We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Apartment for visiting Bath”
other travellers have booked this property
The lounge and kitchen/dining area are upstairs to maximise the views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The lounge and kitchen/dining area are upstairs to maximise the views
The kitchen has lots of oak and some nice Farrow and Ball paintwork, plus all the appliances and equ Another shot of the light and airy kitchen and dining space
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
The lounge and kitchen/dining area are upstairs to maximise the views
The kitchen has lots of oak and some nice Farrow and Ball paintwork, plus all the appliances and equ
Another shot of the light and airy kitchen and dining space
Here's another shot of the kitchen
There are two lovely leather Chesterfields you can relax in and lots of light.
The kitchen area. Hopefully you can see the quality!
The ensuite bedroom at the rear of the property
This is the shower room when both bedrooms are in use. There is also the ensuite off the rear bedroo
The super king size bed is 6' 6 long. The biggest you will find in any holiday rental
The bedrooms are on the ground floor. Underfloor heating feels luxurious under your feet!
Light streams in to the living/dining area in our holiday cottage
The 'front' bedroom, made up with two single beds. You can have it as a super king as well - it's yo
The drive way down to the Old Workshop which is the 2nd on the right, behind the oak tree
Difficult to take a meaningful picture of a shower, but hopefully you get the idea!
Our first testimonial for the Old Workshop holiday cottage
Flowers are still blooming in the courtyard
The view from the living/dining area of the 2 bed holiday cottage over the Bathampton meadows
Another view of the lounge in the cottage
The lounge area of our 2 bed holiday cottage in Bath
Another picture of the lounge in our holiday cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Batheaston, Bath, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
midagetra...
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely place but terrible odor in one of the bedrooms.”
Reviewed 1 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The place is very nice and well set up but we noticed a really nasty smell in the back bedroom from the start. Initially we texted the housekeeper who said she would check but we never heard anything. Later emailed the owners. They expressed regrets, said it was odd since there was no drain in the bedroom, and offered us 15% off on a future stay. Perhaps we are oversensitive to odors, but I would not have booked the place if I'd known this and I felt I owed this to others. To be clear, the odor (and the lack of any useful response) is the only problem with the rental.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2014
Firstly, Jane and I are both very sorry and sad the smell in the spare bedroom affected you so much. This was not the impression we had from the communication during your stay. In fact you made a point of saying "The place itself is lovely, the location is great, but I'm glad we don't have to sleep in that room" You say there was a lack of action, which we don't understand because Deborah responded to your text immediately and said she would send our maintenance guy to have a look. Then you emailed me at 22.43 on the Monday night (I was asleep so couldn't respond immediately) I answered you at 05:03 the following morning as follows, "Very sorry to hear about that. It's a mystery as there is no drain going through that room.

Would you mind if we had a look whilst you are out? Thursday would be a day my maintenance guy could do that. We don't want to disturb your stay, so please let us know if that's not convenient. If you could leave your key in the key safe that would be great.

We apologise if this has inconvenienced you in any way and as some recompense, we could offer you a 15% discount on any future stay, at any of our properties." I hope this puts things in context. Obviously if you had been staying in that room, we would have had a look even sooner, but as you had shut it off and had no need to use it, we preferred not to disturb you and wait until you were out. When we looked it was evident the problem was in the ensuite bathroom which you were not using and there was no smell in the rest of the house. The blockage (these things can happen at any time as I am sure you can appreciate) meant removing the toilet, which we didn't want to do while you were there, as it might have inconvenienced you and bearing in mind you seemed quite happy to use the other bathroom.

I guess you felt a 2 star rating was applicable in some way to warn others about the smell, but this was a one off occurrence. I am sure you can understand plumbing blockages can happen at any time. This one is now fixed and once again we can only apologise at what you see as our inaction. In reality we were only trying to inconvenience you as little as possible and thought you were happy with the situation as the smell was in a room you weren't using. We can't promise we can fix every issue instantly, but we certainly try our hardest and reviews such as this deeply affect us, given the amount of effort and care we put into our business. Regards, John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Sep 2014
Thank you for the review. We would be interested to know what you felt was lacking in that you were only able to give a 4 star rating? We try our best to make everything as perfect as possible, so it's useful to know where guests perceive a shortfall. Thanks. John and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Sep 2014
Glad you enjoyed it and found us friendly. We try to be! :-) Hope to see you again soon. John and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ENGLAND
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Sep 2014
Glad you enjoyed the property and thanks for the review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CardiffBa...
Cardiff
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great place, heating was a slight issue”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I visited here in July with some friends for a 40th birthday weekend. The accommodation is very lovely, immaculate. Excellent facilities and the arrangement of bedrooms downstairs and living area upstairs really works. They have everything that you would need for a great stay and the welcome cakes went down a treat, nice touch. Great little shops locally for bits and bobs.

We walked to the pub by the river which was excellent and caught the boat into Bath and walked back, both were delightful. You are just outside Bath city but you have easy access into the city and countryside with the added bonus of easy secure parking! There are a few other properties being rented in the courtyard infact one was a hen do but you didn't hear any other noise at all during our stay.

The only issue I think we would highlight was the heat within the house. Admittedly we visited when it was very hot, however we did find the accommodation (especially upstairs) too hot. The owners did say to keep windows closed as it's a temperate control system however we tried this one day going out but had to open all the windows as soon as we came back in as it was stifling. This would be my only suggestion to change/fix. Im sure in the colder months it's perfect!

Would definitely recommend to anyone and probably will be back at some point. Lovely x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location/Facilities
Liked least: Too hot
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2014
Thanks for your comprehensive and constructive review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. You are right, the wording for the ventilation control is not accurate. When we had the vent system installed last year, we thought it would blow enough air so you didn't need to open the windows, but in hot weather that's not the case. So, as you found, it's better to open the windows, as you would in any house. As the place is still quite new and it's the first time we've experienced such prolonged hot weather, we are still learning about it, so sorry you were guinea pigs in a way. Anyway, hope to see you again and appreciate your feedback :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing