We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 07:00 - 21:00
Save
Review Highlights
BLOWN away

My first visit to EATS at Springfontein Wine Estate. It was a beautiful day so they had the lunch... read more

Reviewed 13 January 2020
Yollies
,
SA
Beautiful setting for a lovely wine tasting

Wine tasting in a beautiful renovated barn really sets the scene. Elizabeth was friendly and... read more

Reviewed 3 January 2020
800cathg
,
Cape Town Central, South Africa
via mobile
Read all 64 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Stanford
from US$607,85
More Info
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
48
9
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
48
9
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine making wine tasting gadda da vida chenin blanc beautiful setting chef cleansers estate elizabeth flies eats webster palate sa farm
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2020

My first visit to EATS at Springfontein Wine Estate. It was a beautiful day so they had the lunch set up outside.
We opted for the 3 course menu. What a surprise. With all the anous bouche palate cleansers inbetween. So dont expect only 3 courses. ! The food was excellent. Service equally as excellent . Will definately return.
Only suggestion is maybe have citronella candles to keep the flies away. We know its a farm, but I prefer the flies not to be near such an incredible meal!!! Excellent job by chef and team. A definate hidden GEM. Thanks

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Yollies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2020 via mobile

Wine tasting in a beautiful renovated barn really sets the scene. Elizabeth was friendly and knowledgeable making the experience memorable.
There was a small tasting fee but we certainly didn't pay R400 for the tasting - sorry can’t remember exact price!

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank 800cathg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2019

A group of us, having just completed a hike, came for a winetasting, but were horrified at the price - R440 per person just for a winetasting! I have never paid that price anywhere, not even in Stellenbosch or Franschhoek. The day was saved, however, by the delightful Elizabeth who found a way to keep us happy and entertained. Well done, Elizabeth, and thank you for your friendly and charming manner. We landed up having a fun afternoon after all.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank fundi4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2019

During our holidays in SA we spent a day in Springfontein Wine Estate. The owner Johst Weber and his team Tariro, Hildegard and Jeanne showed us around and gave us a deep insight into the secrets of ecological top class wine making. After the tour we we sat together tasting a great variety of pinotage and chenin blancs. Don't leave without a glass of "Gadda da Vida Pinotage". The estate is a bit off the main tourist routes but definately worth to make a little detour

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank clausandbeate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2019 via mobile

We visited this estate with the sommelier from our hotel Grootbos. Winemaker Tariro was kind enough to give us a personal tour of the vineyards and a detailed explanation of the terroir (limestone ridge) and wine-making philosophy (organic!). The tasting room was large and lovely. A solid food menu is available if you need something more substantial. The meat spring rolls were excellent.

It was our first introduction to South African chenin Blanc and pinotage. We left with two crates - the 2015 vintages were excellent!

Some animals spotted in the area - guinea hens, caracals, a peacock and a rather lovely farm cat!

The surrounding village is also very pretty. Well worth a stop.

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank L8227EYkens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews