We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect peaceful paradise”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Sao Bras de Alportel, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nathan M
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Perfect peaceful paradise”
Reviewed 28 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We spent a wonderful five nights here - would have loved to have stayed for longer. The location of the villa is perfect - feels out of the way and peaceful but in no way isolated as took only half an hour to get here from Faro airport. The pool was a delight (even at the end of October) and the villa itself is in great condition with a fantastic view of the hills, valleys, sun and sky from the wonderful terrace (and from the master bedroom - we watched the sun colour the sky each morning from the bed). There is a beautiful garden with its own patio that was perfect for eating breakfast on. And with the nights getting cold, after a day's sunbathing, the log fire made for a lovely, cosy end to the day. As well as being close to the airport, the villa is in an excellent central position for visiting the tops sights east and west of the location - we popped to Loule in less than half an hour and over to Tavira in a little over that. Silves was fantastic too, as was the nearby Ria Formosa nature reserve.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2017
Thank you so much for writing us such a wonderful review. We’re thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and would happily host you again in the future, should you wish to return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 21 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This is a lovely location in the hills, but still close to the local village of Sao Bras where there are shop, bars and places to eat. We all have an enjoyable our time here, and are planed the next trip.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2017
So happy that you enjoyed your stay and am looking forward to hosting you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarahhayw...
Providenciales
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Peaceful retreat in rural Algarve”
Reviewed 29 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Thank you for allowing us to stay at your villa again Joan. We just love it here, so peaceful. The view is just to die for. The villa remains well maintained and there was nothing else that we could wish for.
The weather was a bit iffy, but the villas location just 30 minutes from the coast allowed us to find better weather and activities.
We hope you will allow us to stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and tranquility
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H
1 review
“Stunning traditional villa with spectacular mountain views ”
Reviewed 26 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Just returned from an amazing week at this beautifully traditional villa. Accommodation has everything you could wish for, is spacious, comfortable and ideal for our family of four.
It's the location and view which makes this villa so special. It is in a rural location yet is only a 5 minute drive to Sao Bras the local market town with lots of restaurants and supermarkets and is only 30 minutes to the coast. The view is an uninterrupted view of the mountains.
Unfortunately, it did rain on a couple of days but the TV, DVD player, wifi and Wii console kept us all entertained.
We'd Iove to return in the future. Thank you for sharing your home with us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of my property and thank you for your kind words. I look forward to welcoming you again should you wish to stay. Kind regards J
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDarkin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great villa in beautiful setting”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have just returned from two weeks at Casa dos Carvalhos and have already pencilled in a return for next year.
From the moment we arrived, we were blown away by the villa and the setting. The property photos do show the view and surroundings but don't really do it justice. It is without exception the most peaceful place we have ever stayed and, at night, the darkest. We've never seen so many stars.
The property is clean and spacious with plenty of outdoor space - a large pool terrace and big pool which our two boys (7 and 8) adored. We also made the most of the barbecue area, cooking up fresh meat and fish which is available very cheaply from Sao Bras, about 10 minutes' drive away. There's also plenty of comfortable outdoor furniture and four sun beds with mattresses.
The property team that we saw (cleaner, pool/garden man and the water delivery guy) were all very polite and accommodating and working to high standards.
The villa itself is fairly remote and a car is essential. Sao Bras has a selection of good restaurants, all of which look pretty plain but serve fantastic food at great prices.
Faro airport is about a half-hour drive away, as are the beaches from Olhão and west to Villamoura. We visited the beach at Vale do Garrão on two separate days and it was easy enough from Sao Bras.
We also had trips to Faro and the old town of Tavira (a real gem) but the star of the holiday was the villa and that pool terrace. We ate all our meals outside and could never tire of that view.
There's no aircon at the villa but we didn't need it, even in August. There was a cool breeze most nights and we only needed the fans (there are many at Casa dos Carvalhos) probably five nights out of 14.
The villa is well equipped and the wi-fi worked well. The TV has a full set of English channels but we hardly watched it. We were lucky enough to have the entire property to ourselves as the adjacent (and smaller) Casa Bolota was empty during our stay. When we return, we may well take some grandparents with us or even pay for exclusive use of the property - it would be well worth it.
A really lovely, welcoming home-from-home with stunning pools and everything you'd need to keep two boys happy for a fortnight. Wonderful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the privacy
Liked least: Can find nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;