We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning.........”
other travellers have booked this property
Pool with a view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool with a view
Rear of villa at twilight Pool and lake viewed from balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
Pool with a view
Rear of villa at twilight
Pool and lake viewed from balcony
Sunset over pool
Lounge
Pool & sun terrace
Master bedroom
Reflections on the lake
Master bedroom dressing table
Honeymoon greeting
Balcony view
View across balcony
View from master bedroom ensuite
Master bedroom shower
Pool shower
Sunrise- its worth getting up!
Sunterrace plants
Front of villa
Monkeys by the pool
Bedroom two ensuite
Lower garden and jetty
Master bedroom
TV/games room
Lower garden
Kitchen
Veranda seating
Local transport
Dining area
Front steps
Hammock by the pool
Garden swings
Balcony side view
Bedroom 3 ensuite
Right hand side of garden
Sunterrace greenery
Sunset from balcony
Letting off steam!
Front of house
Lower garden in front of the pool
Garden room ensuite
The garden room
Peacock on the gate post
Antique chest
Kingfisher in action
Rear of villa
Side of house viewed from garden
Garden
Koggala beach
Villa from the lake
Bed 2
Bed 3
Bed 3 mirror
Wall Lizard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Koggala, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
X4brummie...
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Stunning.........”
Reviewed 20 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

What can we add to the previous reviews, nothing really they extol this Villa perfectly. We stayed for 14 days and loved every minute of it. Our group ranged from 75 - 18 and it had something for everyone. It combines the best of what you want from a Villa holiday with the hospitality and food from a top hotel.
For those that enjoy tranquility and wildlife it has this in abundance, Monkeys, Mointors, the evening fly pass of the large bats with just the evening sounds of the forest. As avid birdwatchers we notched a 50+ list of species just from the outside dining area whilst supping a cold beer, now that's the way to bird watch!
Trips - we went to Sinharaja which was a gruelling 2.5hr journey to cover 52 km of the bendiest roads ever. Make sure you take travel sickness tablets even if you aren't normally sick. We also travelled to Udawalawae national park another 2.5hr journey but covering 123km of relatively straight roads. Well worth a visit but don't expect a great variety of animals. Lots of birds though.
Trips - speak to Sonali and ask for Prageeth he has aircon vans and can take you anywhere. He was great. Very reasonable. When we left a camera at Sinharaja he was happy to help and his driver went the next day and picked it up (of course we paid the driver, but I wouldn't have done that journey for any amount of money!)
My top tip relates to your suitcases. Only 5 out of 10 arrived in Sri Lanka from Dubai! Apparently this is a common problem especially if you are on a connecting flight within 2hrs of landing in Dubai. 4 of the suitcases turned up later that day at 10.30pm at our villa even though they arrived at Colombo at 13.30. But X1 took 4 days to arrive. Make sure you mix your clothes in your baggage and even carry a change of clothes with you. Make sure you have any essential medical stuff in your hand luggage. Also take pictures of your suitcases in case they are needed to identify them. But if you go as a group be careful as all your baggage may be under X1 name which may not be the name on your luggage tag!!! We were deeply disappointed with Emirates and there seeming lack of follow up service and communication when we needed them.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and food
Liked least: Mosquitos
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary G
Caythorpe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Paradise 'found'”
Reviewed 10 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Wow, lake view villa, the infinity pool, grounds and hospitality certainly exceeded our expectations in everyway!
From the moment we arrived we were absolutely enchanted by this amazing place! The views from each of the four bedrooms over the lake were stunning, the sounds of the birds and monkeys thrilling..... After a week of touring, Lakeview villa was the perfect hideaway for a week of relaxation with friends.
A very big thank you to the wonderful chef Sonali and her husband Lasthanta for providing such beautiful food.... Curry to die for!
We really didn't wish to leave and look forward to returning with our children and grandchildren.
Thank you Ken and Lesley.... Superb! xx

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The villa was amazing, so comfortable and spacious.... Fab pool and views
Liked least: I loved everything.... Superb!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Tranquility, friendliness and food
Liked least: Wifi and quality of film reproduction.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Jan 2016
Thank you for the lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed the villa so much and know that Sonali & Lasantha enjoyed hosting you as well. With regard to the sound & vision in the media room, we know that it's not great. We wanted somewhere that the whole group could get together to watch a movie, but the range of options was limited at the time. The current soundbar is an upgrade from our previous surround system, but we are now considering getting a big screen TV (which wasn't an affordable option until recently).
The wifi is 4G and the best available in Sri Lanka. Unfortunately, there are times when the signal is disrupted by atmospheric conditions, especially late afternoon/ early evening and I am afraid there is little we can do about that.
We hope that these issues did not spoil your enjoyment of the villa and we hope to see you again another time.
All the best
Lesley & Ken
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 13 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool and view
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
james p
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Such a memorable stay”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in August 2014

Firstly I need to apologise to Ken as this review should have been done months ago.... I lost my trip advisor log in details.

We stayed for our Honeymoon back in August.... it seems like yesterday that we arrived at Lakeview and we really do miss it. Everything was a surprise to my new wife (she did not know what country we were going to let alone where we were staying)

I had short listed a number of properties throughout southern Sri Lanka however LakeView won very quickly...... my impressively Ken was quick to reply to my emails and was keen to make sure he answered my questions. I had never been to Sri Lanka before and Ken reassured me with a couple of concerns (the weather forecast always seemed to show the same thing..... Ken was great and said it was best to ignore the bbc website for the weather forecast... he confirmed August is a great time to visit

On arrival we were so impressed.... we were collected from Columbo airport by the recomended Taxi / tour guide (Prageet).... The Journey takes between 2 to 3 hours to reach Lakeview so it was an opportunity to catch up on some sleep from the flight.

On arrival we were not disappointed. The welcome was so friendly and the property is exceptional..... the view from the front door over looking the lake is fantastic. Ken and his wife took time to show us around.... and answered any questions.

Sonali looked after us during the stay...... we cannot thank her, and her husband enough for making our honeymoon so memorable. The food that Sonali prepared was excellent....... the spicey local fish curry is still stuck in my memory as it was truelly wonderful (Sonali... please write a book for your Sri Lankan dishes ! )

During our stay we visited a number of different places (Galle, wildlife parks, beaches) - my suggestion is..... go and explore....... but also take time to enjoy relaxing mornings by the infinity pool

The biggest compliment I can give is to return in the future and we will certainly return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Sri Lanca Curry which Sonali cooked
Liked least: Having to Leave !
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing