We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 07:00 - 21:00
Save
Review Highlights
Hidden Gem

A small hidden gem of a wine estate in Stanford in the Whale capital of South Africa. The chenin... read more

Reviewed 3 March 2021
AndreasThieme
,
Johannesburg, South Africa
BLOWN away

My first visit to EATS at Springfontein Wine Estate. It was a beautiful day so they had the lunch... read more

Reviewed 13 January 2020
Yollies
,
SA
Read all 64 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Stanford
from US$607,85
More Info
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
48
9
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
48
9
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine making wine tasting gadda da vida chenin blanc beautiful setting chef cleansers estate elizabeth flies eats webster palate sa farm
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2018

Big spacious vineyard with multiple buildings, accommodations for various group sizes and not to mention the wine was very good. Staff was friendly and helpful in explaining the various wine varieties. There was a kitchen onsite as well in another building but we were just there for a tasting. It's off a gravel road but well worth the trip.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank bradowen27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile

Very good service. Very enjoyable wine tasting. Wine ambassador provided very good and friendly service and was very informative in explaining the wines we chose. Platters offered are delicious and more than enough to share and enjoy. All together, we had a great visit and experience. The chef was also very nice and addressed us at our table.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Safari823969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

SPRINGFONTAIN EATS is an incredible good restaurant
the chef propose very unusual dishes that match so well with the wine they produce
i'll be back this february and i'll sleep there too so next year i'll have something more to write !!!

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank CHIARAFRANC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

Weekend away from Cape Town.

Lovely chalets with underfloor heating and fireplace.
Breakfast was very basic, not much in a choice or selection, but we hadn't planned on eating breakfast there.

Although a few things not to our liking (open plan bathroom in bedroom or the bed too small in the cottage with on-suite) it was a pleasant stay and I'd recommend.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank DavidM24887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018

This is a magical place! The location, the ambience, the service and the food were all nothing short of superb. Every aspect of our dining experience was first class. The dedication to excellence was evident throughout.
Springfontein is an excellent destination for people who love fine food that is beautifully prepared, and lovingly served.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank LornaC117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews