We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent cottage!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Malthouse No 3

Open plan living
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open plan living
Living area Open plan living
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Open plan living
Living area
Open plan living
Kitchen/dining area
Fully fitted kitchen/breakfast area
Dining area
Entrance hallway
Master bedroom
En suite shower room
Second bedroom
Family bathroom
Staircase
External
Thermae Bath Spa
The Royal Crescent, Bath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Batheaston, Bath, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
jahof
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage!”
Reviewed 2 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Malthouse #3 is a lovely rental cottage. The location is ideal. It is represented well with the pictures in the rental description. If you have a car, you will have access to gated, off-street parking which is a phenomenal plus! The cottage is close to the bus stops for easy trips to and from Bath; people were most helpful with explaining the schedules to us novice riders. It was very clean and the lighting was good within the bedrooms, baths and the sunlit living area. The kitchen was well-equipped. We e-mailed David with a few questions upon our arrival and he responded immediately. It is WITHIN easy walking distance to a pharmacy, convenience store, the Fat Friar and George the Dragon restaurants. A delightful rental! Note: it was a bit difficult to find the Malthouse upon our arrival with a GPS; the Avondale Place turn-in is not very obvious! Use the gas station as your landmark

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
davidrobs...
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“base for visiting family”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

My 2nd stay at no.3. As previously, house very clean and well equipped, Sheets and towels spotless. Off-street secure parking a real bonus. Short distance for bus stop for frequent bus service into Bath, meaning no long waits in traffic and problems finding long-stay parking, making it an excellent base for visiting Bath itself.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NormanLew...
Great Torrington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
400 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Pleasant accommodation, good value and location”
Reviewed 25 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for three nights at No 3 with my partner and a friend. Upstairs layout is spacious, nicely decorated and comfortable and has a well equipped kitchen area but the single bedroom downstairs is a bit of a squeeze (though it has good storage) and the en-suite to the double would also be a challenge for anyone over six feet. Judging from comments in the visitors book nobody thinks the TV is up to much except the owner. Plus points are secure setting with free parking within a short distance of Bath but also accessible to other interesting places such as Wells, Corsham, Bristol etc. Useful welcome pack of food items, nice to have bottle of wine etc but could have done with more informative brochure - things like what to do with garbage. There are a couple of places to eat within walking distance but on a drizzly evening they are a bit too far so car might be advisable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Upstairs space and location
Liked least: Single bedroom and ensuite bathroom quite cramped.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nici C
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“3 The Malthouse - comfy and great location”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Recently had a three night stay at No 3 The Malthouse in Batheaston with my partner and 10'year old daughter. We really enjoyed our time there, it was a comfortable, cosy home from home and had everything we needed. The Welcome Pack is a really nice touch. The owner was friendly and helpful in the run-up to our stay. It's a fabulous location for exploring Bath and the surrounding area, it's on a great bus route into Bath which saves a lot of hassle driving and parking. There is a chemist and well stocked convenience store just down the road and if you fancy fish and chips you could do worse than the Fat Friar. We visited the Ro an Baths, the Fashion Museum and No 1 The Crescent, all of which we thoroughly enjoyed. It's also not far from Stonehenge which we also visited. We would definitely go back.

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: The sound on the TV is not great but it a major issue for us
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing