We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 903)
Filter reviews
1 903 results
Traveller rating
906
667
211
75
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
906
667
211
75
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jardin tecina club laurel golf course main restaurant sea view the cliff la gomera half board buffet restaurant superior room main pool banana plantation a la carte evening entertainment fred olsen lovely hotel los cristianos
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 1 903 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

We had the best holiday here. A really lovely quiet, chilled hotel with super swimming pools for the children and the most amazing animation team. The animation team went above and beyond for our children, who didn’t even go to their groups in the daytime but did love the evening club and the entertainment they provided pool side and in the evening. They had fun pool side games and looked after us really well-always smiling, friendly and keen to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. We don’t usually return to the same place twice but this was such a relaxing holiday with super food and wonderful facilities that we would return. I would recommend the hotel for a family looking for a chilled holiday with sports, excellent entertainment, quality food and plenty to see and do in and around La Gomera. We loved it. This is not the place to go if you want an all singing all dancing all inclusive type hotel. Thank you, especially the animation team who were wonderful :-)

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank southeastfamily2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JardinTecina, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Jardin Tecina, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Dear guest

We are absolutely thrilled that you and your family enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us, from the swimming pools, evening club, entertainment, food, facilities and everything in between! Thank you for your wonderful feedback and for the time you took to share it on Tripadvisor, our guest's feedback means a lot to us.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018

Average 4 star canarian standard.
Portraits itself to have an Eco commitment but their so-called "holistic eco garden" didn't look like that with dead papaya trees and vegetables on the ground :( Furthermore their non-tasting veggies in the restaurant did not seem to be organic nor were they tasty.

-No ingredients listed in the restaurant (i.e containing eggs and dairy)

-Noisy staff on vehicles shouting with walkies until midnight on the small roads next to the rooms.

-I had paid for half-board but the reception charged me for the dinners when I was leaving. The receptionist didn't even seem to believe me when I showed him my reservation and he said an angry goodbye.
Some of the hotels employees really need a course in "dos and don't" towards their clients.

-Mosquitoes at nights but maybe that's something special for La Gomera.
It's not a problem on other Canarian islands.

- Walking road along the seaside is closed for visitors/guests.

All in all the hotel needs a lot improvement to live up to what it portraits itself to be. (A green quiet paradise...)

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank drmichaels128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JardinTecina, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Jardin Tecina, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for your message. We are afraid that maybe you visited a different area, instead of our Eco Finca Tecina, because the access was closed due to the refurbishment works in process during the last 2 months in our Club Laurel. Please, kindly note that in the adjoined areas are different plots that belongs to the neighborhood and not to the Eco Finca. We will be happy if you join our guided walk to the Eco Finca in your next visit, and enjoy the experience.
In all our restaurants are showed the different allergens contained in the dishes we offer. In the Buffet, in the labels with the dishes description, and in the menus with the allergens list and their identification.
The walk along the coast was closed due to security reasons, because the works are not finished, and for us, the safety of our guests must be always the priority. We will be very happy to open the access to the walk next week, when it is ready.

We hope that you can visit us in the future and enjoy a nice and relaxing stay in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

We were not residents of the hotel but booked the tasting menu in the Gara Restaurant for a Saturday evening. The reception staff were not very friendly or helpful which was not the perfect start. The service was okay in the restaurant itself but the food was disappointing. Uninspiring dishes, over-cooked tuna, over-cooked meat. The best course were two tempura prawns. All a bit pretentious and didn't meet expectations. We would not recommend and will not be returning.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5  Thank 51JulieS51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JardinTecina, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Jardin Tecina, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Dear Julie,

Thank you for your message. We are really sorry that the experience has not meet your expectations. We will take note of the remarked points in order to improve the quality of our services, and hope that you can visit us again in the future and be witness of this improvements.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

Recently visited the hotel complex, decided to go al acart with Tui as to get to Gomera you need to take taxis and ferry, so if there are any delays Tui will sort it out. All taxi transfers were easy and comfortable and well organised. The hotel is a large comfortable complex with two storey apartments. A little bit tired but not bad. Check in is not easy especially if you arrive at the same time as a coach party from Germany, they seem to be the dominant nationality in the hotel. If on half board, the main restaurant provides a good range of food, but lacks atmosphere and is overlit and crowded when first open, but is quieter later. There are a number of speciality restaurants smaller and with a more intimate atmosphere, but you have to pay a supplement. Plenty of activities and entertainment in the evening. But you don't have to participate. A reasonable break for the money and the island has not been spoilt with over development like the rest of the Canary Isles.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Roger A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JardinTecina, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Jardin Tecina, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear guest


Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your experience with others on Tripadvisor. We are happy to know you liked our hotel and the food provided in our main restaurant.

Once again thank you for choosing Hotel Jardin Tecina and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, so you can have a pleasant break from the daily routine.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

We first visited the hotel in October/November 2016 and commented afterwards "As close to paradise as one is likely to get". We've just back from a 2-week stay there from 5th to 19th June, again on half-board basis. Our opinion has not changed.

Superb view from the room balcony, fabulous watching the sun rising over Mount Teide on Tenerife.

We'd been looking forward to hearing the resident pianist Anne-Tina in the evenings but she was on holiday - our fault, we should have checked beforehand. However it meant we went to the evening show in the downstairs bar. With shows ranging from Grease to The Lion King, evenings of Back to the 80s, Michael Jackson, Broadway Hit shows, they were just amazing; the animation team from the Klan were incredible. Brilliant dancing, great people to chat to.

We must also mention the Wellness/Fitness people who provided super fitness training, personal training session, Yoga, etc. The hotel gym had been re-equipped since our last visit with equipment just like our gym in the UK, so readily familiar. Even at our age - we're a retired couple in our 70s - we still work out regularly.

Talking of new things, the lounge area had also been refitted and re-furnished since our last visit. Very nice.

There had been a stepped amphitheatre just below the main pool area. This has now been reconstructed as a spa with water-jet equipped pool, sauna, steam rooms, and massage facilities. It was an extra but, for us, well worth it. We were perhaps lucky as we had the spa to ourselves for the whole day.

As before we hired a car for 5 days and drove extensively around the island. The majestic views never cease to amaze us, really does have that "wow!" factor. The road from San Sebastian to the hotel is fabulous both to drive and to be driven. It was interesting to see that both the petrol stations we used were attended service, not seen that for a long time in the UK.

We used the Restaurant Principal for breakfast and dinner. Good food, nicely cooked, cheerful and helpful staff. Glad to see they continue to have a proper dress code for dinner. The Club Laurel area was all closed as it's having a major refurbishment. Be interesting to see that when it's completed later this year.

We walked down to Playa Santiago several times, and walked back up. Half of the promenade road was closed for major road works - new underground services, etc. - so the noise could be a bit of a nuisance if wanting lunch at one of the restaurants there. But that's only a temporary issue.

Would we go back?

You bet. We're already planning to return next year when it's our Golden Wedding anniversary. Hope we can the same accommodation.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JardinTecina, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Jardin Tecina, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear guest

We are thrilled to receive such a nice feedback, first of all, thank you for having taken the time to share your experience with other travellers. We are most delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and all our services and facilities have left you with a favourable impression. Thank you for your awesome review and for the compliments to our animation team. We will forward your comments as it is a great motivating force for us to keep providing our guests with the best service.
We were also happy to know that you enjoyed driving around the island and discovering the wonders that La Gomera has to offer.

Onge again thank you very much for choosing Hotel Jardin Tecina and we are eagerly looking forward to your next visit.

Note: Please for your next booking, contact our public relation office, so they can arrange something special for your Golden wedding anniversary

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews