We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Porto Kalyves Hotel Seaside Apartments
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kalyves Beach Hotel(Kalyves)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blazis House(Chania Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
115
11
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
11
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewbed and pillowsstarter packwarm and friendly servicesmall shower stallthe water's edgewashing machinemin walkcar rentalwatching the worldwashing lineevery morningamazing hostsring hobvery pleasant stayexcellent locationself catering
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed in a standard apartment at Porto Kalyves for a week and had a lovely and relaxed holiday. The apartment had more than enough space for the two of us and was well equipped. Two good size balconies, a spacious bedroom with enough cabinets and storage and a good a/c. Small livingroom with a sofabed and a well equipped kitchenette, and a tiny bathroom with a small shower stall. The cleaning was excellent throughout the week, but change of towels and linen only once during our stay. The beds were a bit hard so it was a little hard to sleep, but the linen was really comfortable. Due to the soundproof balcony door, we heard no noise from the road. However, it was not soundproof inside the apartment because the walls between the rooms did not go up to the ceiling, could be a problem for people with different sleep patterns. We loved sitting on the balcony facing the sea, unfortunately there was no awning or other kind of sun shield, so it was impossible to enjoy the seaview during the morning and day. The nearest beach were just across the road and great for taking a swim first thing in the morning. Kalyves is a peaceful village with a friendly and relaxed atmosphere. The village centre was a 5-10 min walk from the apartment, and a good supermarket was right up the road.
We would not hesitate to return to Porto Kalyves, but hope that they will equip the balconies with awnings and maybe get some comfortable top mattresses for the beds.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gimegsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoKalyves, Ιδιοκτήτης at Porto Kalyves Hotel Seaside Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Thank you dear Voss for your nice comment.
Even we are local family business we try our best in order to provide a nice clean and cozy apartment to our clients.
We hope to see you in the future.
The team of Porto Kalyves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

the apartment is perfect: space for 2 adults and 1 child,maybe 2 small children even, with a perfect balcony that offers a nice seaside view every morning and every evening!

the hosts are extremely warm and they are there every second for helping us getting a very pleasant stay.

they are one of the reasons we choosed to extend our holidays one more week in wonderful Crete!

I strongly recommend Porto Khalives!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Elena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoKalyves, Ιδιοκτήτης at Porto Kalyves Hotel Seaside Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Thank you dear Elena for your nice comment.
Even we are local family business we try our best in order to provide a nice clean and cozy apartment to our clients.
We hope to see you in the future.
The team of Porto Kalyves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

From the moment we arrived at the Porto Kalyves Apartments we were extremely well looked after. We were greeted by Panos and Ioanna and shown around our beautiful, well furnished apartment. The bedroom had two single beds, made up as a large double.The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable and the linen changed regularly. The rest of the furniture was of a very good quality, with more than enough storage. The bathroom was very clean and it was lovely to have a well lit bathroom cabinet to store all our toiletries, a welcome change compared to other apts we have stayed in. The shower was of ample size. The kitchen diner was very well equipped with kettle, toaster, two ring hob and full size, under counter fridge with a small freezer box. We had a large sea facing balcony, plus a smaller one off of the bedroom, with a washing line (pegs provided). One of the best features of these apartments were the outside roll down shutters, which acted as black out blinds, ensuring a good nights sleep. We didn't wake up until 10am most mornings! The fantastic sea view, together with the wonderful hosts make the Porto Kalyves the perfect choice to explore Kalyves and the surrounding area. We will definitely be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank delali1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoKalyves, Ιδιοκτήτης at Porto Kalyves Hotel Seaside Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018


Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for your time and your nice comments.
Your feedback is very important for us!
It will be our pleasure to welcoming you again in the future!
The team of Porto Kalyves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

An Idyllic Retreat.
I have been travelling to Crete at the end of May for more years than I can remember, but this was my first time in Kalyves. What a result! The apartment was immaculate - light and airy, with the kitchen diner opening onto a balcony with an uninterrupted sea view over the bay. From my extremely comfortable bedroom, with crisp linen and plump pillows and mattress, I could open the french doors onto the balcony overlooking the hillside; I wish I could have bottled the aromatic smell of oregano, cypress and rosemary. This place is a glorious, peaceful retreat from the bustle of life; it is a sensory experience in every way. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and obliging, and I was given a useful welcome pack, containing tea, coffee, butter, marmalade and french toast . It was a 5 minute walk along the road to the nearest taverna, although I favoured the Pipperia which was about an 8 minute walk, virtually across the road from the supermarket which stocked everything you could possibly need. The Pipperia is a quirky painted farmhouse, owned by a family of organic farmers. I used to do a 'Shirley Valentine', sitting by the water's edge, eating the delicious food and drinking their home produced wine. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: The apartments have a better view than the studios.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank valeriebliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoKalyves, Ιδιοκτήτης at Porto Kalyves Hotel Seaside Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Thank you dear Idyllic for your nice comment.
Even we are local family business we try our best in order to provide a nice clean and cozy apartment to our clients.
We hope to see you in the future.
The team of Porto Kalyves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed for only 5 nights unfortunately at the end of a 3 week road trip around Western Crete. The hosts George and Ioanna, plus housekeeping were the best! We were even presented with a complimentary bottle of wine as we'd mentioned it was our wedding anniversary.

The apartments are situated just outside the village, close to what we considered the best beach - within easy walking distance and also to a couple of great tavernas.

The rooms were spotless, amazing beds and pillows, each room with a balcony overlooking the sea and the bedroom with a balcony overlooking the cliff garden.

We were travelling a lot, and these were by far the best for self catering and location. Easy to explore other destinations from there.

Would highly recommend to anyone wanting clean, comfortable accom at a great price, coupled with friendly, knowledgable hosts :)

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jewel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoKalyves, Ιδιοκτήτης at Porto Kalyves Hotel Seaside Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Thank you dear guest for your nice comment.
Even we are local family business we try our best in order to provide a nice clean and cozy apartment to our clients.
We hope to see you in the future.
The team of Porto Kalyves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews