We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
12
11
1
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
11
1
1
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2018

“To secure your booking, a 50% deposit of the full invoiced amount requires within 24 hours of this email. The rest need to be paid 3 days before arrival.” With an extra hidden fee of R100 (the use of electricity, water, cutlery, plates) per day on the quotation.

Sending email & phoning Carryblaire 3 times, I got quotation (R1210) and transferred full amount within 2 days. “It’s quite unusual, but it’s my wedding anniversary”, I thought.

However, after driving 10km on a wet gravel road with a full load (Ford1.4), we arrived with sad news- they made a double booking and needed us driving 3.9 km back down the gravel road to The Dell. Elize said we are welcomed for breakfast next morning. However, who would get up early, pack up everything then drive 3.9 km on the gravel road just for breakfast, so I refused.

The Dell was cheaper (R900, no extra fee) and cozy.So, I queried refund (R310; never used utilities+2 brekkies) from Carryblaire after the trip. The ridiculous reply I got from Elize was “I made breakfast as arranged, you didn’t come eat. So, no refund.”
WHAT! It’s them making the mistake of double booking.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Adriaan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

We booked rooms in this retreat as we were attending a wedding nearby...

The place is far from the mainroad on a very bad gravel road (takes about 45-60mins for 20kms)

The rooms are old, smelly and dirty in both the bedroom (mostly the carpet) and bathroom areas... We enjoyed the company of bugs (dead and alive) and bats flying in the rooms at night.

Luckily the linnen were clean otherwise we would have rather slept in the car or driven back home. Despite amazing view on the river, Would definitely not recommend.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank CB3789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

Spent an awsome 4 nights at Carryblaire for our 27th Wedding Anniversary. What a wonderful place. Upon arrival, in our unit, champagne, chocolates, Red Roses, and a rose petal heart on the bed. Of all the places we have spent our anniversary every year, we have never experienced such amazing hospitallity from hosts. Krista, Elize, and Kobus went out of their way to make our stay unforgettable. Nothing was too much effort or trouble for these wonderful people. It it no venues or places that bring people back. It is people who bring people back. We were truly Blessed, and have gained 3 new friends

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

On arrival we initially thought what did we get ourselves into here, to our surprise this place turn out to be quite cool, relaxed, we had a really good time there and it's somewhere we would go back again in the near future.

An interesting place to relax away from the busy life in the city.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Talifhani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

This is a special place located on the banks of the Vaal River. We came back so relaxed, we sat on our patio every morning drinking coffee, listening to the sounds of birds along the picturesque river. It was cold, but the thatched roof rooms are well equipped with heaters and electric blankets. The food was delicious, definitely recommend the dinner. Dave and his dogs made us feel so welcome. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Nicola v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carryblaire, Owner at Carryblaire River Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2016

Loved having you guys here and so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Carryblaire. We look forward to seeing you again one day.

Take Care

Dave and Tess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews