We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful holiday home inside and out.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Master bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Master bedroom
Ensuite master bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hillsborough, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
OonaghBel...
Belfast
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful holiday home inside and out.”
Reviewed 31 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed here for 7 nights with our 2 small children. From the moment we stepped in the door we felt instantly relaxed and at home. The exterior and interior are beautifully designed and decorated. Really nice quality bedding, beautiful soft furnishing and a very cosy sitting area with wood burning fire. Stunning views from all windows with a contemporary but country feel. Nice gardens and on a very quiet country road.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan K
1 review
“very comfortable house”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Outside it looks a lovely little cottage, inside it is a lovely spacious house. It is well-heated and very comfortable. We found it a great location for our visits to Newcastle, Dungannon and Belfast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the comfort
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan H
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
“Can't wait to get an excuse to return”
Reviewed 18 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

As a group of friends from University who were catching up, we wanted a cottage that was in a lovely setting, with nice views, BBQ area and far enough away from any City madness, but with a few local shops nearby. This was the ideal cottage, immaculately clean with gorgeous views, the owner could not have been more helpful. I would definitely recommend the cottage to anyone looking to just get away and relax.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: We had a few issues finding it but I think that was our own fault!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goxablin
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A tiny bit fabulous”
Reviewed 9 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

What a find! We stayed at the Gatehouse in early October- we had seen the photos and expected it to be quite lovely and the reality didn't disappoint. It was beautifully furnished and appointed and the layout was perfect. We loved the fact that the kitchen was functional & fully equipped & enabled us to cook proper meals. We also loved the wood burner & the fact that there were bits & pieces that you wouldn't think to bring with you & we're duly provided e.g. washing up liquid, fire lighters etc- which indicated a high level of thoughtfulness & generousity. The gatehouse has been lovingly refurbished & you can see this in the decor & attention to detail & you feel this once you step through the door. You will need a car to get around as it was quite rural but was is great for those who want to switch off & relax. As indicated above-faultless!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved the log burner
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
932george...
County Londonderry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful peaceful setting to relax.”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This is a great place to stay for a relaxing break. The setting is beautiful, nestled in mature trees and rolling hills. Just a few minutes drive from Dromara village so you have a restaurant, Chip Shop and mini supermarket close by.

You do need a car to explore the surrounding attractions but within a 10-20 mile radius you have lots to see and do.

The gatelodge itself was spotlessly clear (a must for me) and well appointed with 3 TV's etc, even a wet-room with walk in shower. All the furnishing where very comfortable and in keeping with the Gatelodge. The owner was a delight to work with and very helpful.

Do yourself a favour skip the beach resorts for a few days and slip into an oasis of refreshing tranquility in the Co Down hillside.......

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Setting
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing