We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (361)
Filter reviews
362 results
Traveller rating
112
91
66
41
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
112
91
66
41
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews time slot static caravan play park lovely site entertainment team quex park gold plus caravan nice play children love children's play area great facilities loo roll evening entertainment westwood cross east kent staff were really helpful mini break
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 362 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018

Hmmm, not experienced anything like it! Yes it's clean and looks the part, but basically the site seems to be set up for the convenience of the staff more than the paying guests! First night there, we thought we'd sit down to a round of bingo and then get something to eat. We got the round of bingo, but afterwards at about just 8 o'clock we went to order some food we were told bluntly, we aren't serving food now, food isn't served after 8! When we queried this we got told you can always go back to your caravan and order take away!! So we missed the evenings entertainment and had to stay put in the caravan. We didn't eat that night except for a few snacks that we had in the caravan, were very hungry! There was no warning put up about the fact that food stopped being served at 8 and menus were still out on all the tables! Transpires that actually food gets served as and when they see fit! Never heard anything like it before.

On top of this the shop doesn't open until 9am in the morning which again, I've not heard of!

You have to pre-book a 55 min slot for the swimming pool, again a new one on me! Why on earth did we pay to stay there when we could have just paid to go to our local swimming pool and ordered in take away and saved us the rate of the caravan!!! We were given a brochure telling us we could take our kids onto the log flume with us which when we arrived to do our swimming we got told was no longer an option as they'd had an incident. Fair enough but we didn't need the arrogant lifeguard trying to put us in our place over it by waving the brochure in our place telling us it stated clearly that we couldn't do this, but we soon pointed out this was not what the brochure said and he swiftly ran off with it to get it re-written! There were a lot of issues with the machines in the arcade but trying to get one of the guys from the shop to sort it out wasn't happening even that they were stood doing nothing, NO, instead we were told we had to go to the busy barman and ask him to sort out the issues!!
What's that all about!

We'd gone here years ago when it was the two chimneys and had gone back to reminisce as our mum had just died and thought it would be a great way to think of her and the good times we'd shared, what a mistake!! We told them of what we'd experienced and it's taken until today (bearing in mind we went just over a month ago) after being promised that this was being taken seriously, to get a response, and what have they said? Very little, just excuses as to why we experienced what we experienced but we're not giving you compensation, we never asked for compensation, all we wanted was what we paid for and didn't get which was a fun packed weekend watching live entertainment as opposed to sitting in a confined space watching T.V.!

Room Tip: Wasn't a hotel, was a caravan park
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birchingtongm, General Manager at Birchington Vale Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your holiday with us, I know that we have contacted you privately and ran through the problems that you encountered. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

booking was so easy helpful and friendly on the phone and in person welcome was lovely everything explained perfectly passes directions could not fault the lovely young lady in reception
found our pitch up a bumpy road but not really a issue and the showers etc were in nice clean condition water was a nice temp and hey ho the hairdryer worked
the club house was fantastic clean and fresh and seating was great but the weekend was the best thanks to the really friendly and helpful staff Tim was lovely nothing was to much trouble he treated us with such politeness and always smiling and we had all our meals there and could not fault the food and the service was great
the entertainment was really good liam and the other great guys never stopped making us laugh great fun and got everyone joining in singing along and adult games was so funny and excellent with the little children to loads of fun for them
been touring uk for 2 years and by far the best weekend and best site we have been to already booked to go back in aug
really enjoyed our first visit i would like to have tried the pool it looked great take cosi next time lol

Room Tip: touring pitch nice
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tynaarnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birchingtongm, General Manager at Birchington Vale Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

I am really pleased that you had such a nice touring stay with us here at Birchington Vale. I will pass on your kind comments to Tim and Liam and we look forward to seing you in August. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

Spent five days here in an immaculate caravan with great facilities. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We will definitely recommend and return for another mini break in the near future. Well done all

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank 577neild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birchingtongm, General Manager at Birchington Vale Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018

Thank you for your review of your holiday here at Birchington Vale Holiday Park. I am pleased that you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

Very friendly at reception great toilets an showers good camping touring site,
the road to get in and out of campsite terrible it’s been wrongly planned out , and no signs very clear in and out and around campsite , we stayed on no 26 hook up but it’s a short cut so every one was passing thru our awning which was annoying

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank riastdinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birchingtongm, General Manager at Birchington Vale Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review us and I am pleased that you had such a great time. We have ordered signs and I am waiting for the delivery of them which will help with making things more clearer. Please come and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

Booked a caravan here for a long weekend with my son recently. The van was almost new and Claire had left it spotlessly clean. Check in was really excellent and friendly with an impromptu 'Princess' theme! All the reception staff were happy and were genuinely pleased to see us. We were checked in by Kelly Thomas who treated us like old friends. The facilities here a very good, with a large and clean bar area with big screens for World Cup viewing.
Did not visit the bar in the evening so cannot comment on the entertainment but all the families we saw during the weekend looked to be enjoying themselves. Can recommend this site and our thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birchingtongm, General Manager at Birchington Vale Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018

Thank you for choosing to have your holiday here with us at Birchington Vale. I will be passing on your kind comments onto Kelly and Claire who are always delighted when the are recognized for great service personally. Please come and see us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews