We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
78jn
Pretoria, South Africa

Friendly city

Review of Welkom Inn
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Jun 2017
Hotel is situated in the city centre. It attracts lots of guests. The hotel needs some improvement as it is the only cheapest hotel in town. Rooms need to be improved, breakfast standard to be upper to the next level. Friendly staff and check inns are a little slower need an improvement on that section.
Date of stay: May 2017
Room Tip: Ground floor rooms
Trip type: Travelled on business
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 035
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 035
1.6 km from Welkom Inn
Free Wifi
R 780
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 780
  • Agoda.com
    R 780
  • Vio.com
    R 781
2.6 km from Welkom Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 695
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    R 695
2.0 km from Welkom Inn
R 889
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 889
  • Agoda.com
    R 889
  • Vio.com
    R 890
3.0 km from Welkom Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 990
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 990
  • Agoda.com
    R 990
  • Vio.com
    R 990
1.4 km from Welkom Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Uitsig Boutique Hotel
R 1 200
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 200
  • Vio.com
    R 1 200
  • ZenHotels.com
2.6 km from Welkom Inn
Property building
R 600
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    R 600
4.3 km from Welkom Inn
R 600
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 600
  • Agoda.com
    R 600
9.3 km from Welkom Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 750
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 750
  • Agoda.com
    R 750
9.2 km from Welkom Inn
R 540
  • Agoda.com
    R 540
  • Vio.com
    R 540
9.4 km from Welkom Inn
View more hotels in Welkom
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
0
1
1
5
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
0
1
1
5
15
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2017 via mobile

A complete dump! My colleagues and I were horrified to find stained carpets, dirty bathrooms and pungent smells eminating from our rooms. The hotel's interior is kitch and terribly uninviting. They have the audacity to charge R1300 per night. I felt like I needed a shower when I walked out of that place... Do yourself a favour and book into a guesthouse instead!

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank daniellelegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

Possibly in the 1970s this was a great venue. It definitely has that aged feel to it.
But a coat of paint, fake flowers and the occasion new piece of refurbished furniture does not make the old new again.
And age is not a sign that something is dated, but when a vebue is tired, that resounds loudly, especially when customer service is not paramount.

My initial welcome was being told to wait as there was some or other issue around the booking and payment. Working for one of the largest groups in Southern Africa, I seriously doubt payment would be a problem. Yet the reception was adamanent I could not be served unless this was resolved upfront.

My most favourable comment about the room and bathroom would be that it was aged. (That's ignoring my comments about a damp smell, carpets that needed a good clean, and the dead crickets under the desk)

I risked breakfast the next morning...despite my better judgment....i should have not.... Let's just say it was edible.

Truthfully the Best part of my one and forever only stay at this location was leaving.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Hasslefree2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

Although the room looked clean, there were not enough towels, coffee/tea etc. For a 4star they should have a hairdryer... but there was none. No duty manager on duty... drinks took more than half an hour and then they told us there was no ice!! Housekeeping knocked at our door to clean the room just after 7😠. Never again!!!!

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank hesterc2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

NO fridge, NO iron, NO wi-fi, bed sheets not ironed! Their "ultra modern" rooms are old, damaged and dirty. Had to buy Doom for mosquitos. Website photos are deceiving! Dont know how the dump can be a 4 star!!!!

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank traveho
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 December 2016

Only read these reviews (lesson learned) after opting to drive back home to Jhb instead of overnighting at this establishment. Can now relate to many of the reviews..deceptive website and entrance, in the rooms encountered filthy carpets, stained bath and smelly room...and dubious bed linen. Came across a previous occupants pair of discarded panties behind the dresser while looking for missing airconditioner remote!!. Makes one wonder what other housekeeping was overlooked! Hence decision for a late night drive home instead of overnighting.

Room tip: Do not even consider this establishment .
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews