We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Majestic landscape”
Review of Vilsalpsee

Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Tannheim
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Besides the title, not much more to write. A visit and hike here is definitely worth your time. Bring your own Picknick and find yourself a nice quiet place along the shore, that’s my advise. There’s a buss service from Tannheim. Between 10:00-17:00 you are not allowed to drive your private car to the lake. The hike from Tannheim is about an hour

Thank cowsheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

1 - 5 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2016

Vilsalpsee is a beautiful lake in the Tannheim valley and a must see if you are traveling through the area. The beautiful nature scenery was breathtaking!

There were two small restaurants next to the lake with good service! We enjoyed a beer and some afternoon cake there! Highly recommended!

The way to get there is either by bus or by tourist train (Little city tour trains driving around). You can also drive there by car before 10:00am or after 17:00 as the road is closed for cars between 10:00 and 17:00.

1  Thank Traveller1m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2015

A beautiful lake tucked into a box canyon surronded by the mountains, perfect.
If you have the time you can walk in from Tannheim and then walk around the lake about 2-3 hrs or if you are presed for time you can take a bus in from Tannheim and just walk around the lake there are a couple of cafe's by the lake for refreshments. The road is closed to regular traffic from 10am to 5pm all year so you must eithe walk take the bus or a hourse drawn carrige.

1  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Breath taking nature, only accessible by trolley or foot after 10am. There is a nice restaurant right at the beginning of the lake

Thank Jarrett W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I first went to the Vilsalpsee about 40 years ago, in late spring when the wild flowers in the meadows were in bloom. It was breathtaking and it still is. I still like to go in late May or June and repeat this experience but I've been from April to October and seen it in snow and sun, it is always beautiful - it isn't a great experience in the rain but there are good places to go into for a drink or a meal (two places, I think. or It might be three).

It has been managed excellently over the years. The boom in tourism has not been allowed to destroy it and nor are people allowed to drive up at any time and litter the area with cars.

At the time of writing you can drive up before 10.00 and park your car in the car park (there is a fee but it is not exorbitant) while you go for a walk or relax on the shores of the lake or eat. You can take your car out of the car park and drive back down to Tannheim and onwards as soon as you wish.

Between 10.00 & 17.00 you cannot drive up in your car but there are plenty of buses that you can catch from Tannheim or even further afield that will take you to and from the lake. There are plenty of car parks on the outskirts of the village of Tannheim to leave your car.

This means that the lakeside retains its charm and is not destroyed by cars strewn everywhere and the road to and from the lake is not congested with traffic and is quite safe to walk.

Drivers or passengers who are 70% disabled are allowed to drive up there at any time. 70% disabled is not a term I'm familiar with, I can only assume that in Austria disabled people are judged in percentages - I have a blue disability badge (and use a mobility scooter) and I have never been challenged and told that I'm not allowed to drive up there. I usually prefer to park in one of the Tannheim car parks and use my scooter to get to the lake, the journey up there is a pleasure in itself.

I was last there 8 days ago (June 2013) and, in spite of rock falls and booming tourism, it is as lovely as it was 40 years ago.

3  Thank groeslongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vilsalpsee also viewed

 

Been to Vilsalpsee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing