We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
olebogeng2019
Bloemfontein, South Africa

Pleasant stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Dec 2019
My stay at La Cruz was wonderful. Annalien who hosted me while Estelle was away, was warm and super friendly. La Cruz is most definitely my top choice for staying in Welkom.

The only small qualm I had, is that I was really looking forward to a long warm bath after my drive, but had to settle for a shower instead. Either way, i had a good night.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tour116256, Owner at La Cruz Guest House, responded to this review
Responded 30 Dec 2019
Dear Olebogeng

Thank you for your review and for choosing La Crux Guest House. I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay and I'm looking forward to having you again. Next time ask for a room with a bath!

Kind regards
Estelle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 780
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 780
  • Agoda.com
    R 780
  • Vio.com
    R 773
0.3 km from La Cruz Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 035
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 035
2.2 km from La Cruz Guest House
Free Wifi
Uitsig Boutique Hotel
R 1 200
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 200
  • Vio.com
    R 1 200
  • ZenHotels.com
0.5 km from La Cruz Guest House
R 889
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 889
  • Agoda.com
    R 889
  • Vio.com
    R 881
3.7 km from La Cruz Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 900
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 900
  • Agoda.com
    R 900
  • Vio.com
    R 892
2.9 km from La Cruz Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 695
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    R 695
4.1 km from La Cruz Guest House
Welkom Inn Bar
R 1 800
  • Priceline
    R 1 800
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 800
  • Vio.com
    R 1 784
2.5 km from La Cruz Guest House
Free parking
Pool
R 650
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 650
  • Agoda.com
    R 650
0.8 km from La Cruz Guest House
R 600
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 600
  • Agoda.com
    R 600
7.8 km from La Cruz Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 540
  • Vio.com
    R 540
7.9 km from La Cruz Guest House
View more hotels in Welkom
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
11
7
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
11
7
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2019

I stayed at La Cruz Guest House during a business trip this past week and the service I received from Linda was phenomenal. She was so accommodating when I arrived earlier than expected to check-in. My room, bathroom and study were really spacious. I also appreciated that my room was pre-heated as it was really cold in Grahamstown. The food provided was delicious, from Breakfast to Dinner. Sitting at the fireplace in the communal spacious lounge area was exactly what was needed after a long day. La Cruz Guest House certainly lives up to their standard as a luxury guest house with a 'homely' feel. I will definitely be staying there again.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank abnavienking
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 April 2019 via mobile

I stayed at La Cruz on a business trip. I wasn't at the guesthouse much, but it was clean and neat. I had everything I needed except for the fact that that the shower didn't work which meant that I had to shower at the room next door on the morning I left. Otherwise things were fine.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Dirk K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 March 2019

on arrival on the 7th March 2019, I requested the guesthouse to prepare the lunchpack as I will be on the road by the time breakfast is offered at 07:00. The lunch pack wasn't ready by 6:00. It would be great if this area is looked at.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Adventure32056067309
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 December 2018

Very warm reception. Very Neat and tidy facilities. Beautiful garden. Peace of mind guaranteed. It was easy arranging late check in. Ideal for both social and business travellers. I would go back anytime.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 October 2018

We enjoyed our stay. We arrived earlier than the check in time and the lady who assisted us was very accommodating and allowed us to use the room to dress up for the party we were going to. When we came back later, everything was set up for us and all in good condition. Thank you very much

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jabulile2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tour116256, Owner at La Cruz Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2018

Dear Jabulile

I appreciate your positive feedback about La Cruz Guest House. We do take pride in catering to our guests' needs the best way we can. If you're traveling to our area gain soon, don't hesitate to call us.

Kind regards
Estelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews