We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place to relax and unwind”
other travellers have booked this property
private swimming pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
private swimming pool
private swimming pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
private swimming pool
private swimming pool
private swimming pool
private swimming pool
Kitchen
Kitchen
kitchen
kitchen
Living room
Living room
kitchen
living room
living room
living room
terrace
terrace
terrace
sofa bed second floor
sofa bed second floor
3rd floor - Main bedroom
3rd floor - Main bedroom
3rd floor - Main bedroom
3rd floor - Main bedroom
2nd floor- bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Maroulas, Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Shawrie9
Warwickshire England
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect place to relax and unwind”
Reviewed 10 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This was a great place for my husband I to relax in the sun, far enough away from the local towns to give us some peace and quiet but close enough to pop down to the beach or shops (10 min drive) when we needed to stock up on supplies. Centrally located in a sleepy village where nothing much happened, but with a choice of 4 tavernas on hand we could stroll out to eat in the evening. The house is beautifully restored, spotlessly clean and tastefully furnished. There was loads of space for the 2 of us with a choice of 4 eating areas (2 inside and 2 outside). Pool area was spacious and totally private. We were greeted by the best welcome pack ever including wine, chocolate, water, loads of fresh fruit, honey and even Twinings tea! A perfect welcome to a perfect holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Authentic and rustic but with all mod cons. Private pool.
Liked least: The balcony overlooked the neighbour's pool
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2016
Thanks so much for your lovely comment. I'm glad that you like Zamaros traditional villa . I wish you the best and i hope to see you soon.
My best
Nektarios
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolores G
Wenzhou, China
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Regenerating experience”
Reviewed 5 February 2015 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My friend and I stayed at Nektarios' villa in October 2014, and we still comment to each other how much we enjoyed the whole experience. The attention to detail made us feel welcome, such as the wine and the ribbons on the towels. Interestingly, the villa has the combination of both a traditional setting with updated decor. Also, if you're a photo buff, the village is very picturesque. Nearby is a mini market where you can get fresh local made yogurt and feta cheese if you like to make your own Greek salads. Although there are many places to see on Crete, you should schedule at least a few full days in Maroulas. There's a bakery in the nearby town where you can buy bus tickets and many places to book tours. We rented a car, so it was easy for us to visit the area's monasteries, etc. Nektarios gave us a rental recommendation and suggested Chania for arrival. If you drive from the Chania airport to the villa, when you come to the fork in the road on the highway before Chania, head left toward Chania. After Chania, you'll start to see signs for Rhytimon which you follow.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor and setting
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
getoutoft...
Qatar
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Authentic WArm Ambience”
Reviewed 30 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

IT was very nice to come on our first day to discover wine and chocolates (my two favorite food groups) on the kitchen table. Nektarios has put a lot of thought into creating a cozy home for his guests. He takes national pride in creating authentic ambience yet incorporates many elements of sophisticated, eclectic decor. We kept discovering all the small delights each day; the dust free rose vases, the ribbon wrapped towels, floral arrangement colors and beautiful rug hanging in the loft. We loved coming home each night to make our Greek salad and in the morning breakfast on the rooftop patio.
Peaceful setting in a traditional village. We were blessed to be in a village with few tourists; we encountered a few each day on day trips. Exploring the village, meeting the locals was so special. Our one regret is not scheduling a full day at home. It really felt like our own cozy home that we came home to every evening.
Say hello to Marianna, owner of the herbal shop, by the square. She made our village experience a warm and hospitable time. The villa is conveniently located a 15 minute walk to this inexpensive awesome grocery store (softest freshest feta cheese!) and 3 kms to Platerius (best bakery by the parking lot as you enter town on your right).
We want to return to this delightful sanctuary soon!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing