We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent getaway”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Malthouse No 3

Kitchen Dining Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen Dining Area
Dining Area The Thermae Spa Bath
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Kitchen Dining Area
Dining Area
The Thermae Spa Bath
The Royal Crescent, Bath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Batheaston, Bath, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Natalie21...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent getaway”
Reviewed 14 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

ovely 2 bedroom place really great for kids!!!! we had really amazing time.

The only down point was that the mattress in the main room needs replacing,
i had to sleep on the pull out sofa as i kept rolling of the mattress as it was worn down...

but even with that little bump we would stay there again. really close to everything and well looked after and very clean!!!

thanks for a great weekend!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: loved the upstairs kitchen area
Liked least: the mattress
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel J
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Great location, excellent for public transport into Bath, really good to have a property with easy parking. Would recommend upgrading television, replacing light bulbs that do not work and resolving noise from on suite toilet cistern

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: Television and toilet cistern noise
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2014
Thank you for your comments, we pride ourselves in taking action when a problem is brought to our attention, we have listened to your concerns and have -
-replaced the flushing mechanism to the en suite toilet.
-replaced 2 light bulbs.
Regarding the TV - we have updated all our other accommodation with flat screen tv's but decided not to replace this one because the sound is much better than a new one.
It sounds that you enjoyed your stay and hope the few problems you experienced didn't affect your stay at The Malthouse.
David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquaysu...
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“superb cottage and excellent location”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My partner, her 91year old mother and I stayed at No3 The Malthouse for the last week in May and can only echo what other reviewers have said. The conversion of the old Malthouse into small cottages has been carried to a very high (modern) standard whilst leaving in some of the original features (in No3 exposed roof timbers).
We found the cottage to be an extremely comfortable, secure and well situated base to return too after a long day exploring. The well thought out welcome pack is indicative of the care and attention that the owners appear to put into preparing the cottage and everything you could possibly need on arrival is waiting for you.
However, whilst there is allocated parking for each cottage (numbered) we found one of our fellow tenants seemed to prefer ours which caused a few problems. That aside, we had a wonderful break in a superb cottage situated in a great location and we will attempt to book again when we return to Bath.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and location
Liked least: The noisy plumbing in the en-suite
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy D
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect for a small family”
Reviewed 7 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Number 3 The Malthouse was perfect for my husband and I and our 5 year old son, and offered great value for money. We were able to rent it for 4 nights over half term – so many properties insist on a whole week or just a weekend, so it was brilliant to find somewhere so flexible on dates. The cottage itself has been beautifully decorated and is full of character yet has all mod cons – washer / dryer, WIFI, DVD, ipod dock, etc. We had a problem with the DVD player and the owners sorted it out for us straight away, which we were really impressed with. It's very close to the city centre and there's plenty to see and do in the surrounding area too - will definitely be aiming to come back next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Exposed beams and pitched roof in kitchen/living room
Liked least: driving down short lane to property - our car is wide and lane is narrow!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim N
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Smart, comfortable, well located home from home”
Reviewed 6 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We very much enjoyed the cottage, which has been finished to a very high standard and is very well kept. The secure off road car parking and the easy access to boats and buses to and from Bath make the location really convenient. If there's a downside it would be the lack of views out - but it is in just to right place to use as a base for exploring Bath and the surrounding area during the day anyway... Everything worked, great to have the shower room and the bath room, WiFi connected excellently, and the whole experience was a pleasure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Interior design and condition
Liked least: Lack of views out of the windows
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing