We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two days of tranquility, probably 4 and a half stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bellavista Country Place
Ranked #2 of 11 Stanford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2016

Stayed here for two nights in room 1. This was an excellent large room with a great lounge, bedroom and bathroom, as well as a huge walk in wardrobe. Nice table and chairs outside and fabulous views across the gardens to the coast. Would recommend it very strongly. Rooms were spotless and very clean with some interesting decoration.
Great pool and lots of wildlife to watch. Had dinner one night that was excellent. The one waitress was very friendly and worked very hard. Well done.
Breakfast was OK but had a limited choice, but I don't know how you get around this with 5 rooms. Had a superb omelette freshly cooked, but found it strange that the eggs menu gave you a choice of several different styles that you could add two items to from bacon, sausages, mushrooms and tomatoes.
Great place to visit some interesting places around there.

Room Tip: Room 1 is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesStanford, Owner at Bellavista Country Place, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2016

Many thanks Jim for your great review!
Georges and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2016

It was the last night of our holiday so we decided to treat ourselves and book a Junior Suite.
It was a Junior Suite, but felt like it was in a cave, there were no windows in the bedroom or sitting area.
The only way to have a view was to open the double doors onto the porch that also led to to other rooms. The views was also different to the picture on their website.

I spoke to the Manager about it, who was very sympathetic and offer to move us to another room looking out onto the pool area.
The layout of the room was a lot better, the room was clean but just felt very out dated. It was only average and certainly not the 5* rating they advertise.
I would be very surprised if the wiring in the bathroom was legal, open connectors for a light and a DIY 2 pin shaver socket hidden in the cupboard (see photo's).
I have stayed in better places for half the price, if this is 5*, the place we stayed in the previous week in Wilderness (also 5*) should be rated with 7 or 8 stars!

And now the restaurant, where the Chef claims not to cook with a microwave (see picture of the menu)...............
We were the only customers, so we could keep hearing the sound of a the pinging microwave.
My wife ordered a simple Bobotie which was fine.

I ordered a Rack of Lamb, it looked great but the meat was off, it should have never been served.
I decide not to chance the steak, so I ordered a quiche from the starter menu with some veggies on the side.
Guess what, yes we heard the microwave yet again.
The quiche had clearly been warmed up in the microwave as it had a soggy under cooked crust.

We left early the next morning and decided to have breakfast on the road.

The reason I have written such a long review is simply because we get very annoyed when something is promised/sold to us and not delivered.
The accommodation is OK, but sell it as OK not as a 5* ( I will be checking up on the criteria for a 5* rating from the SA tourist board).
Basically we felt ripped off.

Stayed: February 2016
Thank Froggy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesStanford, Owner at Bellavista Country Place, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2016

HiFroggy23! When I saw you at the check-in office I thought you looked pretty stressed and that you needed some relax. Then you told me that it was your last day of your holidays. I now understood your un-happiness. However what I don't understand is that you had to unload your bad mood in a lengthy written, very emotional and unrealistic diatribe. I hope you recovered in the comfort and security of your home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2016

This is a delightful place with the emphasis on tranquillity and scenery. Staff excellent. The is also a lovely restaurant, a nice pool and beautiful gardens. Birds and tortoises abound. We would love to return.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank brianbK1580BY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesStanford, Owner at Bellavista Country Place, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2016

Thank you for your review, hope you had a good flight back home.
Georges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2016

Excellent, spacious accommodation. Lots of outside space with table & chairs. Great bathroom with all the extras. Safe a little small to contain all the gadgets etc. people travel with these days (lockable drawer didn't lock). Peaceful setting high up in the fynbos with the sea and mountains in the distance and lots of birds in the beautiful gardens. Good pool for lazing in and staring at the view (more sun loungers would be a useful addition).
Breakfast OK, dinner excellent. Friendly service, but a little slow for drinks in the evening and whilst we appreciate it's not a lodge with a high staff/guest ratio, 30 mins to track down a beer has to be considered poor service. Very relaxing place.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 23Lloyd41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesStanford, Owner at Bellavista Country Place, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2016

Thank you for the review. The suggestions/comments well noted. They will be on my "next to do" duty list.
Georges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2016

Great place in quiet, beautiful and scenic wonderful place. Perfect place for relaxing holiday with privacy to experience both the fantastic Fynbos nature, beach and the cities around.
Nice little restaurant as well with simple but good food. Liked the breakfast very much.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank miklar_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesStanford, Owner at Bellavista Country Place, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2016

Thanks for your kind review Mikkel, hope you had a good trip all the way back to Denmark and you are enjoying the snow with all the sun charged here in beautiful South Africa! We hope to see you again for your next holidays with your beautiful family!
Georges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanford
19.2 km away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
427 reviews
36.1 km away
Arabella Hotel & Spa
Arabella Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Kleinmond
852 reviews
10.4 km away
Stanford River Lodge
Stanford River Lodge
#1 of 11 in Stanford
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 km away
Springfontein Sleeps
Springfontein Sleeps
#4 of 11 in Stanford
19 reviews
14.7 km away
White Water Farm
White Water Farm
#2 of 12 in Stanford
121 reviews
12.1 km away
MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge
MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge
#1 of 12 in Stanford
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellavista Country Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellavista Country Place

Address: R43 | follow signs Bellavista, Stanford 7210, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Stanford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Stanford
Price Range: R2 317 - R2 977 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bellavista Country Place 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BELLAVISTA is located on a 300ha private Fynbos property, offering 2 luxurious and elegant SEA VIEW SUITES, one JUNIOR SUITE, one SEA VIEW ROOM with an adjacent 2-bed room (4 beds in total) and one 4-bed MOUNTAIN COTTAGE. Some accommodation are equipped for self catering. Children are welcome. Infinity swimming pool overflowing into a kid’s pool. Easy walking trails for bird watching. Close to several Golf Courses, shark diving and whale watching, many wine farms for wine tasting and with restaurants, and much more. Our PANORAMA Restaurant serves Cosmopolitan Cuisine. Fully licensed and has 180 degree panoramic views over Walker Bay. Meals are served on the terrace, weather permitting. The restaurant is closed during the cold season from May to September. Tranquility and peace are assured. COME, RELAX and DREAM…. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Bellavista Country Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing