We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Two Weeks in Another World.”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of the chateau
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of the chateau
Swimming pool Swimming pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
33 reviews
Front of the chateau
Swimming pool
Swimming pool
The pool, as seen from the top floor
outdoor dining (more tables and chairs available)
plenty of space, all secure
large grounds
Entrance hall
delightful farmhouse kitchen
dining area
twin bedroom
library
there is 1 bathroom and 3 shower rooms, 5 WCs
Top floor bedroom
chill area on the top floor
part of a bedroom
twin room with antique beds
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chateau -
8 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Saint-Just-Luzac, Marennes, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Eastlands...
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Two Weeks in Another World.”
Reviewed 13 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Where to start? The property is a super chateau with a wonderful back history. It's set in its own grounds within a walled garden and comes with a lovely pool area, gated and fenced off with children's safety in mind. The grounds are extensive with plenty of grassed area, 2 outside dining areas, a good barbeque set up, and a "sand pit" complete with toys etc for the younger children to enjoy. Inside all the rooms are grand, very large and spacious with the 9 of us all being able to get "lost" and contemplate the wonderful experience of being able to call this home for almost two weeks. The furnishings are full of character and in the style, with many many objects, items and curios of interest around the 3 floors to keep one interested when wandering around from room to room. In our view the pictures do not do the chateau justice and it really is something when you first view it from the road and even more so when you drive through the large entrance gates. There are all the mod cons you would expect in a high quality rental but in a setting that gives you a feeling of a grander lifestyle of times past. We had an excellent time there, our ages ranging from 3 to 68 with something for all of us to enjoy and on some days not going out and just soaking up the sun (lucky us) and the unique environment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience of being there
Liked least: A few of the pillows were umpty
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2016
We are so appreciative of your feedback and indeed such a lovely review. Nothing pleases us more than people appreciating the hard work and love that has gone into the 'in keeping' restoration carried out to Rochebonne. We hope to welcome you back one day.
Warmest regards
Sarah, the Broughton family and all the team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil O
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Chateau once again lived up to expectations”
Reviewed 27 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Just returned from our third visit to Chateau Roche. The house is well equipped and serves as a great base to visit the local area. We particularly enjoyed the pool and family dinners around the kitchen table. The house is full of antiques that create a wonderful atmosphere. Christine and Rob looked after us when we needed any help. We're already planning our next visit for 2017.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Swimming pool
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for coming again and we look forward welcoming you back. Always a pleasure
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saurengho...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Lovely Piece of French History”
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Fabulous house. Fabulous Location.
This chateau gave a flavour of France in days gone by.
Loved the kitchen (rustic but modern) and we had lots of fun.
Location was central to some fabulous places we visted.
A great base.
The best thing we liked was the feeling of seclusion in our very own chateau.
The only improvement is that the property needs a little more TLC, e.g one of the showers needed some maintenance. This would not stop us from visiting again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Feeling of having our own chateau
Liked least: In need of some TLC. WIFI did not reach all rooms.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2016
...............thanks for this lovely review and for telling us about the shower. We'll get that fixed asap. So glad you enjoyed your holiday and we look forawrd to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl K
Boughton Monchelsea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a fantastic place to chill out and catch up with old friends”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic time, what a splendid authentic old chateau with plenty of atmosphere. A perfect place to run our murder mystery evening, it’s like going back in time. Ideal for visiting the local towns and villages, we would recommend visits to Cognac, Rochefort, La Rochelle, Royan and the beautiful island of lle O’leron. The markets at Rochefort & Royan are definitely worth a visit to pick up local produce and wine to be prepared and enjoyed back at the Chateau. When we go back again we will make it a bit later in the year so we can enjoy the pool and the beach at Royan. Special thanks to Jacqueline the housekeeper.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2016
I do so appreciate this lovely review, thank you very much indeed. Glad that your holiday went well and that the house was a good place for you. I am jealous of your murder-mystery evenings - sounds such fun ! Looking forwards to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robert111...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“We Loved this place. Perfect for families”
Reviewed 23 March 2016 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed here with 12 members of our family and we loved it as the kids were able to run off and play in the vast garden as the whole property has a tall perimeter wall with gates back and front so it is perfectly safe for children and has plenty of privacy. The pool is also fenced and gated which is reassuring with small children. The Chateau is great fun and has lots of character. There is a sort of "museum" on the first floor landing where there are also books to read. We had lots of great family meals in the house and in the garden with the BBQ going. Beds are comfortable and the place was spotless. We have booked again for next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2016
Thank you for this lovely review. It is appreciated. We are looking forwards to seeing you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing