We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
US$68
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/05/01
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$72
US$54
View deal
SAVE US$18
Free cancellation until 21/05/02
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$68
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/05/01
Reserve now, pay at stay
PricelineUS$54
eDreamsUS$54
Trip.comUS$72
View all 16 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 530)
Filter reviews
1 530 results
Traveller rating
345
464
291
178
252
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
345
464
291
178
252
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course golf break driving range play golf main restaurant sauna and steam room spa facilities family room portsmouth cruise broadstreet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1 530 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2021

1/5
Hotel advertises that key workers are welcome to stay, but upon arrival guests are advised of new terms and conditions that restrict twin rooms to only 1 person despite being in a work bubble; therefore additional rooms need to be booked at an extra cost. Staff are completely clueless, with no senior staff on site. A number of other guests experienced the same issues. Staff are in contact with managers, but they refuse to speak to guests and simply give instructions such as "tell them to book another room or leave now".

Date of stay: February 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 573liamd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2020

I managed to get a tee time yesterday (boxing day) on your championship course and with knowing your reputation we couldnt wait to play. We read the instructions on where to check in etc online. Upon arriving there was nowhere to check in with a marshall or even get a scorecard, even though it was stated on your website, but this isnt even the half of it. We had each payed £40 to play and were shocked with the conditions of the greens, they are almost unplayable due to from what we believe is a disease to the grass. There were several winter mats in play and some temporary greens, again we were not informed about any of this. If either of us had known about these faults we definitely would not of paid the substantial amount. To say we feel let down by the experience would be an understatement.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank steveyp28efc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2020 via mobile

The whole stay was absolutely awful. From check to dirty room to a laughable dining menu. I do not have one nice thing to say about this so called hotel. Please don’t risk the spa facilities. You might catch something nasty

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank happytraveller195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2020

This Britannia Hotel is trading on it's past reputation when it used to be a Marriott Hotel. We stayed there a number of years back & had a very enjoyable stay. But is has now gone down hill. At least a new a Manger has been appointed since our stay. Hopefully it will shape up, the golf course has good character.

Room tip: No recommendations.
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank keng110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radoslaw Golebiewski, Guest Services / Front Office at Meon Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2020

Dear keng110,

I am disappointed to read your review and would be happy to discuss this with you. Please could you e-mail me on foh764@theelitevenueselection.co.uk if you wish to discuss this further.

Warm regards,

Radoslaw Golebiewski
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2020 via mobile


Stayed at Meon Valley on a 2 night dinner, bed & breakfast deal. I family room & 1 double room. The evening meal selection was atrocious our table was booked for 6.30 we were told that the fish & chips had run out, they are only offering frozen food heated up, the poor staff are run off their feet and young girls are having to take the brunt of the complaints with no customer service training, what is even more alarming is that no manager was on duty, even in the morning no manager could be found.
The staff hide behind Covid for everything, I have stayed in independent hotels who can manage it perfectly well, offering a full service in a safe way.
We took the decision to eat away from the hotel the 2nd night rather than endure the dire menu & appalling service.
I won’t even get on to breakfast but safe to say it was pretty similar to the night before!
The poor staff work very hard but there is no management and they are left run off their feet.
The ‘spa & pool’ area was a health hazard at best, leaking pipes dripping rust onto the floor.
These are the edited ‘highlights’ I have many more complaints but I’ll finish on a positive, the WiFi was excellent.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Twinmummy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radoslaw Golebiewski, Guest Services / Front Office at Meon Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2020

Dear Twinmummy14,

I am disappointed to read your review and would be happy to discuss this with you. Please could you e-mail me on foh764@theelitevenueselection.co.uk if you wish to discuss this further.

Warm regards,

Radoslaw Golebiewski
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews