We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful sea view”

Review of Villa Aglaia

Private pool with superb views to Gennadi beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private pool with superb views to Gennadi beach
Villa Aglaia Front entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Private pool with superb views to Gennadi beach
Villa Aglaia
Front entrance
Alfesco dining on the patio before and after a bit of sun.
What more could one want?  Hot sun, fantastic view, cold beer and delicious local baklava.  Mmmmm
Traditional Greek BBQ
Dining table and sea view
Living area
Well equipped kitchen
Master bedroom
Bedroom 2
One of Gennadi's beach restaurants
Glystra Beach
Lindos
Lindos - your transport to the Acropolis awaits!
Stone stairway to the Acropolis at Lindos
St Paul's Bay, Lindos seen from the Acropolis
The wide open beach of Prassonissi.  Aegean Sea and Mediterranean Seas  meet during the winter.
Prassonissi, Mecca for wind and kite surfing.
Prassonissi
Prassonissi
Petaloudes
Rhodes Town
Explore the narrow alleys of the Old Town
Rhodes Old Town
April dawn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Gennadi, Rhodes, Dodecanese, South Aegean

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
JudeGor
Stalybridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful sea view”
Reviewed 27 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed as two couples. Loads of room as the villa had a double en-suite, a further spacious double and even the single room was large and airy with it's own balcony. It was very well equipped and we especially loved the completely shaded outdoor eating area. The pool was so welcome as we experienced temperatures between 30 and 35 degrees which apparently was exceptionally hot for September. We travelled around the island by hiring a car for 4 days but we found the local bus service was excellent. We went to Lindos twice and also to Rhodes town on the local air conditioned bus. Surprisingly they were bang on time and who can argue with under 3 euros for a ride to Lindos with beautiful coastal views. Gennadi itself is a small village but it has everything you need. A very well stocked supermarket, a lovely greengrocer and a bakery. We also loved walking down to the seaside tavernas at night (Antonis was our favourite). If you are looking for traditional Greece, uninterrupted views and peace, this is the villa for you. If you want full English, sports bars, clubs, forget it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Every bedroom had a balcony with a sea view.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2016
Jude - I'm so glad you enjoyed your holiday. We hope you will come again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mandymcgl...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely Villa with beautiful sea views”
Reviewed 15 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Booking Villa Aglaia was simple and stress free, Suzi was marvelous and held the Villa whilst we made travel arrangements and was very good to accommodate our slight change in dates. She sent through a full set of instructions of how to get there and a map of the local village. I felt I knew the place before we set off, and had already decided where we were going to eat from her recommendations. The Villa is beautiful and reminded us of our stay in Santorini a few years ago, although set in a small development of about 9 Villas, a couple of the Villas remain unfinished. I felt though that we were in the Villa with the best location and not really over looked, the sunbathing area was very private and had views of the sea and a welcoming sea breeze. The Villa itself was lovely and well equipped but to be honest we generally just slept there, most of our time was spent outside or exploring Rhodes. The plunge pool was also good, there was enough room for three of us to lounge around.

Gennadi village was lovely, the locals very friendly, especially in our favorite restaurant which was Sergios, Poppy was very welcoming and the food delicious.

Given the chance I would definitely go back.

Thanks Suzi

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2016
Thank you, Mandy! We are delighted that you felt so happy with your stay. We love every minute we are there and the village is always welcoming. Please come back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottumar
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
“Perfect villa for family vacation with a beautiful sea view”
Reviewed 21 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We had a very good time in Villa Aglaia! It is a very nice house, indeed, and a perfect location as well. You can never admire enough the gorgeous sea view from the backyard, which due to its placement on the mountainside works more like a terrace. It is also a perfect place for stargazing for the people from the north. There is not much light pollution around. The terrace is directed to the south, so you can see the part of the sky never available on the latitudes back home. Probably not very important to all the people, but we just loved staring at the Milky Way, shining bright in the cloudless sky, while standing or laying on your back on the low stone wall, separating the backyard from the harsh hillside terrain behind it.
Gennadi village is not a place with a flourishing night life, but everything you need is still available there. The food store, the bakery, a pedestrian walk lined by cafes and couple of restaurants and even a pub offering fast internet connection, playing good music, showing football matches and staying open till very-very late. Also the taverns on the beach are within a walking distance and offer an excellent atmosphere to have dinner and look at the twilight taking over the Mediterranean and then darkness embedding the wavy waters. The way back to the villa, though, is going uphill and requires some effort to cover with your stomach full of “good and the better”, but this is the price you need to pay for having such a magnificent view and refreshing breeze on the hillside - an opportunity to exercise after all!
The landlords, Suzi and Alan, take extra good care of their guests. Thank you very much for that, Suzi and Alan! Everything what was promised was there, worked and was in perfect shape, making our life easy and joyful during our stay. The information provided was precise and easy to understand, starting from the excellent instructions about how to find the way to the villa, which guided us there even though it was dark already when we arrived, to the accurate information provided about how often the pool-man comes to do his pool maintenance tasks – should fulfil even the most demanding wishes for privacy.
Even though the public transportation works, it is a must, I think, to hire a car. It gives you a freedom and flexibility to peek here and there and visit places around whenever you want. The beaches around offer places to sunbathe and sandy sea bathing, for the ones who like it, and rocky seabed for the ones who prefer more active entertainment, like snorkelling, for instance.
The villa fulfilled all our expectations. The only warning – beware of opening the doors on both sides of the house at the same time on windy days. The gusts can be strong and the wind could break the door glass.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Couple of windy days
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2016
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you on another occasion!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pjbrown48...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“The perfect holiday rental”
Reviewed 16 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

The villa is not only a great size, well planned & fitted but in a fantastic location up a small hill with amazing views of the ocean. Then there is the quiet, and I means quiet, peacefulness, the open space, relaxing area and the occasional goat strolling by.
Amenities, fittings, beds......all of a high quality.
The village is amazing, the people friendly and extremely welcoming. Special mention to Mama's kitchen, the food is so good we would return just for it. The owners could not do enough, cooking special dishes for our coeliac daughter so she also experienced traditional Greek food. Then there was Effies Dream, a wifi cafe who the owner again made you feel extremely welcome. This is not to mention the tavernas nearby on the beach.
A choice of great beaches nearby, recommend Glystra beach, try the canteen for lunch.
Can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastic villa in a great location
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2016
We are glad you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W
Exeter
1 review
“A stunning villa with Sun, sea and total comfort, a perfect relaxing break.”
Reviewed 15 July 2013 for a stay in April 2013

I had the pleasure of a weeks stay in Villa Aglaia. First of all what a stunning location with fantastic vistas including to the sea. The peace and quiet was fabulous whilst still being within easy walking distance of Gennadi town itself.
Villa Aglaia has everything you could possibly need for your stay, from cooking utensils to clothes washing, air conditioning throughout, a great plunge pool for cooling off and excellent outdoor eating area with fantastic custom built BBQ included. The lawned area is large enough for positioning your sunbed in order to catch the most rays, and there were 6 of these so no arguments about who gets the best seat in the Greek Sun!
On arrival at Villa Aglaia there is plenty of space for car parking including designated car space right outside your front door. The villa is immaculately kept and in top order and all ready for you to simply switch off and enjoy your stay. It is in a complex of buildings but its own position gives it good separation from the other buildings and superb airy views. All rooms are spacious and the bedroom balconies amazing with their sea views. Dining and lounge areas are great with plenty of space and creature comforts. Eating inside or out is simple to do through the location of the brilliant kitchen.
If you wish to walk into Gennadi town for groceries you can be collecting your fresh bread, fruit & veg etc within 20 minutes from the villa. Most supplies are available at the 2 supermarkets there is also a local pharmacy and bakery. Should you wish to explore the town during the day or in the evening there is plenty of literature and hand picked leaflets in the villa to give you names and directions for great food, local tavernas and bars - a couple of which have free WiFi should you need to catch up with the outside world! Gennadi town is very pleasant with a mixture of ages in architecture and a wonderful laid back community feel to it with young and old always smiling and greeting new faces. If you walk for a few minutes more you are on the pebble beach complete with a further two tavernas. If you decide to go a little further afield and discover more of what Rhodes Island has to offer then there are adequate maps and again choice leaflets to point you in the right direction to get the best from your stay at Villa Aglaia.
The villa in general is very modern with a wonderful Greek feel to it, spacious and very comfortable and literally has everything you would require during your stay including books, games and DVDs should you wish to have an evening in or entertain younger family members.
To conclude - a big thank-you to Alan & Suzi Clayton for a fantastic stay at their Villa Aglaia, in short look at the photographs on their website and what you see is definitely "what you get", Sun, sea, cool breeze and total comfort!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet and the views and need for nothing!
Liked least: Nothing really detracted from my stay.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2016
We are glad you enjoyed yourself. We have since installed WiFi in the villa and the whole village has benefited from the new street lighting.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing