signature steak.
The spa ladies know what they are doing and i don't need to tell you anything more about this place.
Enjoy!


Stayed: November 2016
Thank AldoErrico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2016

We spent a long weekend at Fordoun as a retreat after a pretty hectic work schedule of late and were looking for a peaceful tranquil escape in the Midlands with comfy rooms, spectacular views, an amazing Spa and sumptuous food. That's exactly what we got! A lovely setting in the Nottingham road area, Fordoun is a real treat and a must stay for anyone planning on visiting this part of the world. The Spa was heavenly, our Midlands Suit beautifully appointed, tranquil and private and the food was delicious. Exactly what we were looking for and we will definitely be back! Thank you!

Room Tip: The suites are magnificent. Treat yourself!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JoziGuy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glchelin, Marketing Team at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2016

Thanks so much and we are so glad that you enjoyed our lovely piece of tranquility.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

We have stayed at many places in this area. The Fordoun is the cren de la cren of the Nottingham road area. It's the best for everything. Spa treatment RoomsService
And the restuarant is second to none. Congratulations on the standard of food and service. If you are considering this area its a must if you love first class food,wine and service it's an experiace in its self . Not to br missed.,

Room Tip: At this standard all room are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angiep389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glchelin, Marketing Team at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2016

Thanks for the kind words and we hope to see you back again, soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nottingham Road
2,4 km away
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Nottingham Road
110 reviews
34,8 km away
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
35,5 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
#3 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12,3 km away
Granny Mouse Country House
5,3 km away
Rawdons Hotel & Estate
Rawdons Hotel & Estate
#5 of 17 in Nottingham Road
211 reviews
4,5 km away
The Nottingham Road Hotel
The Nottingham Road Hotel
#2 of 17 in Nottingham Road
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant

Address: Nottingham Road | R103, Nottingham Road 3280, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Nottingham Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nottingham Road
Price Range: R1 821 - R4 064 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing