We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One of the best vacations ever”
other travellers have booked this property
Beautiful Bougainvillea is talking point in the village. We've replaced the furniture.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful Bougainvillea is talking point in the village. We've replaced the furniture.
Large renovated kitchen easily seats 10. Well equipped for most cooking/baking needs. We replaced this table with a larger table and seating for 10. 3 large sliding doors to courtyard.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Beautiful Bougainvillea is talking point in the village. We've replaced the furniture.
Large renovated kitchen easily seats 10. Well equipped for most cooking/baking needs.
We replaced this table with a larger table and seating for 10. 3 large sliding doors to courtyard.
Comfortable lounge with DVD player and iPhone player. There is wifi but NO television.
First floor bar in lounge area
Blue bedroom has queen bed, armoire and beautiful view of the village
Another view of the blue bedroom
View from window in Blue bedroom
Brick bedroom has queen bed, dresser, area for hanging clothes and beautiful view of the village
Another view of the brick bedroom
Drapes bedroom has 2 twin beds. Notice one wall is floor to ceiling drapes (just beyond the bed)
Big, bright 3rd floor bedroom has two twin beds, table and 2 chairs plus large clothes hanging area.
Main bathroom on second floor has separate shower and large soaking tub.
First floor bathroom has large open shower.
View from the Castle bar patio
A dozen wineries (free wine tasting) and four fabulous restaurants are within walking distance
This is us. We love it here!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Fitou, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
TruckWrit...
Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best vacations ever”
Reviewed 31 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

RrMy husband and I just returned from two fabulous weeks at the house of Steve and Pam Sturgess, in Fitou, a small town in the Aude region, known for its delicious wines, restaurants. The house is beautiful, immaculate, well-stocked and organized, in an excellent location, near all beaches. It is beautifully decorated, with a large Provençal kitchen, two bathrooms, plenty of bedrooms, seating areas, and a gorgeous terrace where we had breakfast every morning under a bright, blue sky. From start to finish, working with Steve was easy, professional and pleasant. And his detailed recommendations for restaurants, sightseeing and generally enjoying the area were invaluable. We can't wait for our next stay, and highly recommend it to others!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen
Liked least: Parking
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen S
Ardington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic - a true taste of French life”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We are two families (8 in total) who have just spent a week at this gorgeous stone village house in Fitou. Between us we have 4 girls aged 17, 15, 12 and 7. The accommodation was superb with everything in the house that we needed for our stay. The house was clean, the bedrooms had comfy beds and the bathrooms were modern. The house is located on a street below Fitou castle with views from the upstairs up to the hills and scrubland. Fitou has been a real find for us, having spent many holidays over the years in Southern France. It has a boulangerie, a tabac, 14 wineries (sadly we didn't get round to all of them this time) and some fabulous restaurants. We visited Lecaute Plage most days, but also visited La Franqui - both beaches were gorgeous with miles of clean sand and plenty of space for everyone. Our favourite was Lecaute with Le Poulpe Beach Bar which had fabulous "Fat Boy" bean bags on the beach and served great Tapas - not cheap - but well worth it!! Fitou is a perfect destination to explore so many areas - we visited Carcasonne, Perpignan, Gorges Galamus (amazing!!), Couliere and Port Vendre. Had we had more time we would also have ventured in to Spain and spent a day in Barcelona! We have just returned and booked for 2 weeks next year - what more can I say!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being in the heart of a beautiful french village
Liked least: Not really a complaint - but it was 34 degrees for a couple of the days we were here
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol B
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Exceptional value, quaint cottage living”
Reviewed 6 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Spent several days in this lovely home nestled on a hill side street filled with old stone homes...and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The rooms are decorated with an eclectic mix of new and period furniture, all very comfortable and functional. The bedrooms have new beds and the bathrooms are updated, four star hotel quality...plenty of hot water and thick towels. The town and surrounding areas are bursting with fine restaurants and exceptional wineries ... And it's only a five minute drive to the Mediterranean beaches. I highly recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The locale and the comfort of the home.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don A
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We felt at home the moment we walked in.”
Reviewed 4 April 2013 for a stay in July 2012

Three couples stayed at his beautiful village house and used it as a base for day trips around the incredible Languedoc region. The three couples each had spacious, comfortable and private bedrooms, though more can stay in a (less private) alcove room and on a sofa bed on the main floor. The bathrooms were immaculate and modern, and the huge kitchen allowed all of us to cook as a team --that was a definite highlight. When we weren't cooking or day-tripping, we had the marvelous village of Fitou -- with 400 residents, 14 wineries and 4 gourmet restaurants. Walk to a local winery storefront, walk home with a two liter jug of great wine for 7 euro. Don't miss restaurant Le Toit Vert -- which offers private group cooking lessons where you will then eat what you cook. We have recommended this place to any friends who plan to visit France, and are making plans of our own to go again.

What made us feel most at home was the way the owner took such good care of us with great recommendations and tips for the area, and how well we were cared for by the property manager after our arrival. Se magnifique!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The unpretentious feel and friendliness of the village and surroundings.
Liked least: Leaving after our week was over. I cannot remember a thing we didn't like!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce W
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“This place is fantastic!”
Reviewed 6 March 2013 for a stay in June 2012

This was our second stay at the Fitou house and can't wait to go back. While the beautiful surrounding region and the nearby Mediterranean sea/beaches are obvious reasons to visit this area, we love this house and the little town of Fitou. The wine and restaurants in Fitou and nearby Leucat are so fun and offer an array of interesting decors and delicious selections. DO NOT skip the moules at Cote Reve on the beach. OK, now back to the house. While I think this house sleeps 8 to 10 people, we were lucky enough to have it all to ourselves. Its all been renovated and reappointed, so things are clean and modern inside, but still in character. We loved the big shuttered windows in the bedroom (you can guess why) and we also enjoyed the gated garden with its blooming bougainvillea tree. Very few similar houses (if any) seemed to have this little patio and it was so nice to sit outside, and eat and drink the local fare in this quaint setting. A quick 2 minute walk up the hill, takes you too this 1,000 year old castle with a rooftop restaurant and incredible view of Fitou and the sea. Hard to find a more romantic spot, but they are not open everyday unfortunately. This is yet another spot in Fitou that you should not miss.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Read my review
Liked least: That we can't move there permanently
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$88
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing