We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
155
28
10
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
28
10
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub an amazing place book in advance trouble walking restaurant recommendations min drive honesty bar milfontes estate plug chill wifi facilities nature nova escape portugal
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 199 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2018

Started our trip here and what a great start it was. Remote location provided the ultimate relaxation experience. Small, intimate place. Room was great and the views from the glass balcony even better. No on-site restaurant for anything other than breakfast but that's okay because we found 2 gems in nearby towns only 10 minutes away that provided a true Portugese experience.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

An amazing place for those looking to relax and detach. 12 suites only mean that the number of guests is limited, and there is an emphasis on respecting each other and not upsetting the tranquillity of the surroundings. With miles of unspoiled views, beautiful gardens, two pools and plenty of spaces to chill, it is idilic.

Rooms are spacious and very well appointed, with stylish modern decor based on local traditional architecture. All buildings are renovated and converted (no new construction is allowed in this conservation area). The hotel is only a few years old and the facilities are pretty immaculate.

Breakfast is a self service buffet, hot and cold, and there is complimentary cake served in the common room in the afternoon. There is also a honesty bar, where you serve yourself and write down what you had (this reflects the family run, friendly nature of the Herdade) but no other meals or restaurant. Own refreshments are allowed.

There is a good selection of beaches within 10-30 min drive, and a few towns with amenities. But why would you leave when in paradise?

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank anja997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018

One of the most peaceful hotels in Portugal. Very in love with it and totally recommended for either a family holidays or romatic escape.
All staff is very friendly. We felt like we were in home. Very good.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G6596TLana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

Herdade do Amarelo is a small hotel located...in the middle of nowhere. It is surrounded by nature and is indeed a super relaxing place. The staff was very friendly and the room with its own hot tub, simply amazing. If you like the quiet, this is for you. There is no restaurant in the hotel, only a breakfast hall, but they recommend local restaurants to eat in, which we tried out and we were not disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Adrian5853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018 via mobile

This is a great place to stay to chill out. We had a superior room. Unlike some other room reviews it was near the main area, we had wifi in the room, plenty power sockets, great shower. The room jacuzzi was just big enough for two. One evening was cool and the wood burning stove soon warmed us up. Everything about the room, breakfast, pool area and honesty bar was great. One evening we bought wine, olives cheeses, bread etc and had our own picnic meal - the staff were fine with us using the dining area and plates etc. Sergio was very kind and hospitable he made us feel really at home.
There are some great trips out along the coast nearby and very good restaurant recommendations from Sergio. The hikes waymarked around the estate are worth doing (but the longer ones are a little steep in places) - in May it was not too hot and the masses of wild flowers were wonderful.
We also used the super hot tub in the spa and had a massage -Ana gave the best ever massage, highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MattSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews