We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 848)
Filter reviews
1 848 results
Traveller rating
887
643
204
71
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
887
643
204
71
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jardin tecina club laurel golf course sea view the cliff main restaurant la gomera half board buffet restaurant superior room banana plantation main pool a la carte fred olsen evening entertainment lovely hotel los cristianos
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 1 848 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

I have spent a very good 5 days holiday, the hotel is a paradise, the rooms are all with outdoor entry in a tropical garden, where it seems to be in a village where stress is lived out, but there is nothing for adults to do after dinner, is quite boring at night, only children activities. Children here are more welcomed than us. Rooms are comfortable, bath room large. The self service dinner is not so good as I like, here German are the majority and the food is at their taste , I'm Italian. Good but not for more than 3/4 nights.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JardinTecina, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Jardin Tecina, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Dear Cristina,
Thank you for your evaluation and your comments regarding adult entertainment. There is program every evening from 9pm for adults with an information board advising of the up and coming events at the entrance of the main restaurant. It is unfortunate that you did not see it and missed out on some lively entertainment. We will try to improve the visibility of the information board.
Regarding our buffet menus; every evening we provide a different topic for the basis of our menu. Ie.,one evening Canarian, Mexican, Mediterenian etc.. so that we can vary our tastes as much as possible to suit all of our clientele. However, we will look into your query as we thrive to improve where possible.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

This review is somewhat late but, nevertheless, deserved. We revisited the Hotel Jardin Tecina this January and once again thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is in a wonderful location, on the cliffs, above the small fishing village of Playa Santiago. Superior rooms have outstanding views of the sea and, in some cases, the village below.
The staff are, in the main, very welcoming and the waiting staff on the restaurant balcony are particularly helpful and friendly. A special mention for Anne Tina, the hotel's resident pianist, whose playing is outstanding; she is a great ambassador for the hotel, graciously welcoming new and returning visitor alike.
The food, on the whole, is of a high standard. At times, the main restaurant can be very busy, as can the terrace during breakfast, but avoiding peak periods can overcome this problem. The tapas restaurant deserves a special mention; the food is wonderful and the service excellent.
The island itself is a delight for walkers, so many varied and wonderful walks.
We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: It is worth, if possible, paying for a superior room
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kathryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JardinTecina, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Jardin Tecina, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Dear guest

We are extremely delighted to read your praising notes about many aspects of our hotel. Your feedback is highly appreciated and will help us to improve, as our main goal is to provide our guests with an impeccable service, in order to create incredible memories whilst your stay with us.
Once again thank you for choosing Hotel Jardin Tecina & Tecina Golf
We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018 via mobile

For the most part a very good hit with just a few niggles.

Staff are excellent. My wife left her iPhone in the taxi that brought us by 45.minute taxi ride from the port of San Sebastian. Reception lept straight into action and contacted taxi company. We had a call later to say the taxi firm had the phone but would not return it to the following day. At 9.40pm after dinner had another call to say they had it and they then delivered it to our room some 10 minutes later by porter. Lost for 6 hours in total. Thank you. All other staff we encountered were happy to say Halo. Many had some English but they appreciated done Spanish from guests.

Room 375 is a 2nd story room at front but accessed at back on ground level due to floor of ground. A great unobstructed Sea View apart from 2 trees. Great air conditioning, mini bar, massive canary style double bed. Small bathroom with WC, sink, over bath shower and bidet. This room is opposite a linen store for maids so as often women between 8am and 8.30am by their chatting.

Grounds are lovely with lovely gardens, shrubs, palm trees and grass area. Set on sloping hill down towards s cliff there are many steps and steel slopes. Be aware.

Breakfast was served in one of 2 restaurants. It appeared the lower large one was used when busy and the upper outside restaurant on week days when less busy.

There is a pool bar serving snacks. We ended up having an ice cream Sundae each day at 5om with s cold drink.

Evening meals were buffet style in larger lower restaurant with outside balcony. There were 2 other restaurants we did not try.

Food quality for all meals was very good. The choice was s little limited. The restaurants were very busy and it seemed a bit of scrum free for all at times.

There is supposedly a dress policy for evening meals but this was not enforced uniformly.

Drinks are waiter served at your table for all seated meals. Coffee served at breakfast was nice and string.

2 bars for after dinner breaks. One outside that attracted all the smokers. A second bar inside near reception was much quieter. Waitress service. Good mock tails, coffee and hot chocolate.

There is evening entertainment in main bar but we did not sample it. In the lobby bar there is a good piano player most nights and Spanish guitar player 2 night per week.

A spa pool.that no one used due to 20 euro entrance fee looked lovely. Make this adults only and would be great.

1 large main pool.in 3 sections. Swim up bar and outside jacuzzi. Cold. Got very noisy at times with pool activities around lunchtime.

There was a lack of shade around the pool. However, there were plenty of dun beds at all times.

We travelled with TUi and there was no sign of a rep throughout our 10 days.

We had a 6sm departure for the 7.30am ferry back to Tenerife. Bags were picked up by porter at 10pm the evening before and ready at reception for our taxi ride.

So many stars. Dark skies so brilliant views.

Hotel us isolated so not many excursions other than hiking.

WiFi is good in lobby bar but spotty in bedroom. Good phone reception though.

A lovely hotel with 10 days of great weather in mid May.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JardinTecina, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Jardin Tecina, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to share in detail your experience with the TripAdvisor community.
We truly appreciate your praising words regarding the room, garden, entertainment and the service provided by our team.
We are happy to know that the incident with the mobile phone was satisfactorily resolved.
We wish you all the very best and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to in the near future.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018

After a troubled start to the holiday, the hotel/ TUI, quickly helped sort the problem. A request for a high room resulted in a disabled room which had nowhere to hang my dresses and a bathroom which left a lot to be desired! Our room was replaced but on the ground floor so not as private but much more comfortable and with a part sea view.

Not a great start to what should be a birthday treat and I did cry when I couldn’t hang up my dresses but within 24 hours we had our new room. A surprise bottle of wine was waiting in our room on my birthday which was a lovely touch.

The pools at the Jardin are beautiful, well maintained and heated in April. Despite the clouds during the first two days of our holiday we still swam. The tours of the hotel are interesting and the guide is so knowledgeable with a great sense of humour which made the tour.

The food, we were half board, was well cooked and always plenty of choice. As a vegetarian who only eats hot food was well catered for along with a salad meat eating partner who was more than happy with the choices. The most beautiful outdoor dining balcony with amazing views of the ocean was a huge pleasure every breakfast and evening. I would come back just for this.

We enjoyed playing table tennis most days and a walk to the village where a coffee is less than a Euro!! We reluctantly hired a car for a day and explored the most amazing island. We saw little traffic or people but lots of trees and flowers which you do not see from the coast on a ferry trip. If there had been more time we would have hired a car again as it was safe and quiet and explored more of the National Park.

We do not do hotel entertainment but enjoyed the piano recitals occasionally in the bar. There are plenty of places in this hotel to escape, day or night, to find a quiet time, be it in the restaurants or round the pools.

What an amazing island and the Jardin is a lovely hotel in the most beautiful setting.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are closer to the sea.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Wallaces4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JardinTecina, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Jardin Tecina, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Dear guest

We are thrilled to know how much you enjoyed your stay; especially our facilities and food provided.
We are also happy to know that the incident with the room was solved on time and that did not stop you from enjoying your holidays. Thank you once more for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers, we couldn't agree more that it is worth renting a car to discover the charms that the island of La Gomera has to offer.
We hope you come back soon, we would be delighted to welcome you back.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018

This hotel has fast become the go to place for me for golf and a good quality hotel.
My last review was when the place had caught fire and there were many issues surrounding that for both holiday makers and the hotel staff.

However I was very pleased this year when I arrived and found a very nice well presented hotel again, the improved reception was absolutely lovely and the staff again making everyone feel special.

I had a fabulous room with a sea view which, as I was on my own was really lovely. To sit on the balcony and watch the sun go down was outstanding.

Food, I thought, was of a much higher standard than the other two visits....not only a good selection for meat eaters but also vegetarians and even a table for vegans, very very good. I cannot comment on being busy as I was in there for breakfast at around 7am!
One thing which I did find both very disturbing and extremely rude were some of the guests. One morning I was asked not to sit by the walls as they had not prepared the tables yet, very polite, very reasonable request. However as I ate my breakfast people arrived and were asked politely the same thing and my god you'd think the sun had blown up!!! the whinging and moaning was incredulous then one couple actually ignored the waitress all together and just sat down! All this caused the waitress much stress and was just incredibly unnecessary. I did talk to the restaurant manager and suggested they get a sign made up although i am not sure he fully understood me!!!!

On to a much lighter note, the golf course was in excellent condition as previously, excellent challenging course but not too challenging, the staff in the clubhouse were impeccable in their service and efficiency, very very helpful.

My last words go, as before, to the delightfully talented and amazing pianist Anne-Tina.
This lady plays like an angel, takes time to get her know her audience and if you talk to people you will find there are many that go back there to listen to her play.
She makes each person or couple feel special and plays their favourite tunes for them.
Definitely a major draw for the hotel.

so....Nice weather, nice people, good service, lovely hotel, excellent golf course and facilities and of course the sublime Anne-Tina, for me you can ask for no more!
Go give it a try.

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for a superior room well worth the money
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank terryandjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JardinTecina, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Jardin Tecina, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Dear guest

We are extremely happy to know you had a fabulous stay with us and very grateful for the kind comments you wrote about our hotel. We appreciated your kind remarks regarding our reception area, food, golf course, and service.
It also fills us with joy to know our staff made your holiday a memorable one, we are grateful for your kind words and for taking the time to recognize the effort of our team. Please be assured they will be thrilled to hear your feedback.
Thank you very much for your helpful comments regarding our breakfast it will help us to continually improve our service.

Once again thank you for choosing us and for recommending to other travellers.

We will be delighted to have you as guests again, so we hope you plan another visit to Hotel Jardin Tecina.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews