We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another wonderful week”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Maroulas, Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Vincent v...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another wonderful week”
Reviewed 12 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Just like last year we stayed a week a Villa Iris with our family of four with kids aged 9 en 11. Large clean house in good condition. Fantastic view from the hill. The large garden around the house with multiple terraces, grass pitches and a pool is great cause there is always sun or shade somewhere and it allows everybody to do their favorite thing without bumping into each other. Wonderful reception by our host Dora. Nice quiet countryside atmosphere and only a couple minutes drive from good restaurants, shops and beach. What more can you wish for?

Travelling group: Kleine kinderen
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent v...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Super!”
Reviewed 13 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Really enjoyed our stay in this beautiful villa! Especially the space around the house. With the large garden and multiple terraces around the house there is always a place with sun/shade/breeze as you please.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RandomTra...
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa and views”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We've just returned from a wonderful week in Villa Iris, and can honestly say that it is nicest of the many villas we have hired over many years and in many countries. It was spotless, spacious and thoughtfully equipped, with quiet and efficient aircon in all bedrooms and the large lounge. Outside there is a lovely pool, and a large built-in barbecue with stone table and benches under a shady cover. The view down to the sea is breathtaking. Dora, the owner, did her best to make our stay comfortable, and provided a few things for our first breakfast, as we arrived very late at night. We didn't visit as many places in Crete as we had planned, simply because it was so nice and relaxing at the villa. All in all a lovely place to stay!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marios k
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great property at a beautiful location”
Reviewed 25 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
3
people found this review helpful

There is a lot to love about this house, starting with the fact that it is decorated like a home and not a rental. That is because it had been a second home for this family until we arrived as their very first renters. There are a lot of personal decorative touches and a full library of books, mostly in Greek.

Every room has a window and balcony and its own AC unit. If you want to close the excellent and practically sound proof windows, each person can control their own environment. There were four of us and we liked the fact that the property has a lot of space for each person to find a quiet corner to read or just relax. My personal favorite, sitting on the front terrace and staring at the open expanse and into the sea. Unbeatable view.

The house is perched up on the side of a mountain and while you are driving there it seems that you are getting away from everything but once you step out on the front terrace and look at the view you realize how magical this location is. In fact, from the house to the coast it takes less than 10 minutes by car and in 15 you are in the town of Rethymno. So for us, this house gave us access to the main highway and seclusion at the same time.

The house has a shallow pool, great for children and to cool off on days away from the beach. There is also a beautiful garden and built-in BBQ grill. It is well equipped throughout, includes wifi and a washing machine. A dish washer would be a good addition some day, but for us it worked out regardless.

Finally, Dora was very helpful, ready to provide anything that was needed and supplied the house with the local specialties, olive oil and raki.

We had a fantastic time there and would easily return some day in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved the views, the garden, and location.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne V
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
Google Translation

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$117
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing