We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful retreat in the heart of Kent”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Raleigh Cottage

Dining room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining room
Bedroom one Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Dining room
Bedroom one
Kitchen
Garden
Raleigh Cottage
Garden
Patio
Bedroom three
Kitchen
Bathroom
Bedroom two
Living room
Living room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Birchington, Isle of Thanet, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cassandra...
Gerrards Cross
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Peaceful retreat in the heart of Kent”
Reviewed 30 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We had a wonderful week with my boys (11&9) and my mum and dad. Perfect place to explore Kent. Cozy and quintessentially English seaside retreat.
Thank you for perfect half term break Jill.
Xx Jana

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PinkLady9...
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, clean and spacious accommodation”
Reviewed 3 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Raleigh Cottage is a lovely place to stay (I'm actually sitting in the sitting room now while I type this).

On arrival we found it to be very clean, bright and airy and were over the moon to find a lot of things had been provided by the owners, ie milk, sugar, tea bags, coffee, condiments etc and a lovely box of chocolates that went down really well :)

It is a really large 3 bedroomed house close to a cliff top nd promenade and close to the main shopping area, which was great for us (my husband, myself and our dog) and our two friends and their two dogs, who stayed a couple of nights.

The garden is very nicely landscaped and had our lunch outside on arrival as it was so warm (considering it's March!).

Our only criticism is that we would have preferred it if there had been an over the bath shower as personally as we prefer a shower to a bath. Although we managed OK for the two days and nights our friends were there, four of us trying to have a bath had to be timed with military precision lol. This would not stop us from recommending the place though.

We're really enjoying our time here and like the area a lot. I think we will be visiting again sometime and will definitely stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2017
Thank you for your kind comments and rest assured there will be a shower in place by next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs chris...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from Home Very cosy”
Reviewed 29 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I booked this break away for my anniversary, and was very pleased that i made the right choice. This property is a diamond , very cosy and warm and clean with everything you need for your stay.The property is very central for everything you could need a short walk and you have railway station,shops and restaurants, and beach. A very nice property and area. And a big thank you to the owner for making our stay special.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: having everything you could need at the property and location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2017
So glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golfcaddy...
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, great value”
Reviewed 19 April 2015 for a stay in May 2014

Stayed here several times over the the last few years. Birchington is a great location close to the sea and with lots of local attractions, many within walking distance or short journey by transport.
The cottage is very comfortable with all amenities and a lovely garden on a quiet road - as another reviewer put it, very much a "home from home". It's always spotlessly clean and well looked after which is really important to me. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2017
Thanks for the great review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fraser L
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous retreat.”
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in September 2014

We have had many happy holidays at this lovely house. It has everything you need for a home from home break, with many beautiful beaches nearby you are spoilt for choice. The historic city of Canterbury is only 20 minutes away, and Quex Park itself in Birchington is well worth a visit, with its own Craft Village and Farm Shop. Birchington itself has a wide range of eating places, friendly independent shops, not to mention lots of interesting walks. The house itself is always immaculate, with a well kept and secure garden.Highly recommended. Eileen and Fraser.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2017
Thanks Eileen and Fraser!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing