We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Piece of Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nottingham Road
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A Little Piece of Paradise!”
Reviewed 30 October 2016

WOW! This is a serene country retreat surrounded by tranquil rolling hills. The room is romantic and charming. The grounds seem to stretch forever and make for a great walk or cycle - or go on 1 of 2 hikes.
The main lodge has a great restaurant and comfortable lounges. Some in our group used the spa which they rated highly.
There is golf just down the road.
The service is excellent. Breakfast and dinner was outstanding.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: From what I could see all the rooms were excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glchelin, Marketing Team at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 November 2016
We are so happy that you had an enjoyable stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    43
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
34
106
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Such a great place to chill out and relax. Wonderful staff willing to do anything for you with a smile on their face. Owners always present and very chatty. Would recommend this hotel as a great location and very peaceful.

  • Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glchelin, Marketing Team at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 November 2016
Thanks for the lovely feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2016

I am so in love with this place! It is like a lil piece of heaven, on earth. We booked in for a few days at the farm cottages and I was blown away! The cottages are so beautiful with amazing tasteful décor. I loved the modern up to date look and the attention to detail in every aspect. The cottages are super comfy and the staff are so friendly and helpful.

I love that they are so in touch with nature. On the first day there were so many cows and calves in front of our chalet and it was the most beautiful and relaxing sight ever.

The spa is also amazing and super relaxing. I had the most amazing and talented therapist on both days. She was so sweet and thoughtful. My partner did not like his therapist at all on the first day, however he was very happy with the therapist he had on the second day. The floatation pool was even more amazing and I just could not get enough of it.
Overall it was an amazing holiday and I highly recommend it to everyone who just needs a break from the hustle and bustle and all the stress we face on a daily basis...

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zaakira07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glchelin, Marketing Team at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 November 2016
Thank you for the wonderful feedback! We are so glad that you enjoyed yourself and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

The setting is pastoral and beautiful. We felt relaxed just going up the driveway. The room was spacious and the bed comfortable. The huge tub was perfect for a relaxing soak. The staff are friendly and the food very good. Attention to detail was excellent - an example is a French Press coffee maker in our room!

Stayed October 2016, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glchelin, Marketing Team at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 November 2016
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt relaxed, that makes us happy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2016

We stayed in one of the two bedroom self-catering cottages, which were great. (My only negative comment would be they were perhaps slightly lacking in character.) We (family of 4, kids of 14 and 12) made extensive use of the free pool, sauna, steam room and flotation tank (the latter was great fun). We also paid for various treatments which we loved. We had supper in the restaurant twice. Would rate it 8 out of 10. Some of the dishes were delicious (notably the venison and the curry) but others were not good at all (ice cream). Service charming though, and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa_Abey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glchelin, Marketing Team at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 November 2016
Thank you for your feedback and we will pass this on to the chef at the restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nottingham Road
2.4 km away
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Nottingham Road
89 reviews
34.8 km away
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
12.3 km away
Granny Mouse Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Rawdons Hotel & Estate
Rawdons Hotel & Estate
#4 of 18 in Nottingham Road
199 reviews
6.2 km away
Waterford Manor
Waterford Manor
#3 of 18 in Nottingham Road
135 reviews
4.5 km away
The Nottingham Road Hotel
The Nottingham Road Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nottingham Road
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant

Property: Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Address: Nottingham Road | R103, Nottingham Road 3280, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Nottingham Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nottingham Road
Price range (per night): R1 891 - R4 047
Hotel Class:5 star — Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing