We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
31
82
74
28
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
82
74
28
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake manapouri doubtful sound budget accommodation attached restaurant front row stayed one night two nights across the road the pub would stay here again bit dated cooking facilities beautiful view milford sounds new zealand nz premises
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 232 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2016 via mobile

I gather some of the rooms here are better than others, but the one we had was frightfully old. I can understand outdated decor, but this room must date back at least 50 years. There was some kind of disgusting discoloration all around the bathtub; the sink was cracked; the doors squeaked. The room seemed clean enough, but it appeared to be too old to actually clean properly. We did not try to get the cheapest room; perhaps it was all they had left or perhaps we didn't know to request a specific area, but a room in this condition should not even be on the market. No air conditioning, and when we opened the windows the room filled with flies. On a positive note: the view of Lake Manapouri was stunning.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank ST32013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manapouri, Owner at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.
I take it you do not like old buildings. Even if they are clean. (How can anything be to old to clean properly?). What are you doing in there? licking the walls?
We do not have air conditioning in the units as there is literally only about 2 weeks of the year when it is necessary. I think you will find this is the case in most of the accommodation in this area.
Flies we have no control of and again this is not an ongoing issue - however point taken and maybe we can install large screens over the windows.
Its very helpful if there are any maintenance issues e.g squeaky doors to let us know at the time and what room it was.
Kind regards
Inger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2016 via mobile

The Manapouri Lakeview Motor Lodge was clean and the front desk staff were very helpful. The bathrooms are a bit small, the tub/shower combo was a bit high and slippery, definitely use the mat on the tub floor before getting in (I have a bruised shin to prove you need it and it must be stuck down before getting in). The water pressure in the shower wasn't great. There was a small refrigerator provided and a TV, though we didn't watch it. There was also coffee, tea, and got chocolate packets and small cups of milk provided (inside the refrigerator). There were 2 Double beds, both were passable, but had seen better days. Overall it was an acceptable place to stay, not fancy by any means, but a roof over your head and clean.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Cathie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights as a base to see doubtful sounds (2 minutes to the manapouri port) and Milford sounds (about 1.5 hour drive).

Pros: The staff were friendly, the room was immaculately kept. The view from the room was beautiful, plenty of pillows.

Cons: The room decor was dated (60s-70s era), for those couples looking for a room with romance ... This is probably not where you want to get frisky, the bed was springy and uncomfortable.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Lynda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2016

We came with little expectation which is probably the best way.... but in fairness our expectations were exceeded. This place is a cheap, clean budget motel, with great views and great reception staff. The chap who wanders around the restaurant in red pants though (possibly the chef doing front of house which is never a good idea) needs a customer care course ASAP. Nuff said.

We used the MLMI as a jumping off pint for Doubtful and Milford Sounds and it provided just that.

Chinese NY and therefore difficulty fighting our way in to the guest kitchen, but hey - Happy New Year to all readers wherever they may be in the World.

END.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manapouri, Owner at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2016

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Our breakfast cook does do front of house as well - will pass your comments on.
Regards
Inger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2016 via mobile

We had dinner here and although the view was great the meals were terrible. I had seafood chowder, it split and had very little seafood in it, couldn't eat it all. Another member of our party had fish cakes and she couldn't eat them said they were very Breadynd no potato and very little fish. Need to pick up their game as there are some lovely places to eat in Te anau and I would rather drive the 20kms for dinner.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
Thank broke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manapouri, Owner at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2016

Thank you for taking time to review our café. It is unfortunate that your dining experience was no good. I had been informed about this incident & we have investigated it further with our kitchen staff. It is my understanding that you were given replacement meals at the time.
Once again I apologise and we taken on board that we have to up our game.
Regards
Inger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews