We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Phillipskop Mountain Reserve
from US$37,60
More Info
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
72
12
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
72
12
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nature lovers wonderful weekend spacious accommodation bird life group of friends cape town cheese ham cave hiking chris hike fynbos art chalet lakes escape plants
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2020 via mobile

This is definitely one to do in Stanford if you like to get (safely) close up to the the flora and fauna in this wonderful part of the world. Our guide, Chris is so knowledgeable, interesting, kind and thoughtful. Highly recommended as a lovely experience for all.

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank Judithgonsalves1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christopherw10, Owner at Phillipskop Mountain Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2020

Thanks Judith, it was great to meet you both and your excitement at what we saw along the way (even the spiders) made it all the more worthwhile.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2019

We stayed at Phillipskop for a long weekend as a wine club and thoroughly enjoyed it. The hikes were great, the chalets were comfortable and the environment was absolutely beautiful. A real treat.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2019

The reserve is stunning and offers gentle hikes and if wanted, also longer ones.
We hiked for about 2 hours, great views all around and we were the only ones in the reserve. Pure soul food.
Afterwards we went to the Cheese Farm for a picnic! What more can you ask for!

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank seasideanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christopherw10, Owner at Phillipskop Mountain Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2019

Thanks for taking the time to review your hike. Hope to see you back to spend some more time here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2019

For the second time, we had an absolutely wonderful time at Phillipskop. The chalets are very comfortable and spacious. The views are amazing. And the closeness to the outdoors is so good in helping you feel refreshed and restored. I definitely recommend a visit to Phillipskop.

Date of experience: July 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank bradandy2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christopherw10, Owner at Phillipskop Mountain Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2019

Thanks Brad. It was lovely to meet you and the family and I am glad you went away refreshed from your time at Phillipskop.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2019

Well marked and laid out trails offer a range of excellent hikes through rugged terrain and rich fynbos. A well-drawn map is provided free of charge to make sure you can plan a good route. Views out to Walker Bay are stunning as you gain height but it's the rocky buttresses and columns that my family loved to navigate toward and (occasionally) climb. Dassies chirruped noisily up in the higher areas and when we looked up we saw why: two elegant Black Eagles (aka Verreaux's Eagles) circling high above the peaks, their eyes more than sharp enough to pick out a dassie for dinner. Well done Phillipskop for your excellent stewardship of a wonderful landscape.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank timbobutcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christopherw10, Owner at Phillipskop Mountain Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2019

Love the description of your hike Tim. You clearly saw much of what Phillipskop has to offer. Thanks for taking the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews