We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Porto Kalyves Hotel Seaside Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

Very nice hotel with very warm and friendly service. We arrived at 3 am and owner was there for us and took care of that we could go to sleep asap. Room was clean and view to the sea was awesome start for the day. Service was excellent and visit was perfect. Beach was very near, so although there wasn't pool, it wasn't problem. Kalyves is very beautiful, peaceful town.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 105anuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed in a standard apartment at Porto Kalyves for a week and had a lovely and relaxed holiday. The apartment had more than enough space for the two of us and was well equipped. Two good size balconies, a spacious bedroom with enough cabinets and storage and a good a/c. Small livingroom with a sofabed and a well equipped kitchenette, and a tiny bathroom with a small shower stall. The cleaning was excellent throughout the week, but change of towels and linen only once during our stay. The beds were a bit hard so it was a little hard to sleep, but the linen was really comfortable. Due to the soundproof balcony door, we heard no noise from the road. However, it was not soundproof inside the apartment because the walls between the rooms did not go up to the ceiling, could be a problem for people with different sleep patterns. We loved sitting on the balcony facing the sea, unfortunately there was no awning or other kind of sun shield, so it was impossible to enjoy the seaview during the morning and day. The nearest beach were just across the road and great for taking a swim first thing in the morning. Kalyves is a peaceful village with a friendly and relaxed atmosphere. The village centre was a 5-10 min walk from the apartment, and a good supermarket was right up the road.
We would not hesitate to return to Porto Kalyves, but hope that they will equip the balconies with awnings and maybe get some comfortable top mattresses for the beds.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gimegsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

the apartment is perfect: space for 2 adults and 1 child,maybe 2 small children even, with a perfect balcony that offers a nice seaside view every morning and every evening!

the hosts are extremely warm and they are there every second for helping us getting a very pleasant stay.

they are one of the reasons we choosed to extend our holidays one more week in wonderful Crete!

I strongly recommend Porto Khalives!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Elena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

From the moment we arrived at the Porto Kalyves Apartments we were extremely well looked after. We were greeted by Panos and Ioanna and shown around our beautiful, well furnished apartment. The bedroom had two single beds, made up as a large double.The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable and the linen changed regularly. The rest of the furniture was of a very good quality, with more than enough storage. The bathroom was very clean and it was lovely to have a well lit bathroom cabinet to store all our toiletries, a welcome change compared to other apts we have stayed in. The shower was of ample size. The kitchen diner was very well equipped with kettle, toaster, two ring hob and full size, under counter fridge with a small freezer box. We had a large sea facing balcony, plus a smaller one off of the bedroom, with a washing line (pegs provided). One of the best features of these apartments were the outside roll down shutters, which acted as black out blinds, ensuring a good nights sleep. We didn't wake up until 10am most mornings! The fantastic sea view, together with the wonderful hosts make the Porto Kalyves the perfect choice to explore Kalyves and the surrounding area. We will definitely be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank delali1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

An Idyllic Retreat.
I have been travelling to Crete at the end of May for more years than I can remember, but this was my first time in Kalyves. What a result! The apartment was immaculate - light and airy, with the kitchen diner opening onto a balcony with an uninterrupted sea view over the bay. From my extremely comfortable bedroom, with crisp linen and plump pillows and mattress, I could open the french doors onto the balcony overlooking the hillside; I wish I could have bottled the aromatic smell of oregano, cypress and rosemary. This place is a glorious, peaceful retreat from the bustle of life; it is a sensory experience in every way. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and obliging, and I was given a useful welcome pack, containing tea, coffee, butter, marmalade and french toast . It was a 5 minute walk along the road to the nearest taverna, although I favoured the Pipperia which was about an 8 minute walk, virtually across the road from the supermarket which stocked everything you could possibly need. The Pipperia is a quirky painted farmhouse, owned by a family of organic farmers. I used to do a 'Shirley Valentine', sitting by the water's edge, eating the delicious food and drinking their home produced wine. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: The apartments have a better view than the studios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank valeriebliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalyves
1 km away
Kalyves Beach Hotel
Kalyves Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Kalyves
692 reviews
1,4 km away
Sunrise Suites
Sunrise Suites
#3 of 6 in Kalyves
191 reviews
11,7 km away
Royal Sun Hotel
Royal Sun Hotel
#9 of 111 in Chania Town
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0,1 km away
Christi Apartments
Christi Apartments
#4 of 6 in Kalyves
23 reviews
0,2 km away
Dimitra Studios
Dimitra Studios
#2 of 27 in Kalyves
150 reviews
1,3 km away
Kiani Beach Resort Family All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Kalyves Hotel Seaside Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Kalyves Hotel Seaside Apartments

Address: Kalyves, Apokoronas, Crete 730 03, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Kalyves
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Kalyves
Price Range: R1 174 - R2 483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2,5 star — Porto Kalyves Hotel Seaside Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Kalyves Hotel seaside apartments is an eco conscious traditional Cretan group of seaside rental 2unit apartments, absolutely brand-new, that combines the unique Cretan traditional architecture with the modern facilities. The beautiful grounds, the traditional Cretan furniture, the traditional glazed windows, the eco orthobodily mattresses and pillows certified by ISO, will give you dreamy sleep and relaxation in a breathtaking landscape overlooking the endless seductive sea. At a distance of 17km on the west of the city of Chania, 15km far from the airport and 8km far from the Souda port,10m lies the vast sandy beach,50m far from kiosk and 200m far from Super Market. All the rooms have balcony with sea view. There is a fully equipment mini-kitchen, which contains 2 hotplates, a fridge, absorber, kitchen equipment, coffee machine, toaster, boiler, plates, glasses, cutlery and more kitchen and cooking equipment, free wi-fi, satellite TV, air-condition, free parking, pet acceptable.Enjoy the combination of Cretan sandy beaches and Porto Kalyves comfort and it will be like living... Like Gods!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Porto Kalyves Hotel Seaside Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing