We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sharlene
Non-camper surprise.
Review of Umfula Resort
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 05 Oct 2020via mobile
Pleasantly surprised.
I am not a camper, but I really enjoyed my stay.
Chalets are clean. Grounds are clean. Staff are friendly.
Chanél, the chef, served a delicious breakfast.
Barry is clearly an energizer bunny, running around making sure everything is perfect.
Thank you!
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
Free parking
Pool
Property overview from river
Agoda.com
Multiple ways to pay
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
    • ZenHotels.com
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Entrance
    Booking.com
    • eDreams
    • Agoda.com
    • Vio.com
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    • ZenHotels.com
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
    • Agoda.com
    Free parking
    Pool
    Family room fitted with King size and 3/4 beds, large shower, coffee and tea facilites
    Booking.com
    • eDreams
    • Vio.com
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    ROOM 2 - With Shower
    Vio.com
    • Lol.travel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      R 660
    • Priceline
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
    • ZenHotels.com
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Parys
    Reviews (12)
    Filter reviews
    12 results
    Traveller rating
    1
    8
    3
    0
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    1
    8
    3
    0
    0
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    4 - 9 of 12 reviews
    Reviewed 21 September 2020

    The resort is great, it is just a pity that everything is spoiled by a few people playing loud music and making a noise till in the morning hrs and the owner does nothing about it.
    We send an email after our last stay complaining, and till today we have had no feed back.You can go look on kamp-mal which is a group on face book how people are complaining about the same problem the past weekend and also nothing was done about it.The management or owner must be careful that they dont start loosing clientele.The campers groups are already telling campers to stay away from the resort!!

    Date of stay: August 2020
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank ronnied467
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 4 January 2020 via mobile

    Went here for a day visit. Staff at reception and bar is very friendly. The Rover baskets we had was good. Love the 3 pools for different age groups idea. Bathrooms were clean. Whole area was clean and well maintained.

    Date of stay: January 2020
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank NightshadeJHB
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 26 September 2019

    We spend the past long weekend at Umfula in the camping area in our caravan.The park was full and the problem is that the ablution block is just to small to accommodate so many people and also not cleaned frequently enough.Then to put the cherry on the cake they allowed a sports team to book into the camping site on Monday who really made a bigger mes of the ablutions and also noise till 1 o clock the morning.
    I really like Umfula ,but they just ignore the fact that the ablutions need upgrading as many people have complained about this.If nothing is done about it I will not be visiting the resort in the future.

    Date of stay: September 2019
    Thank ronnied467
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 9 January 2018

    My family and I rented 4 chalets over the New Years period. The grounds are very clean and well kept. The fly's however are a huge issue and the reason why I won't return. We were provided with 1 citronella lamp which burnt out on the 1st day! The flies were such a problem that we couldn't eat or sleep properly. And the water is another issue. You have to buy water as you cannot use the tap water for drinking or cooking, and we had babies with us. Nobody warned us about this problem, and I feel the resort should have done so. Also, no inventory was done with us and there were many glasses and plates short which the resort is now charging us for! Be careful and demand that someone do stock check with you on arrival before you pay fro something that was never there

    Date of stay: December 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    5  Thank Beverley D
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 17 December 2017

    I went to the premises for a weekend away with family. Booked 3 chalets for a total of 9 people and the place was amazing.

    It is clean and well furnished, The environment is very peaceful with nice kiddies play area and pool, there is water body for boat launching which is fun.

    Pricewise, they are very reasonable for chalets, camping and day visitors.

    I genuinely was very pleased with the place and my only drawback was the lack of fly control on the premises. As much as I understand that flies are natural invaders, there is room to improve on limiting their presence on the premises.

    Other than that, It is perfect for a nice time away.

    Date of stay: December 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank skinny32
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews