We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect family holiday venue.”
other travellers have booked this property
Across the pool to sunterrace and villa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Across the pool to sunterrace and villa
View from sun terrace across the pool to the Appenine mountains Across terrace and pool from dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Across the pool to sunterrace and villa
View from sun terrace across the pool to the Appenine mountains
Across terrace and pool from dining area
Pool with lawn and pool terrace, with nut orchards beyond
The old pool hut from pool stairs.
Front of the house with view of first loor loggia and master bedroom French doors.
Front of house in Spring
Under the front loggia - perfect spot for drinks before dinner
From dining area across nut orchards to mountains - for those long lunches - you can see f
Across pool to villa and pool hut
Our large sitting room.
The master bedroom with doors out to loggia balcony with the mimosa tree in bloom outside.
The master bedroom opening onto the loggia
Large upstairs games room with table tennis and table football
Family bathroom upstairs with family sized bath!
Downstairs bathroom
Downstairs bathroom shower
Upstairs bunk bedroom
Downstairs double bedroom
Soriano nel Cimino - our lovely and historic local town with medieval quarter and castle
Medieval pageant from the October chestnut festival in Soriano - night
View of the gates to the medieval quarter of Soriano
Soriano view
View from nearby Montefiascone across lago di Bolsena -  great for swimming, boating and restaurants
Lunch at Bolsena on the lake.....
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Soriano nel Cimino, Province of Viterbo, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Naomi010
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect family holiday venue.”
Reviewed 28 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a wonderful fortnight at this super villa. There were 10 of us - 6 adults and 4 children - and plenty of space for all. It is particularly family-friendly with 5 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, a huge garden, superb large pool and great games room. Every facility was provided and we had a very comfortable stay. There are fabulous views from the terraces and lots of shady places to rest and relax. Floriana, who looks after the house, is a mine of information and was very helpful. Lovely places to visit within easy reach - Rome, Viterbo, Orvieto, Lake Bolsena and Lake Vico etc. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2017
Thanks very much Naomi. Very kind of you to give us such a nice review.
Hope you'll come again one day. Cheers Pete and Ingrid.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilfMoral...
Crook, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 12 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We absolutely enjoyed our 1 week stay at Casa Glenister. On the lead up to our stay Ingrid and Pete quickly answered any queries we had and gave all relevant information as required.

We travelled as a group of 9 (6 adults, 2 children and a baby). The house is set out of the way a bit so a car would be required, although my parents did walk to both Sant Eutizio and Soriano. It is set out with nothing but trees around and a couple of other properties dotted in the landscape so you definitely get to get away from it all. The house itself has everything you need with a dining table both in and outside, a large living room and a games room upstairs with table tennis and table football for the cooler days or evenings. It is also well equipped with regards to cooking with a large fridge, good cooker and plenty of crockery and cutlery supplied.

A short drive out gets you to Sant Eutizio where there is a restaurant and a shop, but we found these to be of low reliability, so a slightly further drive in either direction will take you to Vasanello or Soriano where there are more shops, restaurants and sights to see. While we were there Floriana was very good with providing help, advice and recommendations.

The villa was clean throughout and beautiful too with the many flowers and plants along the terraces and the trees surrounding it. We are fully booked for next few holidays but we are already discussing as a group as to when we could return to this wonderful place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Out of the way
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2016
Many thanks for your booking and visit to our Italian home. So glad you loved it as much as we do! We're constantly improving the the villa facilities and trying to make it a more beautiful place to stay so hopefully when you come back it'll be a step up a again. Thanks very much for the review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
honthego
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“a perfect holiday rental”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed at Casa Glenister for a week with my brother and his family of 6 and my other brother too, 11 of us altogether. The house was very spacious, the beds were very comfortable and there were plenty of different areas for people to sit and relax - it is probably the most relaxing villa we have ever stayed in. The wifi connection was good which was a must with 2 teenage daughters! The DVD collection was well used too at the end of a busy day. Its crowning glory is the pool - so much fun was had in here with the diving board and easy access with steps and a shallow and a deep end. It was a great size and so much fun when everyone was in the water! It was also cleaned half way through the week which we were impressed with. Also reassuring was that we could close the gate to the pool when not in use so my 2 year old niece could roam safely on the patio with some lovely children's ride on toys, without the worry of her falling in the pool. The other most enjoyable feature of this house was the covered outside eating area - we ate every day out here, lunch and dinner - very pleasant indeed and a good BBQ too. The house was easily accessible from the road and the directions to find it were good. The kitchen was very well equipped with lots of cutlery and crockery and a dishwasher. The lovely Floriana and her family looked after us very well (thank you so much!) and it was very luxurious to be able to ask questions about places to visit and festivals etc in English! We enjoyed too meals for all 11 of us at the local Italian restaurant. Porchetta from Soriano, Gelato from Vasenello, Pedalos on Lago di Vico were other highlights. We were very sad to leave and would definitely like to return. A great week, enjoyed by all ages, from age 2years, teenagers and the grownups!! - Thankyou Casa Glenister!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool, the outdoor eating area and the many different areas around the house inside and outside to relax
Liked least: can't think of anything!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swede1Sto...
Stockholm
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect vacation in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 2 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We just got back from a wonderful week's vacation in Casa Glenister! We loved everything about this place: the house, the setting, the weather, the easy access to beautiful hilltop villages, gorgeous landscape and excellent food at very decent prices.

We were two families with teenage daughters, 8 persons in all. We researched probably 100 houses before chosing Casa Glenister, which turned out to be the perfect choice for us. Ingrid and Peter were very helpful and accommodating from the initial contact until well after the trip :) They really go out pf their way to provide everything you need to enjoy your vacation.

Our requirements were:
1. Two separate areas with bedrooms and bathrooms, to allow each family some privacy. The two-floor layout of this house was ideal.
2. A swimmingpool with a deep end and diving board, to keep kids entertained throughout the week
3. Free views from the house across the countryside
4. A private, quiet location
5. Restaurants and shops nearby

Casa Glenister hit the spot, with many added bonuses:

1. Flori, the local contact person who is also a certified guide. She is so lovely and helpful. We booked a full day's guided tour with her, definitely the highlight of our trip. Her knowledge added another dimension to our stay. She took us to the Dying City (candidate for the UNESCO world heritage list, http://www.lifeinitaly.com/tourism/lazio/civita-italy.asp), Lake Bolzano and the Baslilica and catacombs in that town, a lovely lake-side restaurant with a delicious five-course menu for €25, and finally a wine tasting "on top of the world" at Palazzo dei Papi.
2. The surroundings were even more beautiful and interesting than we expected. We took a day trip to the world's highest man-made waterfall (also Europe's highest), visited local villages, castles and renaissance gardens.
3. Excellent food at non-tourist prices. We used the "Slow food guide" and were pleased to find many recommendations in the nearby villages. All of them excellent! For instance, an incredible truffles pasta dish for 8€ in nearby Orevieto. Amazing!

We would lounge around and enjoy the pool until early afternoon, when we would usually venture out on some excursion. With the short distances to everything you really can get a lot done. The children also used the games room for ping pong every day. Never a dull moment, yet a very relaxing vacation!

There is an amazing fish store in nearby Soriano. We bought some fresh calamari and fish to cook on the barbecue one day. Another highlight!

The local pizza place Scacco Matto makes delicious pizzas. They also serve Prosecco on tap for 1€ per glass.

The only thing we would not do again is visit the seaside. The nearest beach was not for us, packed with parasols and just not pretty. Much better to swim in the nearby lakes or the pool.

I would also recommend a GPS in order to find the house easily. Ingrid and Peter did provide very detailed instructions, but with the help of the GPS we drove straight to the house from Rome without a single missed turn. This was great since we arrived after midnight, due to flight delays.

We hope to visit Casa Glenister and this amazing area of Italy again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simon7166
Manchester
1 review
“Hidden gem within easy travelling distance of Rome, Tuscany and Umbria”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We arrived at Casa Glenister and were given a lovely welcome by Flori. Flori speaks perfect English and was keen to give advice on anything ranging from places to visit, local shops and even where to get the local olive oil and wine from. By the way best red wine I have tasted for a long time. Not bad for 1.50 a litre!! Also arranged a visit to the local olive oil cooperative. The oil has won awards across Italy!! Well worth a visit in Vignanello. The house is huge. We went with our four children and Grandparents and found the rooms comfortable, large and very clean. There is a table tennis table and a good selection of books dvds to keep kids amused. The outside space is superb and well equipped for sun bathing, eating or lounging by the pool. Pool is excellent and a decent size.
Where to visit?
During our stay we didnt even scratch the surface there are so many places to visit that are within an hours drive or train journey from Soriano. These are my highlights in no particular order-
Rome - obvious choice. Catch a train from Orte where there is a huge car park. We bought a family day ticket for 72 Euros that covered six of us and unlimited use of buses and Metro in Rome. Orte 30 mins away. Rome 40 mins on train.
Soriano nel Cimino - wonderful place that grows on you. Great restaurants at good prices. Wonderful row of shops on road leading to main square where you can by pastries, bread, meat and wine!!
Viterbo -impressive old town with good selection of shops and medieval architecture.
Spoleto Umbria. About one hrs drive away. Spectacular World Heritage Site has to be seen to be believed.
Lakes Vigo and Bracciano less than an hour away. Lovely scenery.

Anyway if you like stunning landscapes, good food, a good base to explore central Italy you cannot go far wrong with this excellent value holiday!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing