We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect beach villa for all the family”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kalyves, Apokoronas, Chania Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Richard B
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect beach villa for all the family”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I would agree with the other positive reviews of this villa and the very friendly welcome and introduction to its facilities by Antonis, the owner was especially nice. We enjoyed chatting to him and finding out about where all the olive oil, wine and raki came from and eating his grapes straight from the vines in the garden.
We were an extended family group ranging from 14 to 82 and this villa provided everything we needed to all have a relaxing and fun week. It's less than 2 minutes from the beach which is quiet and ideal for swimming, ball games and walking along. There are plenty of good tavernas near by and a supermarket a short walk away too.
We thought Chania (25 mins by car) beautiful and well worth a visit.
Our favourite taverna was Provlita; lovely atmosphere and great fresh fish. It's a 20 min walk in the direction of Kalyves along the seafront. You won't be disappointed if you go.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2016
Really thanks for your visit and for your nice review! Hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanieOH
Manchester, UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The perfect villa”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our family loved everything about this villa. It is beautifully designed and decorated and perfectly situated on a lovely clean and quiet beach - much nicer and less busy than the main Kalyves beach.

It was spotlessly clean and tidy and we were made to feel very welcome and well looked after with gifts of local food and drink, including the owner's own olive oil and grapes from the garden.

The very good local supermarket is a short walk away and Kalyves has several excellent tavernas, all of which happily catered to our family of vegetarians and vegans. There are some very nice little shops in Kalyves too.

We flew to Chania and travelled to the villa by taxi. You do not need a car to enjoy a wonderful holiday here.

I really cannot recommend this villa highly enough. Everything about it is perfect and we have already booked to return next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, spacious interior, sylish decor, clean
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2016
Dear Jane, i'm happy that you enjoyed so much the villa and appreciate a lot your nice comment and your kindness.
I will be glad to meet you and your family again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1whosearc...
Excelsior, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful, clean, on the beach, well-stocked refrigerator”
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The owner personally met us when we arrived. Not only did he show us around the property but also presented us with snacks, fruit, and a refrigerator stocked with everything you could imagine, including his own wine, cheeses, milk, eggs, raki, beer, soft drinks, and other staples. The architect-designed (his wife) property features distinctive materials and finishes with comfortable beds and linens. The villa is situated within easy driving distance to many points of interest. Chania is about 1/2 hour away. A good grocery store is about 1-1/2 blocks away. Soon after our arrival a tour guide paid a visit and was invaluable in answering questions about Crete, the customs, attractions, and tips to make our stay memorable. Three or four days after we arrived the owner stopped back to make sure everything was to our liking and to also give us some suggestions about what to see and do. We felt very well taken care of. The only hiccup in our stay was the TV was not working and the owner promised to contact the company responsible for the hook up. However, when you're in paradise TV is not too important. Our most difficult decision was whether to swim in the pool or walk across the yard to swim in the sea.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location to sea, restaurants, cleanliness
Liked least: tile on shower floor was high gloss which made it slippery when wet
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2016
I'm really happy you enjoyed your staying at the villa. Thank you for your review, its really important for us. Hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic house, clean, nothing lacking, truly 30 meters from the beach”
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The house is modern, clean, easy to handle. Every bedroom its own bathroom and good working aircos. Kitchen fully equipped, even some vegs, wine, yoghurt, milk in the fridge, some herbs, coffee, tea in the cupboard. Clean sheets and towels. Private.
Next door is a hotel (Al My) with restaurant that sometimes hosts live bands. This is clearly audible in the villa, but if you join the crowd on the hotel's terrace, you will spend a very enjoyable evening with live music!
Walking distance to the supermarket (closed on Sundays), and restaurants.
Kalyves would be at walking distance too, if it had not been so hot during our stay.
Maybe the only comment I would have: there is no shady place for the car ;-)...
O and no teapot, we used the coffeepot instead. It worked just as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: nearness to the beach, type of the house (modern),
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2016
Thanks a lot Caroline!
Hope to see you soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Er Z
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A perfect vacation house”
Reviewed 4 July 2016 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My experience at CALMA seaside villa was just perfect. The house is beautiful and brand new with everything you need to enjoy your vacations without worrying about a thing. The beds really comfortable, the view beautiful since the sea is just some steps away. The outside space with the pool is relaxing and full of flowers. I enjoyed the architecture of the house, the coziness and modern simplicity. The owner was waiting for us to arrive with a nice welcome basket and explained us all we needed to know for the house and the surroundings. Don't miss the small river, walk distance, pay a visit to Aptera (ancient city) reallly close by car, and of course Chania old town worth more than one visit. Truly recommend this villa!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2016
A nice review from an nice person. Thanks a lot!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing