We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent address in Flores Island !”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa da Sogra

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
Kitchen
Living room
dining room
Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Faja Grande, Flores, Azores

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
patrick d
Madrid, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent address in Flores Island !”
Reviewed 29 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

At the beginning we wanted (4 persons) to book in Casa da Sogra but it was not available for our dates and everything in Faja grande was fully booked. We were desperate.....Fortunately, Nelson, the owner, kindly offered us to stay in a small house he was refurbishing in Ponta de Faja, 800m from Faja Grande
The house is very nice with one bedroom, 2 beds in the livingroom and a sofa, an open kitchen and a bathroom. Everything was well equipped. Nelson thought of all the details so we felt at home. We had a really good time in the house. It is very well located, close to Faja grande, in a small quiet street with nice views. There are a table and chairs in front of the house where it's possible to have a meal. We would like to thank Nelson for having done his best to prepare the house on time for us and for having been so helpful during our stay in Flores Island. He even came to pick us up after a walking trail to avoid us from returning the other way round since we were a little bit short on time We strongly recommend this address and Nelson for he is a serious and reliable person .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2017
Dear Patrick,
Thank you very much for your nice review.
That little house has been remodeled to be my refuge, it is where I hope to get some rest with my family and it was the only possible solution at that time.
We're glad you had a nice time there.
At this moment we have finished the adaptation work in two more apartments on the ground floor of Casa da Sogra and we hope to remodel some more next year.
We hope you can come back, because we will be open arms to welcome you again.

Best regards,
Nelson and family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wijaya_Ra...
Bali, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Don't bother to go there”
Reviewed 14 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

I personally did NOT stay in this private 3 bedroom villa (with one bathroom), just a regular private house, not a hotel. I had booked and Mr. Nelson F, the owner of this private house, deducted 315 Euro from my credit card account.

Unfortunately, due to some backward and medieval practice of the Pope making two (now dead) people "saints" (after pretending having seen the Holy Mother Maria in Fatima), Schengen visa holders were not allowed to enter Portugal during 5 days. I was forced to cancel my booking, but this private house was "unable to change their policies of non-refundability". However, they put it up for rent againfor the period I had paid and kept my money. This was a cancellation far beyond my own will. As human beings, they of course can change their "policy" (after all, they can only rent out their private house to one person at the time)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone V
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best location in the Island”
Reviewed 13 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The location is spectacular, situated in the most beautiful part of the island, overlooking the waterfalls and close to several restaurants and the main hiking trails of the island.
Very comfortable house with all necessary facilities, well equipped and super clean.
The owners are very helpful and are always available to help and provide information.
I highly recommend and will stay here for sure next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and confort
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson F
Faja Grande, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
Google Translation
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Posizione
Liked least: Niente
Travelling group: Compagno/a
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing