We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic house in beautiful location”
Set in large south-facing and established garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Set in large south-facing and established garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
72 reviews
Set in large south-facing and established garden
Front aspect
Master bedroom
Double bedroom
Lounge
Master bathroom
Family bathroom
Garden
Double bedroom
Utility room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Fulbourn, Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 72 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Zoe B
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic house in beautiful location”
Reviewed 1 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I rented Beechwood House for the weekend to celebrate my sister's Hen Do and it was the perfect location - the house itself is fantastic, especially the communal areas and swimming pool and Fulbourn is a lovely village to explore. All of the girls commented on how much they liked the house and I am working on when we can arrange a return trip! James the owner was very helpful throughout the booking process and when we arrived he had very kindly provided some welcome treats and gave local advice on taxis and the nearby pub (The White Hart does an excellent Sunday lunch). Overall our weekend was brilliant and I would highly recommend renting this lovely house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2016
It was good to see you all enjoying yourselves and its always nice to hear that Beechwood House exceeded expectations and that the photos etc didn't do it justice! It would be lovely to have you back if ever the situation arose.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snooks_12
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful house with fantastic garden and pool”
Reviewed 21 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Regrettably we only had a few days here, and we all wished we could have stayed longer. The ages of our group ranged from 13 to 72 and everyone had a brilliant time. Beechwood House had lots of space for us all to relax and have fun and it was great that there was a huge table for all 10 of us to easily dine together. There was plenty of crockery, cutlery and other dishes/pans etc so cooking in was a breeze. The pool was warm, and the house was super cosy, despite the frosty mornings. Fulbourn itself is a pretty village with most things that you might need, and we also got the bus into Cambridge which was extremely easy and convenient. James was a very amenable host and couldn't have been more helpful. Beechwood House was a real find for us and we all hope to return one day, ideally soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Facilities, space, pool, garden, comfort, excellent host
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Feb 2016
I'm so pleased your family get together for your parents 50th Wedding Anniversary was so enjoyable and that Beechwood house met with all your expectations...you would all be most welcome if you're able to come back again! James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BucksWand...
Aylesbury, Bucks
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Perfect location for a family get-together”
Reviewed 10 February 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed for a pre-Christmas family weekend, 6 adults and 3 very young children. The house was perfect – all the adults said that this was just the house we would like to live in all the time. The huge garden was just right for the children to work off extra energy in and the pool was a real bonus. Another bonus was the pub just a short stroll (stagger?) down the road.
Most outstanding was the way the house is equipped. While other self-catering establishments we’ve been to had the right number of pieces like glasses for the number of people it held, Beechwood House has more than enough of everything. If you wanted to cook, the kitchen range is huge, as is the fridge-freezer. If you need to do any laundry, there is a washing machine and dryer. One of our party brought some lights to put up as Christmas decorations – they were unnecessary as there was a large, beautifully decorated Christmas tree in the dining room. And the gingerbread Christmas biscuits went down very well with all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Feb 2016
It was a pleasure having you as guests and we're delighted that everything was as you hoped and that you all enjoyed your stay at Beechwood House. James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ijcoops
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Country House in Beautiful Village”
Reviewed 2 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We had a great weekend in Beechwood House - the building is fantastic with plenty of space for 8 of us to hang out in & a well equipped kitchen. The grounds are very pretty & Fulbourn is a beautiful village to explore. The owner, James, was super friendly and helpful & made us feel right at home.
We also enjoyed the food at the local pub, the White Hart, where everyone was very warm and food was excellent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2016
I'm so pleased you all enjoyed your weekend and that you chose Beechwood House for your University reunion.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely large house with pool in village near Cambridge”
Reviewed 6 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

As a large mixed group (12 adults and 5 children) we booked Beechwood House for a NYE celebration/5 day getaway. The main house has 5 bedrooms and there are two separate self contained stables/studios of which we took 1. The other studio was occupied for part of the time we were there, but as the studios have their own entrance we were not disturbed.

The house and grounds are enormous. The ground floor of the house has two living rooms, a massive (and astonishingly well equipped) kitchen diner with gas range cooker and huge fridge freezer. The dining area of the kitchen/diner could seat our entire group for evening meals. There was also a wet-room shower/bathroom and a utility room downstairs.

The garden is huge and is split into three distinct sections. There is a small pond at the end of the garden so small children need to be supervised. There was a swing that the children enjoyed... and best of all a short walk from the back door was an indoor pool. I regret not bringing flip flops, as it was December and the 10m walk to the pool-house with bare feet was cold!

The bedrooms were of various sizes ranging from the massive master bedroom with en suite, 2 medium sized rooms, and two smaller rooms. Even in the second smallest room we managed to fit in a cot for a baby. The beds were comfortable, and linen and towels were provided for all. Two more shower/bathrooms complete the upstairs.

James the owner met us on the first day, and is really nice. Prosecco and chocolates on arrival were a very nice touch. He told me he lived in the village and was on hand if we had any questions, but we didn’t really need anything.

Fulbourn is a quiet village, 10 minute drive from Cambridge town centre. As it was between Christmas and New Year one of the two pubs in the village was closed (the White Hart) but the Six Bells was open and had friendly staff. The village also has a co-op and an excellent butcher. A huge Tesco in Cherry Hinton is a 5 minute drive away.

This was a brilliant large house for a group, and thoroughly recommended. We are already considering booking it again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2016
I’m delighted Beechwood House was everything you hoped it would be and that you all enjoyed your New Year holiday with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing