We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa(Nottingham Road)
US$128
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$394
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Redlands Hotel and Lodge(Pietermaritzburg)
US$130
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Imperial Hotel(Pietermaritzburg)
US$108
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Thorn Tree Lodge(Pietermaritzburg)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg(Pietermaritzburg)
US$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
StayEasy Pietermaritzburg(Pietermaritzburg)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
242 results
Traveller rating
172
54
9
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
54
9
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflotation poolmountain viewfarm villagecrane foundationoutdoor poolattention to detailself cateringunderfloor heatingdressing rooma real treattreatment roomsfine diningsouth africafiletmagical placenatal midlandsrelaxing weekend
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 242 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2016

If you like the personal touch, friendly people, relaxing, good food, unbelievable settings with huge farm style gardens and you enjoy Nottingham road weather then you have to go and spend a weekend at Fordoun Spa. I promise you that within few hours you will be so relaxed it will feel like you have been on holiday for a week already. The owner will personally check up on you during dinner. We will be going back there whenever we are able to book. This place is very popular so book long in advance!
Bring a good book, turn off the cell phone and try the Fillet signature steak.
The spa ladies know what they are doing and i don't need to tell you anything more about this place.
Enjoy!


Stayed: November 2016
Thank AldoErrico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2016

We spent a long weekend at Fordoun as a retreat after a pretty hectic work schedule of late and were looking for a peaceful tranquil escape in the Midlands with comfy rooms, spectacular views, an amazing Spa and sumptuous food. That's exactly what we got! A lovely setting in the Nottingham road area, Fordoun is a real treat and a must stay for anyone planning on visiting this part of the world. The Spa was heavenly, our Midlands Suit beautifully appointed, tranquil and private and the food was delicious. Exactly what we were looking for and we will definitely be back! Thank you!

Room Tip: The suites are magnificent. Treat yourself!
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JoziGuy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glchelin, Marketing Team at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2016

Thanks so much and we are so glad that you enjoyed our lovely piece of tranquility.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

We have stayed at many places in this area. The Fordoun is the cren de la cren of the Nottingham road area. It's the best for everything. Spa treatment RoomsService
And the restuarant is second to none. Congratulations on the standard of food and service. If you are considering this area its a must if you love first class food,wine and service it's an experiace in its self . Not to br missed.,

Room Tip: At this standard all room are great
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angiep389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glchelin, Marketing Team at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2016

Thanks for the kind words and we hope to see you back again, soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

My husband and I went to Fordoun for some down time and a bit of pampering. It's exactly what we got. Staff were friendly and helpful, food was great, room was lovely and the spa and quality of the treatments was top notch.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glchelin, Marketing Team at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2016

We are so happy that you got the pampering that you deserve. Thanks for the comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016

WOW! This is a serene country retreat surrounded by tranquil rolling hills. The room is romantic and charming. The grounds seem to stretch forever and make for a great walk or cycle - or go on 1 of 2 hikes.
The main lodge has a great restaurant and comfortable lounges. Some in our group used the spa which they rated highly.
There is golf just down the road.
The service is excellent. Breakfast and dinner was outstanding.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: From what I could see all the rooms were excellent!
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glchelin, Marketing Team at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2016

We are so happy that you had an enjoyable stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews