We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
elize2015
Zeerust, North-West, South Africa

Longweek-end

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 07 Aug 2018via mobile
What a beautiful place to visit. To be so close to nature is a privilege. This resort has so much potential. We were in the rooms next to the Duck pond. There are no ceilings and the people next to us were smoking a Hubbly during the night. Because of no ceiling the smells was in our room as well. The room was huge with lots of space. Anoter small table or shelf would be quite handy in the room.

We really enjoyed walking on the rocks and getting quite close to the river. The area was however not very clean. The duck pond's water were green and slimy. Even the ponds closer to the main buildings were dirty.
We enjoyed the supper and breakfasts. The food was well-prepared and the service satisfactory.
With more finishing touches this beautiful place can be a super holiday resort.
Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
2.5 km from SunWa River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Property overview from river
  • Agoda.com
  • ZenHotels.com
2.4 km from SunWa River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
5.1 km from SunWa River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrance
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
5.1 km from SunWa River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
6.5 km from SunWa River Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
6.6 km from SunWa River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool Area
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
5.8 km from SunWa River Lodge
Free parking
Pool
ROOM 2 - With Shower
    5.5 km from SunWa River Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Booking.com
    • Agoda.com
    10.9 km from SunWa River Lodge
    Free parking
    Pool
    Family room fitted with King size and 3/4 beds, large shower, coffee and tea facilites
    • eDreams
    • Vio.com
    5.2 km from SunWa River Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Parys
    Reviews (19)
    Filter reviews
    19 results
    Traveller rating
    1
    8
    5
    3
    2
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    1
    8
    5
    3
    2
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    2 - 7 of 19 reviews
    Reviewed 5 April 2018

    Went for a company conference, most rooms were dark and inadequate lighting facilities, most room had yellow bulbs for some reason. A colleague had room 20, this is recently renovated and very spacious, rest of the rooms dark and small. The rooms had lots of spiders, this was a common complaint of the group especially from the ladies. The food was very below standard, from breakfast, lunch and dinner with most ppl in the group falling ill at some point during our 4 day stay. It must be noted there is no fresh fruit, yogurt or cereal for breakfast, special diet request were forgotten about, there is a sad fresh salad for lunch and dinner. There is also no vegetable served with lunch and diner and food lack flavour.

    It must also be noted that the bathrooms also have a yellow light most likely to hide the mould in the shower. Shower is okay but definitely not awesome.

    It should be noted that the setting of the lodge on the river is very peaceful and at no time did i feel unsafe. Very nice gardens.

    Room tip: if you are staying here try and get room 20, i wish i had it.
    Date of stay: March 2018
    • Trip type: Travelled on business
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank SunshineJHB
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 9 October 2017

    Sunwa Lodge does not have self catering units. There is unfortunately no restaurant on the premises, only a kitchen that supplies breakfast and supper to conference/wedding guests. Should you require a meal, Parys is approximately 10 kms away. Rooms are not what the pictures show on the website. Very noisy, with sounds reverberating throughout the 4 Duck Pond rooms.Lighting in the rooms is poor. Meals are edible but very bland. Staff is friendly and efficient. Great accommodation for adventure groups but not for wedding guests. Great venue for a wedding, but find accommodation elsewhere.

    Room tip: The Duck Pond has the best view but is very noisy
    Date of stay: October 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Hanici M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

    We stayed at SunWa as part of an NAC weekend.
    Parys is an awesome town and has so many great restaurants and guest houses, this is not one of them.

    Our room (an upstairs room) was absolutely filthy.
    Every night when we for back to the room, our bed was covered by hundreds of little insects (like ants).

    We were a big group, but the bar never had enough wine glasses which was a poor effort.

    SunWa is in a beautiful spot on the river, but the river front was filthy. Didn't look like there was any attempt to keep it clean.

    The lodge seemed to have some nice conference facilities etc, but there didn't seem to be any pride in keeping the place clean.

    Date of stay: June 2017
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    3  Thank BruceT_13
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 9 August 2017

    What a fantastic venue on the Vaal River, 5star service, great food and friendly staff. They also cater for weddings and corporate groups. Also on offer are various activities like river rafting, fishing and flyfishing. A stunning view over the river and surrounding hills, simply breathtaking.

    Room tip: Obviously river view if possible
    Date of stay: April 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    1  Thank DeonTerBlanche
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 27 May 2017 via mobile

    What a quaint place with 5*service - all the staff, Francois, Bryan, Charl, Elizna (spelling?) all went out of their way to make our stay a great one. The team building activities were well planned and executed. The rooms were clean with fresh bedding. The food was delicious and wholesome with the most delicious bread baked fresh for lunch and dinner.
    Definitely going back in river rafting season.
    Thank U one and all for your exceptional service.

    Date of stay: May 2017
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    2  Thank fourRs
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews