We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
132
14
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
14
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view air con washing machine bed and pillows homemade granola amazing hosts coffee shop on site small shower stall the water's edge min walk sheets were changed car rental appointed apartment watching the world washing line working village no hesitation in recommending
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Really lovely apartments,very well looked after by Joanna and Panos. Comfortable bed,good air con and cleaned every day. Lovely adjoining cafe. One star missing because of position on the road but wonderful view and quiet at night.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank local948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

Just returned from another wonderful stay at Porto Kalyves and I will be returning again and again. From the moment I opened the front door to my immaculate apartment I was back in the zone - living in the moment, at peace and totally relaxed. Panos and Ioanna meet every need, I've never experienced such wonderful hospitality. Just staring at the sea from the front balcony and enjoying the tranquility is so restoring. Add to that a beautiful beach nearby, with comfy sunbeds and good local tavernas - heaven!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valeriebliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

Panos and Joanna the hosts at Porto Kalyves could not have been more helpful. From taking the booking in January through to our arrival and stay from 5 to 19 June they were super. The apartments are excellent and in a great location for the village centre and the beach in the other direction. Their cafe "Cactus" provides snacks and great local products. We will hopefully be returning next year as we are dedicated to Crete having been just about ver year since the 80's

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Hugh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018

If you're looking for peace and quiet in a well-appointed apartment this is perfect for you. Kalyves is a small working village; it isn't a tourist trap, but a great place to eat, drink and just relax. The beaches are wonderful; the sea's warm and the people are so nice. Our apartment was perfect. It had everything we needed and wanted and the standard of cleanliness was very high with towels and sheets changed regularly and cleaners coming in most days to empty bins and so on. The owners couldn't have been more helpful and they bent over backwards to make our stay comfortable. We took the bus to Chania once or twice and that too was a smooth, seamless experience. This is a place for those seeking seclusion; away from too many children, large parties and nightclubs...it's peaceful, quiet and a true taste of Crete. Magic, just magic!

Room Tip: Opt for a sea-view; the sunrise is wonderful!
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank consumersrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

Nice room/apartment, perfect for a short stay in the area with everything that you need. Very clean and a good location ( although some road noise). The staff were absolutely fantastic, so helpful and friendly with really good suggestions for the area.

Room Tip: First floor with balcony best
Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews