We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful location to relax”
other travellers have booked this property
SITTING ROOM WITH PERIOD FIRE PLACE
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
SITTING ROOM WITH PERIOD FIRE PLACE
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
SITTING ROOM WITH PERIOD FIRE PLACE
TWIN LEATHER SOFAS
LARGE KITCHEN:/DINER BUIT IN WASHER:DRYER, DISH WASHER
ENJOY A CAKE AND A CUP OF TEA
KITCHEN/DINER WITH TRAVERTINE FLOORING
MASTER BEDROOM WITH KING SIZE BED
MASTER BEDROOM
TWIN BEDROOM WITH VIEWS ACROSS THE GARDEN AND RIVER
BATHROOM WITH TRADITIONAL ROLL TOP BATH, SEPERATE SHOWER CUBICLE AND OAK FLOOR
ENJOY BREAKFAST IN THE WALLED COURTYARD
LAWNED GARDEN
GARDEN  LEADING TO THE SUMMER HOUSE
OUTSIDE THE SUMMER HOUSE  ON THE DECKING. JUST ONE AREA TO DINE OUTSIDE
RELAX EVEN ON A COOL MORNING WITHIN THE SUMMER HOUSE
BALCONY OVERLOOKING THE RIVER ESK
VIEW OF THE RIVER ESK  FROM THE BALCONY.  ENJOY THE WILD LIFE THAT FREQUENTS THE RIVER BANK
TRY YOUR HAND AT A SPOT OF FISHING
VIEW OF THE BACK GARDEN
VIEW DOWN THE GARDEN WIH PARKING AREA
Front garden
THE FRONT OF RIVER BANK COTTAGE
Front door
SALMON JUMPING THE WEIR AT SLEIGHTS
WHITBY HARBOUR FROM THE 199 STEPS
WHITBY ABBEY AT SUNSET
WHITBY ABBEY FROM THE WHALE BONES
VIEW ACROSS WHITBY
WHITBY VIA DUCT
WEST PIER EXTENSION
BEACH CHALETS
WHITBY EAST PIER
VIEW TOWARDS SANDSEND
ROWINGON THE RIVER AT RUSWARP
ENJOY A WALK OR DRIVE TO FALLING FOSS
THE OLD RAILWAY TRACK TOWARDS RAVENSCAR
STAITHES
ROSEBERRY TOPPING
A LONG THE CLEVELAND WAY
VIEW TOWARDS FILEY PART OF THE CLEVELAND WAY
VIEW TOWARS SCARBOURGH
SALTBURN
LOOKING TOWARDS RUNSWICK BAY
Robin hoods bay
Flying hall walk
Sandsend beach
Woods
Ravenscar
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sleights, Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cliff_Lyn...
UK
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Wonderful location to relax”
Reviewed 9 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We recently spent a week at River Bank Cottage, and enjoyed every minute. There is little to be said about the property that has not been said many times, so I won’t repeat the praises, but simply add a couple of points.
Tracy leaves a welcoming hamper of goodies to start you off. Apart from some ‘luxuries’, this also includes bread, milk, tea, coffee, sugar, etc., so there is no need to bring these with you. As it was our wedding anniversary whilst we were there, Tracy also left us a card and a bunch of roses, which was a nice touch.
Some reviews claim that the Wi-Fi was poor. We found it perfectly adequate to stream TV on 2 separate IPads at the same time with no problems.
The North York Moors Railway runs nearby with steam trains. If you want to photograph these, walk to Sleights station, 2 minutes from the cottage. Sleights also has a Spar shop, baker, butcher, chip shop and pub.
We did not see the otter or kingfisher, probably because the river was very murky following heavy rain, but the seating area down by the river was very pleasant.
A thoroughly enjoyable week, which I would certainly repeat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2018
Thank you for taking the time to review our cottage. It really is appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
puntoman
grantham
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“A perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 30 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

This was our second visit in 2018 and have already booked to go again in June. Everything about Riverbank Cottage is just perfect a beautiful place to stay, lovely garden with a summerhouse over looking the river, added bonus is the off road parking. You will not find a Cottage any better.
Well done Tracy and Robert

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our cottage.
It is lovely to see you again and for your kindness
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
159lily35...
Spalding, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage and perfect location for Whitby and the North Yorks Moors”
Reviewed 15 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

The location of the cottage was perfect. Very quiet and peaceful just what we needed for a relaxing week. To sit on the decking by the river and listen to the birds singing was heaven. Tracy met us at the cottage and we received a warm welcome. The cottage is very clean and comfortable and we couldn't have asked for more. A lovely well equipped kitchen and a very comfortable lounge for relaxing at the end of the day. Tracy also left us an amazing hamper including a bottle of good Red wine. We have stayed in many cottages around England but this one has exceeded our expectations. So many places nearby to explore . We have booked another weeks stay in August . Thank you Tracy and Robert for making our stay so perfect.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2018
Thank you for your kind comments.
we are glad you had a relaxing time. We wish we could book the sunshine so here is hoping your stay in August will be sunny and warm.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerbieLon...
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful Christmas treat”
Reviewed 3 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

This cottage really is a gem and Tracy went all out to make the cottage feel Christmassy and homely. There were decorations and a tree put up as well as Christmas presents for us, a beautiful hamper and cakes from the local bakery. The house is immaculate and done to a very high spec with everything covered from bins in every room to good quality towels and linen and every appliance you need in the kitchen. Its in a very quiet location and has good access for walks to Whitby via Ruswarp. Its a stones throw away from the station so very good links and the river at the bottom of the garden is stunning even in the height of winter. Our family who live nearby were hosting Christmas and it was a real wrench to pull ourselves away from this beautiful place. We will hopefully return for the next big family gathering. Thank you Tracy.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2018
we are so glad you all had a wonderful christmas together.
It was a peasure to meet you both.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heavenlyh...
Ashwell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Such a lovely cosy house”
Reviewed 20 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017

My partner booked River Bank Cottage as a surprise so until we arrived I didn't know where we were staying. Tracy met us there to let us in and to explain a few things and was lovely and friendly. The house is gorgeous and spotlessly clean, lots of nice touches and probably the nicest place I have ever stayed in. The hamper left in the kitchen had lots of useful products and there were even cakes on a tea tray from the local bakery. We loved Whitby which we drove in to and also took the bus one day, very easy. We would love to return at a warmer time of year to appreciate the summer house and the river at the end of the garden. Thank you for such a lovely few days!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Dec 2017
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are so glad you enjoyed your surprise. It was a pleasure to meet you both.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing