We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 07:00 - 21:00
Save
Review Highlights
Hidden Gem

A small hidden gem of a wine estate in Stanford in the Whale capital of South Africa. The chenin... read more

Reviewed 3 March 2021
AndreasThieme
,
Johannesburg, South Africa
BLOWN away

My first visit to EATS at Springfontein Wine Estate. It was a beautiful day so they had the lunch... read more

Reviewed 13 January 2020
Yollies
,
SA
Read all 64 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Stanford
from US$607,85
More Info
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
48
9
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
48
9
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine making wine tasting gadda da vida chenin blanc beautiful setting chef cleansers estate elizabeth flies eats webster palate sa farm
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile

Very good service. Very enjoyable wine tasting. Wine ambassador provided very good and friendly service and was very informative in explaining the wines we chose. Platters offered are delicious and more than enough to share and enjoy. All together, we had a great visit and experience. The chef was also very nice and addressed us at our table.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Safari823969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

SPRINGFONTAIN EATS is an incredible good restaurant
the chef propose very unusual dishes that match so well with the wine they produce
i'll be back this february and i'll sleep there too so next year i'll have something more to write !!!

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank CHIARAFRANC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

Weekend away from Cape Town.

Lovely chalets with underfloor heating and fireplace.
Breakfast was very basic, not much in a choice or selection, but we hadn't planned on eating breakfast there.

Although a few things not to our liking (open plan bathroom in bedroom or the bed too small in the cottage with on-suite) it was a pleasant stay and I'd recommend.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank DavidM24887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018

This is a magical place! The location, the ambience, the service and the food were all nothing short of superb. Every aspect of our dining experience was first class. The dedication to excellence was evident throughout.
Springfontein is an excellent destination for people who love fine food that is beautifully prepared, and lovingly served.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank LornaC117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

When you have the fun of being on a multi site winetasting tour with so many delicious wines put before you it takes something very special to bat you between the eyes as being so far and away better than anything else.This was such a place.

First the people...Dr Johst Weber gave the introductory talk and introduced us to Tariro Masayiti,the most enthusiastic and laid back winemaker I have ever met.Then came Hidegard Witbooli.who is the vineyard manager and whose laughter and enthusiasm linked with a total range and depth of background and level of experimentation with grafting to fashion totally new vine stock is mesmeric.Last (and we met him later) was master chef Jurgen Schneider.More to follow...

The vineyard tour by mini bus driven by Hildegard Witbooli and emphasised how huge the estate is in this rolling valley.The tour of the production plant byTariro Masayiti was a riot of laughter and solid fact followed by an exceptional lunch and fulsome tasting.which is worth repeating in full.

(1) Ulumbaza white 2016 and Chenin Blanc Terroir selection 2016-crustecean tartar and avocados.(2) Daredevils Ridge Single Vineyard Pinatage 2013-trout Mediterranean (3) Johanathans Ridge Single Vineyard Pinotage 2013-braised beef (4) Ikhalezi Chenin Blanc Noble Late harvest-cheese platter/sweet sashimi.

Guess you get a flavour of how totally mind blowing was the occasion.The food was top notch in the Michelin star range and chef was rewarded with a prolonged standing ovation.....The very best.No question.If you ever get the chance...make a visit a priority.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank mncrbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews