We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely lovely”
other travellers have booked this property
The lounge and kitchen/dining area are upstairs to maximise the views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The lounge and kitchen/dining area are upstairs to maximise the views
The kitchen has lots of oak and some nice Farrow and Ball paintwork, plus all the appliances and equ Another shot of the light and airy kitchen and dining space
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
The lounge and kitchen/dining area are upstairs to maximise the views
The kitchen has lots of oak and some nice Farrow and Ball paintwork, plus all the appliances and equ
Another shot of the light and airy kitchen and dining space
Here's another shot of the kitchen
There are two lovely leather Chesterfields you can relax in and lots of light.
The kitchen area. Hopefully you can see the quality!
The ensuite bedroom at the rear of the property
This is the shower room when both bedrooms are in use. There is also the ensuite off the rear bedroo
The super king size bed is 6' 6 long. The biggest you will find in any holiday rental
The bedrooms are on the ground floor. Underfloor heating feels luxurious under your feet!
Light streams in to the living/dining area in our holiday cottage
The 'front' bedroom, made up with two single beds. You can have it as a super king as well - it's yo
The drive way down to the Old Workshop which is the 2nd on the right, behind the oak tree
Difficult to take a meaningful picture of a shower, but hopefully you get the idea!
Our first testimonial for the Old Workshop holiday cottage
Flowers are still blooming in the courtyard
The view from the living/dining area of the 2 bed holiday cottage over the Bathampton meadows
Another view of the lounge in the cottage
The lounge area of our 2 bed holiday cottage in Bath
Another picture of the lounge in our holiday cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Batheaston, Bath, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
AnsiStar
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely”
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My sister and our partners stayed here for a long weekend. When we arrived we were greeted warmly by the housekeeper and given our provisions and a tour. The accommodation is wonderful and has stunning views. Location is good but is about 45 minutes to walk to town (my sisters partner had a bad back so it took its toll) but fortunately a taxi is only £7-10 to the centre of Bath. Beds are super comfy and there is under floor heating should you need it. It was very hot when we stayed so we were a bit warm, but when we came back to the house our second day, a fan had kindly been left outside the front door for us. All in all a wonderful weekend and would definitely recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2016
Thanks and pleased you had a nice time here. If you come again you should take the boat from the Bathampton Mill into town. It's a beautiful trip and you can get the bus or taxi back. Glad the fan helped - you were here at a particularly hot time! :-)

John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilsogno
Christchurch New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Clean very comfortable accommodation in quiet surroundings”
Reviewed 5 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

A very comfortable, roomy and well appointed rental with a full range of facilities. This rental is well designed and probably the most comfortable we have ever stayed in. It is in a quiet area with a rural outlook away from the tourist crowds in Bath central. Good transport links into the city and elsewhere including a canal walk nearby. Local shops stock a wide range of supplies at reasonable prices.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space of the property and the peaceful location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2016
We can't ask for any better comment then "the most comfortable ever", so thank you so much for telling us this as it makes such a difference. :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sueandmil...
Peterborough
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfectly situated”
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were delighted with this accommodation. Beautifully maintained, furnished equipped etc. Lovely views out of back sitting room window. Just outside Bath with bus stopping right outside door enabling you to leave your car at home. Great places to walk on your doorsteps. Lovely places to eat close to hand. I cannot think of one negative thing to say regarding accommodation, where it was situated or the correspondence we had with owners and caretaker. Didn't want to go home !!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2016
That's a really nice review to receive, we really appreciate it . Hope you can come again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stiiyches...
cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Another Lovely Stay in Batheaston .”
Reviewed 20 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Firstly , we would like to say how much we enjoyed our week in The Old Workshop .Last year we stayed at The Saltings , which is in the same courtyard , which was immaculate.... exceptionally clean, so we had no worries about the cleanliness of The Old Workshop . In these properties , everything you need for a comfortable stay is provided . It is like home from home . The bed is so comfortable and no noise at night , making for a relaxing , good nights sleep .Thank you for the provisions which we really appreciate . We read in one of the reviews on here a person saying Batheaston was shabby . Far from it !! Batheaston is a lovely little village . Now , Jane and John ..I hope you won't mind us mentioning this , on our arrival we were really disappointed when we opened the front door to find cream carpet that was really grubby looking , also in the bedroom . Knowing how your standards are , it puzzled us as the rest of the property is immaculate . . Obviously , cream carpet is going to get dirty , especially in a holiday let . We noticed in the property next door you had wooden or laminate flooring in the hallway . That would look lovely and be easy to keep clean .Apart from this we would highly recommend your property .

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2016
Thank you Harry and Maddy for your kind and balanced review, we really appreciate it and glad you enjoyed the Old Workshop as much as the Saltings. We are a little embarrassed by the carpet in the Old Workshop which has been spoilt by previous inconsiderate guests. We have done our best to make it look better and will be replacing it with a wooden floor like the Coach House, but it is a very big job, involving modifying skirting boards etc. We can only do that this winter, so we are hoping our guests, like you, can overlook it as everything else should be as perfect as we like it to be. Hope to see you again soon :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Apr 2016
Thank you for the comprehensive review, much appreciated. You have summarised us very well :-)

Hope to see you again.

Regards

John and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing