We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bellavista Country Place
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Baleens(Hermanus)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
58
31
6
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
31
6
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbella vistasea view suiteliving roomvegetarian optionsmountain cottagehuge walk in wardrobeinfinity poolwalker bayevery amenitybeautiful surroundingsa lovely stayviews of the mountainsrelaxing weekendrooms are spaciouslouisefynbosbirds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2016


Unfortunately our breakfast experience put a dampener on the visit to Bellavista. Poor service, an audible squabble in the kitchen, two lonely eggs and three bits of bacon (as an afterthought) later and we left feeling badly done by. Management were informed.

Our accommodation in the cottage was private and exceptionally generous with rich vynbos and the twitter of a vast array of birds on the doorstep. Rustic luxury.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank M122NNjohanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesStanford, Owner at Bellavista Country Place, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2016

Dear Guest. Our chef delivers continuously delicious egg dishes but that morning was not his "regular" :-(( He humbly apologises for the inconvenience and so do I. I am sure next time you come you will be fully satisfied and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at our beautiful Country Guest House.
Georges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Although a beautiful area, it is 7km from Stanford. Out of season, you have to drive to Stanford or Hermanus to eat - the driver cannot enjoy a sundowner as a) there are no cocktails or drinks available except bottles of wine and b) he then has to drive so cannot drink - this negates the aspect of rest & relaxation - out of season, the place is dead as a doornail - no loungers around the pool, you can contact the hostess on her cell, no board games (except for those belonging to the hostess), the television is old and does not work very well, the room is a bit dated, the spare room has hard beds and is cold - to top it all, the breakfast is a basic cold breakfast with tables and chairs stacked up next to where you are eating - and this is meant to be 5 star accommodation - this place should be shut out of season.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank T5033OPchristineb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesStanford, Owner at Bellavista Country Place, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2016

Hi Christine,
When booking at our Country Guest House you certainly screened our website where it is indicated that we are 8km from Stanford and 32 km from Hermanus, so you should not have been surprised.
Unfortunately for both of us you came just one week too early as we re-opened officially on Friday, 30th Sep. As we are "hibernating" between May and end September, our Restaurant and bar are closed, as again clearly mentioned on our website. That is also a reason why you benefitted from our "green season" rate, some concessions must be made, on both sides.
Being so close to the sea with the winter winds and salty air blowing, we do extensive maintenance work, and we finished just a few days after your stay :-( But what am I talking about? You are from Cape Town - next door so to say - you know what it is all about, don't you...
On the positive side: the loungers are out, the bar and restaurant are in full swing and I suggest you try us again from now to next April ;-)
Georges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2016

Location spot on for post great white experience, luxury personified in a desolate but beautiful area

Value for money great and the height of luxury ... all the staff were more than helpful and being the last day of the season they opened the whole dining room and kitchen just for the four of us .. food 5*

If you want to chill out after diving with the sharks ... and have a recovery day, don't look any further.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 682iaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesStanford, Owner at Bellavista Country Place, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2016

You MUST come back in spring or summer to see how our Fynbos area is colourful and flowering! I am sure you would not call it 'desolate' anymore ;-) Thank you for your other compliments and see you in a few months time again? Don't forget your HD colour camera!
Georges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Set in the most serene location. All you want to do is sit, and look....
Very friendly staff and very decent food enhances the tranquillity of Bellavista.
We will be back there as soon as possible! :)

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank wikus641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesStanford, Owner at Bellavista Country Place, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2016

Thank you Wikus. Hope you had a problem-free trip home and we are looking forward to welcoming you again with your lovely son and his big sunglasses ;-)
Georges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2016

Over the week we spent in ZA this was by far, the most relaxing and beautiful place that we stayed. We never felt rushed. The property lends to exploring at your own pace, or relaxing in your own space or in shared spaces. The service was fantastic. I would definitely stay here again. My only suggestion would be to make the bed more comfortable with more pillow options. Extra pillows in the closet are always a plus if what is on the bed is not working for you.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 774adame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesStanford, Owner at Bellavista Country Place, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

I am happy you used our extended gardens and had a good relax. Your suggestion for pillows has been duly noted.
Georges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews