We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous, Peaceful; Beautiful little cottage!”
other travellers have booked this property
A fully restored Grade II listed cottage with easy access to Bath and the surrounding countryside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A fully restored Grade II listed cottage with easy access to Bath and the surrounding countryside
You can just see the parking area in front of the cottage Luxury bathroom with Egyptian cotton towels
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
A fully restored Grade II listed cottage with easy access to Bath and the surrounding countryside
You can just see the parking area in front of the cottage
Luxury bathroom with Egyptian cotton towels
Lots of stone and wood and a super comfortable King size bed!
Cosy living area with lots of character
Small but perfectly formed. Plenty of room for a cosy weekend or a longer break
Another view of the kitchen/living area. Some of our guests have said it's much bigger than it appea
A great place to relax or have fun!
The Smeg oven is 'state of the art'! A pleasure to use.
Pamper yourself here
Getting an idea of the quality?
Quirky spiral staircase
We've tried to think of lots of nice little touches which make a difference
One of our many enthusiastic testimonials from couples enjopying a romantic break
Another one of our many glowing testimonials from our satisfied clients
This is the former butcher's shop, which is at the front of the same building.
This was the building at the turn of the 20th century!
The Roman Baths. It's just as beautiful in the day.
One of the reason so many people come to Bath! The unique roof top Spa - pure indulgence.
Bathampton Mill is just a few minutes walk from the Saltings
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Batheaston, Bath, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nastasha...
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous, Peaceful; Beautiful little cottage!”
Reviewed 18 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We did not stay very long at The Saltings, just over the bank hol weekend in August to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We wanted somewhere really peaceful and quite and away from the hustle and bustle and this cottage was perfect!
Although very quite, it is in the perfect location to get into the centre of Bath, the bus stop is just round the corner and takes you right there in about 5 mins!
The cottage was beautiful and the under floor heating made it very cosy. The owners had thought of everything even leaving milk, cheese, bread and a bottle of wine for us, lovely little touch.
I had a fantastic time visiting Roman Baths, the Fashion Museum and even the nearby village of Castle Combe, all within easy reach from the Saltings. We stayed in one night as we just loved the cosiness of the little cottage.
Wish we had stayed for longer and will definately be visiting again!
Thank you for such a wonderful stay.
Tash & Chris Toms

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location, and the actual accomodation!
Liked least: That we couldn't stay longer!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2013
Thanks for writing such nice things, hopefully we will see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackbird...
Hastings, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great little cottage”
Reviewed 6 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Just a perfect place to stay for visiting Bath & surrounding area, the cottage is just perfect for two with all mod cons provided, very clean & double bed so comfortable. The welcome pack was very much appreciated as was the wine. So enjoyed taking the boat into Bath where we had a lovely time seeing all the wonderful sights, we had the return journey on the boat & on our return enjoyed a good meal at Bathamptonmill....would recommend this pub, wonderful gardens right next to the river Avon. Owners close by & very helpful but not intrusive & respect your privacy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage
Liked least: had no dislikes
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zenafacci...
Clavering
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A brilliant place to stay”
Reviewed 31 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

They say a camera never lies, it truly does not, what you see is what you get!! Its amazing, its lovely, its pretty and the bed is so comfortable I wanted to take it home!
We stayed for a fishing week, but due to not so good weather we also went out sight seeing. The local bus stops right outside the property both going into Bath and back again. It has lovely pubs around where you can eat and so much beautiful countryside you are spoiled for choice.
We were met by the owner who was very friendly and helpful, but then left you to enjoy the property, but was on hand if required for any help you may require. A welcome pack was left in the property including a welcome bottle of wine, some great strong Somerset cheese and local bread.
I would totally recommend this property to anyone who is looking for a great getaway in wonderful surroundings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole property - I wanted to move in permenantly
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally G
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Property”
Reviewed 30 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Welcome pack on arrival was great bonus. High quality fittings. Ideal for two. Owners very helpful and easy to contact. Small but lovely property. Spiral staircase lovely but no good for elderly or anyone with mobility problems. Used owners' recommendations for eating places very useful. We enjoyed The Raven in Bath. Only 10 minutes on the bus into Bath (bus stop outside cottage). Walk along canal (40 mins approx) into Bath. Street plan of Bath very useful. Parking outside cottage was a bonus. This property was good value for money and would be much more expensive if nearer to Bath.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Layout of the property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick C
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“High quality accommodation, great position for visiting Bath”
Reviewed 26 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012

The Saltings was spot on, very convenient for visiting Bath and the lovely surrounding countryside which is ideal for walking, very picaresque! The cottage is nicely fitted out with the underfloor heating making it very cosy the week we had there was wonderful.
Thanks Jane and John.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Liked best: The cottage
Liked least: It was all good
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing