We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jenny S
Maroochydore, Queensland, Australia

Absolutely soul restoring

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 05 May 2024via mobile
Simply loved our stay at the lodge! From the moment we checked in to sadly the moment we checked out! The lodge is rustic and very homely. Not what I expected, though certainly exceeded my expectations. The lodges are made of rocks and each bungalow is very private. Beautiful beds with mosquito nets look inviting as soon as you enter your room. A fire heater is in each room and is put on by staff when they do the turn down, which happens during dinner. Our meals were absolutely beautiful! A taste sensation, fresh, plentiful and again beyond our expectations. Richard, Oswald and Shane definitely were a highlight of our visit and there was nothing more they could have done to make us feel welcome and special.

We did the quad bike tour, which was a great morning out. We also did the boat ride which I’d highly recommend. Thanks to Melissa, the manager, who went out of her way to bring my thermos to the boat ride that I’d left behind after we’d checked out. As I said exceptional service.

The main lodge was a treat at night in front of the lovely warm fireplace. We loved to curl up here and have our cup of tea before dinner. A private balcony off each room was a great place you laze during the day or over by the pool.

Don’t think twice about booking a few nights here as you won’t regret a minute of your stay.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jo-Anne Boshoff, Other at Mosaic Lagoon Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Jen

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a wonderful review. We really enjoyed having you, Sally and Rod with us.
So glad that you could go out on the boat trip it really is a gem and the birdlife is just amazing on the water. We hope the rest of your travels are going well and that when you are back in South Africa you will visit us.

Kind Regards
The Mosaic Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
MOSAIC Cottages by Lagoon Cafe. Lunch, catered meals & activities: ATVs, SUP, kayaka, cycling, w
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
2.6 km from Mosaic Lagoon Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
15.2 km from Mosaic Lagoon Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
16.5 km from Mosaic Lagoon Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
4.2 km from Mosaic Lagoon Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
12.2 km from Mosaic Lagoon Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View from top of property
R 2 756
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 756
  • eDreams
17.0 km from Mosaic Lagoon Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
A view of Africamps @ Stanford Hills
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
8.5 km from Mosaic Lagoon Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
18.8 km from Mosaic Lagoon Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
7.5 km from Mosaic Lagoon Lodge
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Stanford
Reviews (552)
Filter reviews
552 results
Traveller rating
485
51
11
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
485
51
11
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quad biking our honeymoon nature walk fun activities see whales boat trip knowledgeable guide attention to detail unforgettable experience little touches cape town delicious food perfect place bird watching loved every minute perfect stay stunning location
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 552 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2024

We stayed at the Mosaic Lagoon Lodge during our recent visit to South Africa. Having been on safari twice we decided on a more relaxed back to nature and birds experience this time and the Mosaic did not disappoint.

It felt very much like a luxury safari lodge and included all the creature comforts you need. It was cozy and very well equipped with a lovely big bathroom with bath and indoor and outdoor shower. The views from the deck were lovely and from what I could see would have been similar from all the lodges. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are included. You didn’t get a great deal of choice but you wouldn’t expect multiple choices when catering for only 10 people – but what you did get was delicious and no doubt if neither choice appealed to you the chef would have found something that did. The joy of eating in the dining room however was the view – it is beautiful.

Activities are offered to you when you arrive – we chose the boat ride down the river, sunset on the beach and my husband had a guided walk with Chris, the lodge guide. The boat ride was great with Chris and boat driver being so knowledgeable of all of the birds that inhabit the area plus the weather was beautiful which always makes things great. Somebody had mentioned previously that the activities are only 45 minutes long, but we were on the river for 1.5 hours plus the drive back and forth we were away from the Lodge for 2.5 hours so no complaints from us. Sunset on the beach unfortunately was a windy and rainy affair but I could see how with a beautiful sunny sunset it would be spectacular ….next time.

We took an additional trip to Panthera - Big Cat Sanctuary. The beauty of these animals and the good work they are doing there is wonderful. We recommend this and can be booked via the Mosaic who will also arrange transportation.

I had a massage with Ann which was excellent. I wasn’t feeling at my best during our stay, but the massage really helped me to relax and feel better.

All in all we had a great time at the Mosaic. The staff were friendly and very helpful - Joanne manages a good team. We wish them continued success.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank luv2travel50London
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jo-Anne Boshoff, Other at Mosaic Lagoon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Wow! Thank you for this amazing review very happy to hear that the team looked after you so well and you got to experience the activities as Mosaic as well as visit Panthera - Big Cat Sanctuary as they are doing and amazing job!

We eagerly await your return!

Kind Regards
The Mosaic Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2024 via mobile

Great location, great views, excellent hospitality and food . Very easy to get to.
Entire Mosaic Family are warm, welcoming, ever so eager to please. No stopping them from going the extra mile.
The quad bike rides was amazing. Good guides with abundant of knowledge.

Room tip: All inclusive package means that you will be well taken care of. There is a spa onsite or you can choose the privacy of your room.
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LRAJ2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jo-Anne Boshoff, Other at Mosaic Lagoon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Lara

Thank you for your review we really do appreciate it. So happy to hear that the team took such good care of you during your stay!

Kind Regards
The Mosaic Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2023

We chose a four night stay at the start of a three week holiday in the Western Cape and what a good decision it turned out to be. After a long overnight flight and transfer from Cape Town we had a lovely welcome and immediately relaxed in the peace and tranquility we found there.
Our lodge had every comfort you could possibly wish for including indoor and outdoor showers. The view from the decking across to the lagoon and Overberg Mountains was stunning. I vowed to paint it before we left.
All meals breakfast, lunch and dinner were expertly cooked and faultlessly served. I asked Maria, the chef for two of her recipes to bring home.
Activities were carefully planned and we had an exilharating beach excursion and a more sedate river cruise with three birdlife experts to help identify.
A special mention must also go to the lady in the Milkwood spa for her knowledge and experience in my wife's spa treatment for which she made a return visit.
I also had a visit to Stanford farmer's market on my itinerary and Jo-Anne in the reception office organised everything for us.
We moved on to Hermanus and Cape Town fully refreshed and completely relaxed.
Thank you so much to all the Mosaic family.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ColinWalsh38
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jo-Anne Boshoff, Other at Mosaic Lagoon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Colin

Thank you for the lovely review always good to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us. It was a pleasure having you and Catherine here with us and we hope that you will come back in the future for a visit!

We really do have a beautiful view over the lagoon and mountains and glad you got to experience a bit of the beautiful Stanford town itself.

Kind Regards
The Mosaic Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2023

It's a beautiful setting but we got the feel that the lodge might be on a downward spiral and could either use a change in management or some capital infusion to make the necessary upgrades to truly provide an exemplary guest experience.

I did read that there was an ownership change in 2019. I think Mosaic Lagoon Lodge would struggle to get 3 stars at the moment.

Our room:
The back door didn’t lock; the safe didn’t work; the second battery-powered lantern didn’t work; it smelled damp and musty (not like other properties with thatched roofs where we’ve stayed); there were “army worms” everywhere; and the snack biscotti looked like it had been in there for months. It just needed some spit and polish. NOTE: They did fix the backdoor by locking it permanently.

We were in Cabin 5. A miniscule view of the lagoon but mostly the brush. It’s also very loud. We could hear every car/truck/ATV come in and the generator running, as well as every word the employees said in the parking lot.

The first night/day:
Went to dinner the first night and they had the doors open (no screens) in the dining area. There were swarms of mosquitos inside/outside. We left dinner early it was so miserable.

The power went out right after dinner but came back on. However, around midnight the power went out until they brought a generator right before breakfast. The room was so hot/humid, and we couldn’t open the windows because there are no screens on any of the windows or doors to keep the mosquitos out. No one ever came to us to apologize and explain what the problem was. The next day they turned off the generator until it was lunch or dinner. A little communication would have gone a long way. NOTE: It does appear that there was some fault in the electrical line serving the lodges in the area.

Activities:
Their activities left a lot to be desired. Each activity is 45 minutes long (if that), then you come back to the lodge and sit. The main guide wasn’t very good at all. Nice enough but very rehearsed. The process for scheduling an activity was very weird. You couldn’t decide anything until that morning or afternoon, you tell the guide what you want to do (he doesn’t offer any options), then he goes and “gets permission” from the manager, he comes back and knocks on your door, and tells you what time you can go (usually within 15 minutes).

The quad-biking was less than stellar. The bikes (ATVs) looked like they hadn’t been serviced in years. The visors were filthy and hadn’t been cleaned in months. Of course, my ATV wasn’t working right so we had to head back from that early. No apologies, no offers to go back out.

We knew we were going to have one day of rain and we wanted to go into the town of Hermanus. We tried to get this scheduled the day before. They wouldn’t do it until that morning, and then they acted like it was an Act of Congress to get that done. Our guide that day was Lloyd. He was great! Apparently, we stayed too long in town (past our allotted hour) and the manager was waiting for us at the gate.

The food/restaurant:
The dinners were amazing. Chef Maria is a star! The cold breakfast was subpar. They put out granola, yogurt and a small fruit plate out that looked like it was meant to serve one person. On one occasion, there wasn’t even anyone in the restaurant lodge to serve breakfast when we came in – sat there for 15-20 minutes. Thank goodness there was hot breakfast too.

Asked for white wine one night, they didn’t have any chilled. Had to wait 15-20 minutes. The snacks they put out during the day in jars: Hard-as-rock marshmallows, hard candy and chocolates in wrappers.

The manager:
It took her two days to introduce herself to us. Never asked how our stay was going. Got the feeling she didn’t really want to know. Never asked how our stay was when we left. The employees seemed intimidated by her. They have to ask her permission for almost everything. She seemed to manage from her desk in the Curio. Hardly ever saw her out and about (except when she was waiting at the gate). Overall, Mosaic just lacked the polish all around to be positioned as a luxury lodge.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Gobeach56
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 September 2023

We arrived the weekend of a historic rain storm. Our whale watching tour (through an outside company was canceled) but our guide took us to Hermanus to watch from the shore. Vitalis found whales despite the rough surf!

The staff was amazing .., they handled all the storm related issues so well…extended power outages ( the generator saved the day), road closures and guests like us who couldn’t leave! Hats off to Johanna and her staff — they went above and beyond to make our stay fantastic.

The food was great and the service excellent. The main lodge was cozy and we enjoyed meeting the other guests!

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank rennie22018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jo-Anne Boshoff, Other at Mosaic Lagoon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2023

Dear Mike and Jody

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review!

We really enjoyed hosting you at Mosaic Lagoon Lodge and thank you for your understanding and patience through they whole storm.

You sure were lucky to see whales out with the rough conditions.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

The Mosaic Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews