We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
48
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
48
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews amazing hosts geoff hike greyton hospitality
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2019

We were a group of 23 at the Backpackers for my 30th birthday. The friendliness of our amazing hosts, Dorothy and Geoff, that facilited the perfect experience for us will never be forgotten. I was highly impressed with the cleanliness and relaxed ambiance. We could just relax and enjoy being in a beautiful place with good food, a fire and beautiful friends/family. Thank you does not express my gratitude.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Alika-was-here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dotbot54, Owner at McGregor Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2019

Thank you Alika for your kind and generous review. What made your group so special was the way you included Geoff and myself into your celebration. Your friendship was heartwarming and we hope we will see you back at the backpackers in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2019

A friend and I recently spent a most enjoyable couple of nights at McGregor Backpackers. Guests of our hosts, Dorothy and Geoff, will find themselves accommodated in comfortable, ensuite rooms overlooking a quiet, inner courtyard and and garden a full of indigenous, water saving cacti and succulents. Both Dorothy and Geoff take real pleasure in talking with their guests and are full of ideas as to how one can make the most of a visit to this historic, charming and out of the way village nestling amidst the winelands of the Western Cape.

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dotbot54, Owner at McGregor Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2019

Thank you James for your kind review. We trust your onward journey showed you the beauty that is the true South Africa and when sometime in the future you return, we hope you will visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2019 via mobile

We did the Greyton/Mcgregor hike and stayed over with Dorothy and Geoff, salt of the earth locals who did everything they could to make us felt welcome. Geoff also collected us and dropped us off from where the hike ends. The backpackers is super clean and neat and suited our purposes perfectly as they also have interleading rooms for families. They are also a stone’s throw away from Tebaldi’s restaurant which is great for breakfast lunch or supper.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank carlc684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dotbot54, Owner at McGregor Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2019

Thank you Carl for your generous review. We love having hikers to stay, they are such intrepid and adventurous folk and we love hearing about their adventures. We trust you will return sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2019 via mobile

A group of 22 of us all gathered in McGregor to pay our last respects to my dear cousin Herbie .. who passed away very suddenly whilst living in McGregor. Who would be able to accommodate so large a crowd preferably together to talk hug and offer each other support at this sad sad time???
We were told..MCGREGOR BACKPACKERS would be able to. Really? So many of us?
YES..YES..AND yes again. Dorothy and Geoff became our newest family members..nothing was too much trouble and all done in a spirit of warmth and caring..whilst we were able to enjoy the wonderful comfort of our rooms..cool in the intense heat..and shared the common places where many a hug and a tear was shared in the lounge kitchen and gorgeous garden..so important to a family of outdoor nature lovers.
Outstanding and amazingly impressive! Thank you so much McGregor backpackers alias Dorothy and Geoff. You are superstars!!xxx

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank barclaygabane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dotbot54, Owner at McGregor Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2019

Herbie was a real child of McGregor. A respected teacher and a friend to many. We were so glad to be in a position to host your family during this very sad time in your lives. We hope you will return under more joyous times. Thank you for sharing this precious time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2019 via mobile

Perfect venue for a big family gathering. This was a very sad occasion but our hosts were up to it and turned it into a wonderful warm, caring, spiritual happening.
The rooms are comfortable, clean and well appointed.
Highly recommended.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dotbot54, Owner at McGregor Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2019

Thank you Sandra for your kind review. We hope you can visit again in happier circumstances. We are glad we were able to help you and the family over this difficult time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews