We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views, luxurious accommodation, wildlife watcher's location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bellavista Country Place
Ranked #2 of 11 Stanford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2016

Set in amongst the Fynbos and surrounded by mountains Bellavista Country Place is located about 7km from Stanford and the same from Gainsbai on the R43. The entrance is on the right hand side of the RR43 travelling from Stanford.
A long driveway part-tarmac part track leads to the various buildings. PLEASE take care going along the driveway and anywhere around the buildings because of the tortoises.
We stayed in the Mountain Cottage as it's called. Contemporary design inside, furnishings and luxury bathroom plus separate shower room. There was just the two of us so we had loads of space.
Some tea/coffee supplies and milk provided which are always welcome - thank you Louise.
Obviously a very quiet location being well off the road and any other buildings.
Wildlife: birds everywhere plus the tortoises but great care is needed as regards snakes. Don't wander through the Fynbos - follow the only widened trail available (down the entrance drive) and tread carefully. The visitor's information book will tell you all about the snakes! The snakes are in the extensive gardens too although the only one seen was a non-venomous one (a Mole snake which is a constrictor).

Breakfast is included in the price and this was good with choices of cereals, fruit, bacon, eggs in different ways, cold meats, cheese etc. The restaurant was tried on the first night and we were the only diners. The food attempts to be fine dining but there are no vegetarian options which was a problem for me. The chef prepared the inevitable pasta dish but unfortunately it was loaded with black pepper which I have a problem with. The second attempt at the dish unfortunately showed that the chef's skills are somewhat limited when it comes to non-meat/fish dishes. A great pity. The waiter though is marvellous, attentive, very professional and was sympathetic to my eating requirements - thank you for putting up with me and my awkward dietary needs!
The other two nights of our stay we self-catered by buying food and provisions in nearby Stanford. All very easy and enjoyable.
We do however recommend Bellavista as a place to stay because of the scenery, wildlife and accommodation we had and the friendliness of Louise and Ken the managers who live on site. We were allowed to smoke in the accommodation and on the long, wide veranda but please don't smoke in the bedrooms or bathrooms - we don't do that anyway but I just thought I'd say for those who might do! Also, never ever throw matches, cigarette butts and the like into the Fynbos - you are likely to light a tinderbox.
We would have liked to give an "excellent" but the restaurant experience has to be considered too.
If you want to really help particular animals (big cats) when at Bellavista book a visit to Panthera Africa. It's located the other side of Stanford - I'm writing a review of that too!

Room Tip: Mountain Cottage is the best. Extensive views of the Fynbos and surrounding mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theteacher112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesStanford, Owner at Bellavista Country Place, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2016

Hello Pat,
Thank you for your detailed description of our bella Bellavista, could'nt have done it better!
It is a fact that we do have very seldom vegetarians and I agree that this is a weak point in our kitchen, unfortunately.
Georges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2016


Unfortunately our breakfast experience put a dampener on the visit to Bellavista. Poor service, an audible squabble in the kitchen, two lonely eggs and three bits of bacon (as an afterthought) later and we left feeling badly done by. Management were informed.

Our accommodation in the cottage was private and exceptionally generous with rich vynbos and the twitter of a vast array of birds on the doorstep. Rustic luxury.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank M122NNjohanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesStanford, Owner at Bellavista Country Place, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2016

Dear Guest. Our chef delivers continuously delicious egg dishes but that morning was not his "regular" :-(( He humbly apologises for the inconvenience and so do I. I am sure next time you come you will be fully satisfied and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at our beautiful Country Guest House.
Georges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Although a beautiful area, it is 7km from Stanford. Out of season, you have to drive to Stanford or Hermanus to eat - the driver cannot enjoy a sundowner as a) there are no cocktails or drinks available except bottles of wine and b) he then has to drive so cannot drink - this negates the aspect of rest & relaxation - out of season, the place is dead as a doornail - no loungers around the pool, you can contact the hostess on her cell, no board games (except for those belonging to the hostess), the television is old and does not work very well, the room is a bit dated, the spare room has hard beds and is cold - to top it all, the breakfast is a basic cold breakfast with tables and chairs stacked up next to where you are eating - and this is meant to be 5 star accommodation - this place should be shut out of season.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank T5033OPchristineb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesStanford, Owner at Bellavista Country Place, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2016

Hi Christine,
When booking at our Country Guest House you certainly screened our website where it is indicated that we are 8km from Stanford and 32 km from Hermanus, so you should not have been surprised.
Unfortunately for both of us you came just one week too early as we re-opened officially on Friday, 30th Sep. As we are "hibernating" between May and end September, our Restaurant and bar are closed, as again clearly mentioned on our website. That is also a reason why you benefitted from our "green season" rate, some concessions must be made, on both sides.
Being so close to the sea with the winter winds and salty air blowing, we do extensive maintenance work, and we finished just a few days after your stay :-( But what am I talking about? You are from Cape Town - next door so to say - you know what it is all about, don't you...
On the positive side: the loungers are out, the bar and restaurant are in full swing and I suggest you try us again from now to next April ;-)
Georges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2016

Location spot on for post great white experience, luxury personified in a desolate but beautiful area

Value for money great and the height of luxury ... all the staff were more than helpful and being the last day of the season they opened the whole dining room and kitchen just for the four of us .. food 5*

If you want to chill out after diving with the sharks ... and have a recovery day, don't look any further.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 682iaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesStanford, Owner at Bellavista Country Place, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2016

You MUST come back in spring or summer to see how our Fynbos area is colourful and flowering! I am sure you would not call it 'desolate' anymore ;-) Thank you for your other compliments and see you in a few months time again? Don't forget your HD colour camera!
Georges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Set in the most serene location. All you want to do is sit, and look....
Very friendly staff and very decent food enhances the tranquillity of Bellavista.
We will be back there as soon as possible! :)

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank wikus641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesStanford, Owner at Bellavista Country Place, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2016

Thank you Wikus. Hope you had a problem-free trip home and we are looking forward to welcoming you again with your lovely son and his big sunglasses ;-)
Georges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanford
36.1 km away
Arabella Hotel & Spa
Arabella Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Kleinmond
850 reviews
19.2 km away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
425 reviews
21.5 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 km away
Stanford River Lodge
Stanford River Lodge
#1 of 11 in Stanford
299 reviews
10.5 km away
Springfontein Sleeps
Springfontein Sleeps
#4 of 11 in Stanford
19 reviews
14.7 km away
White Water Farm
White Water Farm
#2 of 12 in Stanford
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellavista Country Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellavista Country Place

Address: R43 | follow signs Bellavista, Stanford 7210, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Stanford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Stanford
Price Range: R2 338 - R3 014 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bellavista Country Place 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BELLAVISTA is located on a 300ha private Fynbos property, offering 2 luxurious and elegant SEA VIEW SUITES, one JUNIOR SUITE, one SEA VIEW ROOM with an adjacent 2-bed room (4 beds in total) and one 4-bed MOUNTAIN COTTAGE. Some accommodation are equipped for self catering. Children are welcome. Infinity swimming pool overflowing into a kid’s pool. Easy walking trails for bird watching. Close to several Golf Courses, shark diving and whale watching, many wine farms for wine tasting and with restaurants, and much more. Our PANORAMA Restaurant serves Cosmopolitan Cuisine. Fully licensed and has 180 degree panoramic views over Walker Bay. Meals are served on the terrace, weather permitting. The restaurant is closed during the cold season from May to September. Tranquility and peace are assured. COME, RELAX and DREAM…. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Bellavista Country Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing