We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
You should stop by this place....you will not be disappointed

Came upon this place while driving around the island Owner was born in Greece but grew up in Canada... read more

Reviewed 6 September 2017
KathrynBlake
,
Charlotte, North Carolina
Fabulous

This shop is full of wonderful pieces, all of which are beautiful hand crafter by Galateas, she is... read more

Reviewed 3 November 2015
Kimberley J
via mobile
Read all 14 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Akrotiri
from US$172,60
More Info
from US$57,50
More Info
from US$101,30
More Info
from US$84,39
More Info
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
13
0
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
0
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Our favorite Santorini gifts came from Galatea Pottery. Browse the shop, admire the plants and flowers and chat with the artist. Her work is beautifully unique and reasonably priced. Stop on your way back from the Lighthouse. We found it simply by accident so check the web for directions.

Date of experience: May 2014
5  Thank KlepPing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Loved the pottery here because they are unique keepsakes and only a free pieces get made as compared to the hundreds of stores selling the same designs all over Santorini. We bought a jug and ordered a fruit bowl as well. Highly recommended.

6  Thank twoashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

In Megalohori, on the road to Akrotiri, sits Galatea's pottery studio. Her handmade pottery is unique, beautiful, and makes me smile every time I use it. The colorful Santorini plates and bowls she made for me are constant reminders of good memories and warm friendships made on this island.
Take the time to find her and treat yourself to a one of a kind memory. She has many beautiful pieces for sale in her studio, does custom orders, and ships anywhere!

Date of experience: May 2013
6  Thank muse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I have met Galatea during one of my visits last year and was surprised about the most attractive things and lovely designs she is creating at her place. If you like wonderful colours and unique plates, bowles etc. you have to go there!
(Galatea also creates nice articles, where certain amount of the price goes to SAWA, the local animal welfare association! So your souvenir can be of great help for all poor animals there.)

Date of experience: July 2013
5  Thank MonikaNachtelberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Galatea is inspired by the landscape and nature of Santorini to produce some truly beautiful pottery - a far cry from the touristy "traditional" pottery found elsewhere on the island. She also makes-to-order if you require something more specific. One of the most cherished pieces in our home is a bowl that was specially-made for our wedding, featuring one of her signature patterns along with our names and wedding date. We have since ordered and given as wedding presents to friends another 3 or 4 similar ones, which have always been extremely well-received.

Adding to all of the above the wonderful personality of Galatea herself, a visit to her workshop is a definite must when you find yourself on the way to or from Akrotiri.

Date of experience: August 2013
5  Thank AthGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews